Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars90
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 November 2015
It's 20 years since Michael Myers Haddonfield, and in particular Laurie Srode, his sister. Laurie faked her death and is now a divorced mom with a teenage son. Michael is on his way to finish the job he couldn't finish two decades ago.

A true and honest Halloween/Michael Myers film this one, there's the distinct feeling that the people behind the series wanted to show that they remember what made the series popular in the first place. It's still the stalk and slash formula of course, but Jamie Lee Curtis returns and her character is nicely written. She's obviously still haunted by events passed and needs a stiff few drinks from time to time to keep the edge off. Yet she's in charge of a private school and is a stern but adoring mother to her son (Josh Hartnett). And she has a boyfriend (Adam Arkin) who cares for her.

The first half of film sets up Laurie's new world, while we jump back and forth observing Michael on his journey to final destination. Once the second half revs up, it's the scare time as Laurie's son and his friends come under great peril, which we know will lead to a final confrontation with Laurie. The kills strike hard, the suspense is ramped up, and then it's a frenetic action based finale capped off by a coup de grace of some distinction. All in all it's just a very good and proper Halloween/Myers movie. It didn't reinvent anything, it just turned the wheel full circle and arrived at a fitting closure. 7/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
michael myers meets hes end in h20 to me this is the finel film in the series forget the other spin offs just watch the jamie lee curtis halloweens 1 2 and h20 and if you want more cheek out the remake which i thought was well made.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
By far the best Halloween involving Michael Myers since Part II, but that doesn't mean it's a great film. However it is decent enough and pulls the right trick by ignoring Parts 4 through to 6. The most appealing thing with H20 is of course the return of Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode, now all grown up and a successful dean at a local campus.

Josh Harnett makes his movie debut and LL Cool J plays a bungling security guy. The film is super quick over in 80 minutes as Michael Myers goes on his rampage. There are some neat touches and references to John Carpenter's original and Janet Leigh is also here, which means we get a few Psycho refs too.

By the end you can't deny the films charm, and long standing horror fans will be pleased that the movie feels like a sequel and not just another re hash. But the film lacks the original's quality and scares are thin, a little predictable too. Nice ending though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Halloween H20 is a nice attempt to return to the core of the Michael Myers saga, but I think it comes up a little short in several ways. First off, you have to forget that films three through six in the series ever happened, which is a pity given that I enjoyed those more than most fans seemed to. Now, I am sure you remember Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis), Michael’s sister whom he tried to kill on several occasions in the somewhat distant past, the one who survived only to be killed in a car accident a short while later. Well, not only is she not dead, she has made two big mistakes in her new life as Keri Tate: she has had a son named John (Josh Hartnett) who has never seen a comb or hairbrush in his seventeen years of life, and she has developed some kind of relationship with a character played by Adam Arkin. I do not know why I dislike Adam Arkin so much, but I was begging Michael to kill him from the first moment I saw him. Anyway, Lori/Keri is now the headmistress of a supposedly highfalutin school in California, yet even after twenty years she is fighting her brother’s demon, seeing his face over and over again every day. Her son knows the whole story, but he is tired of being overprotected, telling his mother that Michael is dead and no longer a threat - despite the fact that they never found his body. He is just a boy, but he should know better than to think Michael is out for the count. A little break-in and bloody mayhem at the home of Dr. Loomis’ former nurse gives Michael all the information he needs to find his supposedly dead sister. Since it is Halloween, Michael thinks it is only fitting to celebrate the anniversary of his old murder spree with his newly discovered family. With only seven potential victims at the school (everyone else in the class having gone camping in Yosemite – why the school would organize a camping trip on Halloween is the biggest mystery of the whole movie), there is really not enough carnage to go around, but the movie’s opening walk down memory lane and a later reenactment of sorts by Lori of her trademark closet sanctuary escape plan help make up for some of the disappointment. The most impactful moments of the film are the occasions when Lori and Michael come face to face for the first time in twenty years, although Alan Arkin’s little gun adventure qualifies as my favorite moment of the film by far.
Halloween H20 is a lot of fun in several ways. The manner by which a supposedly-dead Michael keeps appearing, even after twenty years, to a haunted Lori in mirrors and reflections is presented very well. I loved LL Cool J’s character Ronny Jones, the school security guy and frustrated romance writer; he supplied many a laugh to help fill the void of no murders taking place for far too long. Jamie Lee Curtis’ mother and Psycho shower victim Janet Leigh makes a fun cameo as Lori’s motherly secretary, and it was nice to see Dr. Loomis’ chain-smoking former nurse again. I was especially gratified to hear a voiceover of Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasance) in the opening credits. For me, Dr. Loomis was as much a part of Halloween as Michael himself, and these films made since Pleasance’s death really lack the spark he always brought to the drama. Speaking of no spark, though, I have to say I am not a fan of the new guy behind the mask. Chris Durand does not seem to bring anything to his character. I know that Michael is evil incarnate and pretty much dead inside, but he really just seemed to be going through the motions this time around. Finding out that he had been tricked and that his sister was still alive after all these years should have infuriated him, but Michael looks bored throughout this whole movie. There is one scene I especially hate; we look into Michael’s eyes and see a reflection of a budding young victim; to me, Michael’s eyes are supposed to be so black and empty that they will not reflect anything at all. Sadly, Michael is just not himself this time around, and the fact that he continues to have so much trouble killing one frightened woman is really starting to make him look pretty weak in my eyes.
All in all, though, the film is well worth seeing, if for nothing else than for the special little treats that long-time horror fans will appreciate. A more impressive actor behind the mask and a lot more bloody mayhem might possibly have made this movie something special, though.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
Whilst this is still not a patch on the original Halloween it is without doubt the bext sequel of the series. We have seen this scenario many times since the first film but this is done with some style. Ignoring the previous three sequels was a smart move. I only wish this could have been made earlier.

Great to see Jamie Lee Curtis back in the role and acting opposite her Mum Janet Leigh which was a nice touch by the filmmakers. The acting is good, the film is fairly scary and Michael Myers return is as jumpy as is meant to be.

The director has done not only a good job in trying to recreate some of the look of the first film he has also included the original music and plenty of nods towards other classic slasher films. It's a shame that the late Donald Pleasance was not around to reprise his role because that would have been lovely to but the film is dedicated to him which was another nice touch.

My only complaint which isn't the fault of this film is why we sometimes have to have so many sequels. I know there is demand and money talks but had this been the third and final film we would have had a great trilogy. Too many sequels spoil the party as has been the case with the Friday 13th and Elm Street films. Sometimes less is more.

Overall though this a good film and certainly an unexpected surprise. Watch Parts 1, 2 and this and you will have a great night in.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2008
Nowhere near as good as Carpenter's film, but worth it all the same. Efficient direction, cheeky in-jokes (Curtis' mother, Janet Leigh cameoes in a motherly role) and Curtis of course lights up the screen. This is the best of the sequels. And just think; it only took them six films to reach it...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This sequel amongst the halloween series I thought was disappointing and a waste of time watching, this was the only Halloween sequel with Michael Myers in the spotlight that failed significantly in many ways, first point is that had it had Donald Pleasance being one of the star actors in it, chances are it would have been a lot better, next point is that Michael Myers puts on a very disappointing performance, he does very little to keep the viewers frightened, plain and simply a disappointment!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
This movie still gives me the creeps 13 years after I saw it for the first time. A must see for the real Halloween and Michael Myers fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Now a drunk suffering from PTSD. Laurie Strode once again comes face to face with her brother, Michael. How he manages to track her down after having both eyes shot out, we'll never know. But he does. Just as in Freddy Vs Jason, the highlight of this movie is the showdown between Laurie and Michael. H20 attempts to finally bring real closure to the series, which it does so in a very successful and satisfactory way. Which was then totally ruined with the release of Resurrection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Not really a review,as other people have waxed lyrical about the picture quality (I thought it was passable) just thought I'd let people know this blu ray does play on UK blu ray players.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)