Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The future...Seventies style!
Okay, so it was never going to be better than Westworld, but it could've been one heck of a lot worse than it actually turned out. A sadly overlooked gem this one. It's shorter on action - and bankroll - than it's predecessor, but more than makes up for it's shortcomings by serving up an intelligent premise, which pitches it's tent somewhere between Invasion Of The Body...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. J. G. Thomas

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remove the human element for a Better Future [UK Blu-Ray]
Made to capitalise/cash-in on the unexpected success of Westworld, Futureworld tries to reach for the stars, but the shuttle doesn't quite make it.

It's not a particularly bad film, it just never quite fulfills the promise of the concept: the futuristic theme park with its vast array of robots was done very well in Westworld, so the sequel needed to try and...
Published 3 months ago by P. Kennard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remove the human element for a Better Future [UK Blu-Ray], 28 Aug 2014
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futureworld [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Made to capitalise/cash-in on the unexpected success of Westworld, Futureworld tries to reach for the stars, but the shuttle doesn't quite make it.

It's not a particularly bad film, it just never quite fulfills the promise of the concept: the futuristic theme park with its vast array of robots was done very well in Westworld, so the sequel needed to try and find a new angle. So, what can else can you do with robots? Well, anyone who has spent any time in the Outer Limits or the Twilight Zone can answer that, as can the original series of Star Trek. If there is anyone who doesn't know what the big reveal is, I won't spoil it for you, but you won't find it particularly startling.
Another item borrowed is the sound effects. A number of very distinctive effects (most notably the tricorder sound) have also come from Star Trek, while the final piece of unoriginality comes in the form of Yul Brynner. Clearly included so that he could be used on the poster and to provide a link to the previous film, Brynner's cameo is so brief as to be pointless. The scene he appears in is largely devoid of context and you are left to work out why we've been shown it at all.

The two leads, while lacking chemistry, work quite well with the material they've been given, making the most of the limited plot. Likewise, with most of the film being shot at the Johnson Space Centre, good use of the location has made some of the visuals quite striking, with the giant door sticking in my memory from when I first saw the film over thirty years ago!

The film has aged quite badly, with overlong scenes and unnecessary exposition coupled with appalling fashion and dated technology. Certainly worth watching as a curious piece of seventies nonsense, but it can't quite match Logan's Run, despite the latter being released in the same year and sharing a very similar aesthetic and style.

The Disc (UK Blu-Ray release)
The picture quality is a marked improvement over previous versions, but it never rises above the mediocre. Some effort has clearly been put into mastering, with no really significant picture damage or dropouts evident, but colours are muted and occasionally muddy, while the image as a whole suffers from a softness that loses any real sense of clarity or definition. The sound is equally unremarkable, with no real standout moments anywhere and an original audio mix that makes dialogue occasionally hard to follow. However, given the history of the film, this is probably the best we're ever likely to get.
The only real letdown on this release is the presentation by 101 Films. There is absolutely NOTHING in the way of extras, not even a trailer. The icing on the cake is that they haven't even bothered with optional subtitles, a mean piece of penny-pinching that even the masters of 'no subtitles', Network, doesn't sink to on its Blu-Rays. Completely unforgivable in this digital age.

One to pick up when it is at a bargain price (£10 is way too much).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A wasted opportunity., 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
Well having seen the excellent Westworld, I took the plunge and purchased the sequel - Futureworld.

Cynically, I could have guessed that this film has little to do with the original, and I would be right.

Futureworld features out of control robots as does Westworld, but here the comparison ends.

The film itself takes a good twenty minutes to get going, and once it does there is some plot to keep you watching.

The main characters are not a patch on those in Westworld however, and really this is one of it's main problems. They appear to be acting, and are not natural. Some of the lines are cringe making and as the other reviewer has pointed out here, Yul Brynner does not star in the movie at all - hence the box image of the DVD is misleading.

Now there is a good 'twist' at the end which I shall let you find out about yourself, however it is wasted due the very last scene - it being so bad, I thought it was a joke! It's as if the director packed his/her bangs and left the set, worn out - which to be honest is how you will feel after watching.

Only buy the movie if you appreciate it is not going to match Westworld in any way. There is little action, and the plot is going nowhere fast in terms of being dynamic and challenging.

The ideas are fine, some indeed are quite original - yet the execution of the idea, is a nightmare.

A great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Review, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futureworld [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Futureworld, as with Soylent Green, Omega Man and Logan's Run amongst others, was one of the 70s sci-fi films I discovered as a young boy in the 80s and immediately loved. Coming back to it now on Blu-ray, it has not aged well at all.

Some of the flaws are a factor of the low budget such as the entrance to Futureworld just being a standard theatre which looks very underwhelming - which is in keeping with the rest of the film. But the low budget doesn't account for the plodding plot and bland acting.

The actual story could have been fitted into a 30 minute short film - the balance of the time is simply needless padding, the most egregious example of which is the extended dream sequence featuring Yul Brynner which is laughably awful. The script is unmemorable other than the occasional howler, such as the confrontation between real Danner and robot Danner which features a complete non sequitor when the robot starts talking about the love of their father. Very odd. The acting isn't much better: Peter Fonda is his usual oily, dislikeable self and Blythe Danner is pretty but unbearably wet. Only the Dr Schneider character is worthy of note.

Spoiler warning: on rewatching the film, one thing that annoyed me is the inconsistency at the end when Dr Schneider confronts Chuck and Tracy - if they needed certainty, why didn't they use the retinal scan that is introduced earlier? Or some other more comprehensive check to see if they were real / robots?

As for the Blu-ray, this is the first (of 100s of BRDs owned) where there is no discernible improvement in quality. Initially I thought I had made a mistake and bought the DVD as the quality was so ordinary. The colours are reasonably vibrant but the picture is very soft throughout. There are also no extras to speak of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The future...Seventies style!, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. J. G. Thomas "Jash" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futureworld [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Okay, so it was never going to be better than Westworld, but it could've been one heck of a lot worse than it actually turned out. A sadly overlooked gem this one. It's shorter on action - and bankroll - than it's predecessor, but more than makes up for it's shortcomings by serving up an intelligent premise, which pitches it's tent somewhere between Invasion Of The Body Snatchers and The Six Million Dollar Man.

Fonda and Danner both give star turns, and the limited budget serves only to add to the movie's fleapit 70's charm.

Conspiracy, cloning, romance and a brief (albeit mute!) reunion with the unstoppable gunslinger who may well have inspired The Terminator himself...what's not to like?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Bad!!, 22 July 2009
By 
D. LAZAR ""True Believer"" (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
Like most people who end up watching this film,I am a huge fan of Westworld and wondered how the story could continue into another film.
Well let me put your mind at rest.This film has very little(if anything)to do with Westworld and must be one of the worst sequels in history.
Don't be fooled by Yul Bryner's appearance on the dvd sleeve,he's in it for about a minute when some woman is having a romantic dream about him(HOW RIDICULOUS!!)Westworld is a classic film and should have been left alone.Death must be more interesting than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am in it!, 29 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
You can see from my title, why I like this movie. I was one of the extras. I can be seen sitting at a console as Blythe Danner (Gwyneth Paltrow's mother) enters the dream machine. Several closeups of hands turning dials are also me.
Being part of the film's making, it was interesting to see how they created storylines that they did not use. I actually had a line in the movie, which was cut out when they dropped that plotline.
Most of the movie was shot at NASA'a Johnson Space Center in Houston. I worked there during the Apollo moon missions, so I was familiar with some of the equipment. The very large building where they do weightless walking (not real) was done in the extremely large vacumn chamber. It is an impressive sight in real life.
Just getting a chance to look behind the scenes at NASA is not a good reason to watch this movie. Futureworld is the sequel to Westworld. It's one line summary is: "Futureworld - where you can't tell the robots from the machines - even when you look in the mirror!" If you enjoyed Westworld, you will probably like Futureworld. However, one need not have seen Westworld to enjoy Futureworld, or to follow its plot.
The basic plot takes over from where Westworld left off. Several years have passed since the disaster of Westworld, when the robots malfunctions and began killing the guests. Now, the owners have decided to engage in a great conspiracy. They will replace world leaders and business execs with look alike robots. This time the robots are more lifelike and will have real memories from the people the mimic. When all of the replacements are in place, the Futureworld owners will slowly take over the world.
Two reporters (Peter Fonda & Blythe Danner) have heard some rumors of "something amiss" from another reporter who has disappeared. Most of the movie is how they try to discover what is really going on at Futureworld.
The special effects were good for the time. The acting is good. The overall movie makes for an interesting break from reality. Yul Brenner is back for a small part in the movie, but he is not a main character. The movie will be more appealing to Sci-fi fans. There is also some romance in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER !, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
Complete waste of time. If your a fan of the original Westworld you will be extremely disappointed with this sequel. Yul Brynner only appears in a dream sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the Spanish release, 10 May 2009
By 
Ronnie Olsson (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
I would advise people not to pick up the Spanish DVD release of Futureworld (aka Mundo Futuro) as it is cut down by about 2 1/2 minutes. The cover states a running time of 104 minutes but it is in reality only 100:38 while the UK runs 103:02. The game show opening is completely lost and a few other trims are made throughout the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear god noooooooo, 21 Oct 2014
This review is from: Futureworld (Amazon Instant Video)
it tries to follow up westworld and falls miserably short of the mark, the budget must have gone on the sets as it certainly wasn't on special effects

the westworld set wasn't even close to being accurate to the original, the robot costume sucks bad, and the yul brynner sequence was hilariously bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DVD Box,Cover and Disc looks good, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futureworld [DVD] (DVD)
but the film is slow and a long way off Westworld. But I had to see it. At least it was cheap and looks well with my other retro DVD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futureworld [DVD]
Futureworld [DVD] by Richard T. Heffron (DVD - 2005)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews