Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 3rd and finel halloween for me
michael myers meets hes end in h20 to me this is the finel film in the series forget the other spin offs just watch the jamie lee curtis halloweens 1 2 and h20 and if you want more cheek out the remake which i thought was well made.
Published 22 months ago by james hill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent But Bloodless Sequel
Halloween H20 (DVD).

DVD Info.
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16.9/2.35:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 13
Certificate: 18
Running time 82 minutes

Special Features.
Making of,
Music Video,
Trivia Game

Cast.
Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie...
Published 2 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent But Bloodless Sequel, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween H20 [DVD] (DVD)
Halloween H20 (DVD).

DVD Info.
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16.9/2.35:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 13
Certificate: 18
Running time 82 minutes

Special Features.
Making of,
Music Video,
Trivia Game

Cast.
Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode/Keri Tate
Josh Hartnett as John Tate
Michelle Williams as Molly Cartwell
Adam Arkin as Will Brennan
LL Cool J as Ronald "Ronny" Jones
Jodi Lyn O'Keefe as Sarah Wainthrope
Adam Hann-Byrd as Charlie Deveraux
Janet Leigh as Norma Watson
Nancy Stephens as Marion Chambers
Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Jimmy Howell
Lisa Gay Hamilton as Shirley "Shirl" Jones
Chris Durand as Michael Myers

Budget: $17 million
Box office: $73,000,000

Trivia.
1)During the scene where Norma is leaving, she stands in front the car from Psycho (1960). The music playing in the background at this part is also from Psycho. Janet Leigh, who plays Norma, played Marion in Psycho. The license plate on the car is also the same as the second car Marion buys in Psycho, NFB 418, which are Norman Bates' initials.
2)Josh Hartnett's film debut.
3)LL Cool J's line, "Comb your hair!" was ad-libbed, inspired by Josh Hartnett's messy haircut.
4)The movie was made after a suggestion by Jamie Lee Curtis. She wanted to "20-year Anniversary" movie with John Carpenter, but the director declined.
5)The writers & director decided to treat this movie as if Halloweens 3-6 never took place. This was a decision made to keep the plot simple & focus on the Laurie character.
6)Director Steve Miner also directed two films in another popular horror series: Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981) & Friday the 13th Part III (1982)
7)There was at one time a plan for Michael Myers to speak a single line at the end of the movie. He was to have said "Laurie" just before being beheaded by Jamie Lee Curtis. This idea was dropped from the final script.

What's The Story.
On Halloween night in 1963, 6 year old Michael Myers murdered his sister, Judith, In 1978 a 21 year old Michael Myers broke out of Smith's Grove institute to kill his other sister, Laurie Strode.

Myers killed all of her friends, but she escaped & a few years later, she faked her death so he couldn't find her, but now, in 1998, Michael Myers has returned & discovered his sister is still alive & tracks her down to a private school where she is the headmistress & has undergone a new name Keri Tate wiliving with her son John.

Brother & Sister will come face to face one last time as Laurie must find her inner strength & courage to do what she should have done a long time ago... kill her brother Michael Myers.

Timelord Thoughts.
While Halloween H20 is a continuation from 1981's Halloween 2, this seventb film omits parts 3-6 & despite the return of Jamie-Lee Curtis the film lacks gore & just isn't as scary like the first two movies, were.

The film starts well with a decent pre-credit sequence that has a fair bit of suspense to it but then goes into a long drawn out 40 minute borefest that is quite dull & it's only when Myers turns up at the school to find a group of teens having a party including his nephew John that the movie shifts into gear with a final confrontation with Myers battling Laurie being the best parts of the movie.

Jamie - Lee Curtis reprises her most iconic role of Laurie Strode & adds believable character drama to Lauries personality who has become a recluse & a victim of sorts herself who has taken to anti depressant drugs & become a borderline alcoholic who is fearful of her brother returning.

Josh Hartnett is decent enough in his performance as Lauries son John, while LL Cool J provides a little comic relief to the movie as campus security guard Ronald "Ronny" Jones, yet I found Alan Atkins performance as Will Brennan irritating & annoying & I was hoping Michael Myers would've dispatched him far earlier in the movie.

Chris Durand as Michael Myers does a competent job & is the best Myers since Nick Castle who captures the essence of Castles previous performance, while sadly the late Donald Pleasence character Dr. Sam Loomis is heard in a pre-credit voiceover dubbed by Tom Kane who does a reasonable job of mimicking Pleasence voice but why not just use Pleasences voice instead?

With a bigger budget & Friday The 13th's Part 2 & 3 director Steve Miner directing this movie I was expecting a lot more than what's on screen, as I've said it does opens well & then there's a 40 minute borefest until Michael appears which should've ramped up the tension, gore & horror with Myers stalking kids around the school but instead Michael kills only 4 people in this movie & neither of these kills are gory, horrific or terrifying enough that hardly feature little to no blood as unlike Miners Friday movies the kills were gory & effective.

The final confrontation between Laurie & Michael is far to short & doesn't deliver the nerve shredding tension of the first two movies & feels extremely rushed after all the bulid up to get to this moment in the film.

One thing the film does get right is having Laurie decapitate Michael Myers at the end of the film & at least concludes this 'Laurie Trilogy' on a none anti climatic note, yes I know there was another movie that followed this but don't get me started on just how awful that film is & for me the Halloween movies ends here.

Overall, Halloween H20 is a lacklustre movie that has very little horror, the performances are decent enough & the production values are high but what let's the movie down is it's not scary or gory & could've easily have been rated a 15 certificate, the pace is uneven with a boring first half & a rushed finale which concludes all to quickly that sadly makes Halloween H20 a underwhelming slightly boring horror movie.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 3rd and finel halloween for me, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Halloween H20 [DVD] (DVD)
michael myers meets hes end in h20 to me this is the finel film in the series forget the other spin offs just watch the jamie lee curtis halloweens 1 2 and h20 and if you want more cheek out the remake which i thought was well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This new Michael's heart just isn't in it, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD] (DVD)
Halloween H20 is a nice attempt to return to the core of the Michael Myers saga, but I think it comes up a little short in several ways. First off, you have to forget that films three through six in the series ever happened, which is a pity given that I enjoyed those more than most fans seemed to. Now, I am sure you remember Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis), Michael’s sister whom he tried to kill on several occasions in the somewhat distant past, the one who survived only to be killed in a car accident a short while later. Well, not only is she not dead, she has made two big mistakes in her new life as Keri Tate: she has had a son named John (Josh Hartnett) who has never seen a comb or hairbrush in his seventeen years of life, and she has developed some kind of relationship with a character played by Adam Arkin. I do not know why I dislike Adam Arkin so much, but I was begging Michael to kill him from the first moment I saw him. Anyway, Lori/Keri is now the headmistress of a supposedly highfalutin school in California, yet even after twenty years she is fighting her brother’s demon, seeing his face over and over again every day. Her son knows the whole story, but he is tired of being overprotected, telling his mother that Michael is dead and no longer a threat - despite the fact that they never found his body. He is just a boy, but he should know better than to think Michael is out for the count. A little break-in and bloody mayhem at the home of Dr. Loomis’ former nurse gives Michael all the information he needs to find his supposedly dead sister. Since it is Halloween, Michael thinks it is only fitting to celebrate the anniversary of his old murder spree with his newly discovered family. With only seven potential victims at the school (everyone else in the class having gone camping in Yosemite – why the school would organize a camping trip on Halloween is the biggest mystery of the whole movie), there is really not enough carnage to go around, but the movie’s opening walk down memory lane and a later reenactment of sorts by Lori of her trademark closet sanctuary escape plan help make up for some of the disappointment. The most impactful moments of the film are the occasions when Lori and Michael come face to face for the first time in twenty years, although Alan Arkin’s little gun adventure qualifies as my favorite moment of the film by far.
Halloween H20 is a lot of fun in several ways. The manner by which a supposedly-dead Michael keeps appearing, even after twenty years, to a haunted Lori in mirrors and reflections is presented very well. I loved LL Cool J’s character Ronny Jones, the school security guy and frustrated romance writer; he supplied many a laugh to help fill the void of no murders taking place for far too long. Jamie Lee Curtis’ mother and Psycho shower victim Janet Leigh makes a fun cameo as Lori’s motherly secretary, and it was nice to see Dr. Loomis’ chain-smoking former nurse again. I was especially gratified to hear a voiceover of Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasance) in the opening credits. For me, Dr. Loomis was as much a part of Halloween as Michael himself, and these films made since Pleasance’s death really lack the spark he always brought to the drama. Speaking of no spark, though, I have to say I am not a fan of the new guy behind the mask. Chris Durand does not seem to bring anything to his character. I know that Michael is evil incarnate and pretty much dead inside, but he really just seemed to be going through the motions this time around. Finding out that he had been tricked and that his sister was still alive after all these years should have infuriated him, but Michael looks bored throughout this whole movie. There is one scene I especially hate; we look into Michael’s eyes and see a reflection of a budding young victim; to me, Michael’s eyes are supposed to be so black and empty that they will not reflect anything at all. Sadly, Michael is just not himself this time around, and the fact that he continues to have so much trouble killing one frightened woman is really starting to make him look pretty weak in my eyes.
All in all, though, the film is well worth seeing, if for nothing else than for the special little treats that long-time horror fans will appreciate. A more impressive actor behind the mask and a lot more bloody mayhem might possibly have made this movie something special, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent sequel and the return of Jamie Lee Curtis, 5 Dec 2014
This review is from: Halloween H20 [DVD] (DVD)
By far the best Halloween involving Michael Myers since Part II, but that doesn't mean it's a great film. However it is decent enough and pulls the right trick by ignoring Parts 4 through to 6. The most appealing thing with H20 is of course the return of Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode, now all grown up and a successful dean at a local campus.

Josh Harnett makes his movie debut and LL Cool J plays a bungling security guy. The film is super quick over in 80 minutes as Michael Myers goes on his rampage. There are some neat touches and references to John Carpenter's original and Janet Leigh is also here, which means we get a few Psycho refs too.

By the end you can't deny the films charm, and long standing horror fans will be pleased that the movie feels like a sequel and not just another re hash. But the film lacks the original's quality and scares are thin, a little predictable too. Nice ending though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween H20, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween H20 [DVD] (DVD)
This movie still gives me the creeps 13 years after I saw it for the first time. A must see for the real Halloween and Michael Myers fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!, 15 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD] (DVD)
Nowhere near as good as Carpenter's film, but worth it all the same. Efficient direction, cheeky in-jokes (Curtis' mother, Janet Leigh cameoes in a motherly role) and Curtis of course lights up the screen. This is the best of the sequels. And just think; it only took them six films to reach it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does play on UK blu ray players, 24 Dec 2012
By 
John P. Yates (Rotherham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not really a review,as other people have waxed lyrical about the picture quality (I thought it was passable) just thought I'd let people know this blu ray does play on UK blu ray players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A perfect conclusion (?) to the series, 7 Feb 2003
This review is from: Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD] (DVD)
It is 20 years since the original Halloween, when unstoppable bogeyman Michael Myers was apparently killed in a fire. However, fans of the Halloween series will know that from parts 4 - 6, Myers has been very much alive. This however - the 7th episode - chooses to ignore the previous three films and continue from where H2 left off.
Such a decision would suggest that this time, the writers have chosen to go back to the original films and recreate the elements which made them so enjoyable and successful. The character of Laurie Strode has been resurrected, (as has Jamie Lee Curtis) along with Nancy Stevens who played the nurse Marion in the first 2 films. Again the emphasis appears to be on suspense rather than out right violence, and the script still retains a sense of ambiguity - refusing to offer a lame explanation for Myers' evil, as the previous films did. There is however an ever present reminder of the fact that this film was written pre-Scream, with the script containing pointless and overt references to 90s pop-culture. At one point the characters actually watch one of the Scream sequels on T.V. - a film which referenced Halloween itself - creating a pointless web of contrived in-jokes which were never really amusing or clever in the first instance. There is also an over reliance of 'fake scares' where the characters stumble into each other, accompanied by a loud intrusive note of a violin, forcing the audience to jump. This results in a rather hollow feeling to the film, with the horror only lasting for the 90 minutes of the film's running time, rather than having the lasting effect of the first 2 films.
However, the presence of Jamie Lee Curtis is able to carry the movie, and elevate it above such bargain basement populated fare such as Urban Legend and the I Know What You Did... films. She brings a new dimension to the character of Laurie, most notably in the third act when she makes the decision to stop running from Michael and goes in search of him, fire axe in hand. Also, having Friday the 13th parts 2 and 3 director Steve Miner direct helps, often managing to recreate the perfect framing and composition of the first film, and pulling off a rousing, suspense filled climax. Inevitably the sense of menace is going to wane after 5 sequels focussing on Myers, however H20 does manage to rise above the previous 3 films and capture some of the vital characteristics of H1 and H2. It is just a pity however, that the entire film is undermined by the existence of Part 8, but of course, that is another story...
Slightly underwhelming, the DVD comes only with a lame music video from a band nobody has heard of, and an interative quiz which you will play once. However, there is an interesting documentary providing insight from Carpenter, Wes Craven and the important members of the cast. Watching it in widescreen format also illustrates the film's maximum potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween H20 [DVD] (DVD)
Watch Halloween & Halloween 2 first. Halloween's 3 through 6 become completely irrelevant after this film. In my opinion, the real film series should only be 4 movies long (including Ressurection) because they are the only ones that link. 4,5 & 6 link but they have no relevance in the saga. H2O buries those movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT RETURN TO FORM, 6 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this is still not a patch on the original Halloween it is without doubt the bext sequel of the series. We have seen this scenario many times since the first film but this is done with some style. Ignoring the previous three sequels was a smart move. I only wish this could have been made earlier.

Great to see Jamie Lee Curtis back in the role and acting opposite her Mum Janet Leigh which was a nice touch by the filmmakers. The acting is good, the film is fairly scary and Michael Myers return is as jumpy as is meant to be.

The director has done not only a good job in trying to recreate some of the look of the first film he has also included the original music and plenty of nods towards other classic slasher films. It's a shame that the late Donald Pleasance was not around to reprise his role because that would have been lovely to but the film is dedicated to him which was another nice touch.

My only complaint which isn't the fault of this film is why we sometimes have to have so many sequels. I know there is demand and money talks but had this been the third and final film we would have had a great trilogy. Too many sequels spoil the party as has been the case with the Friday 13th and Elm Street films. Sometimes less is more.

Overall though this a good film and certainly an unexpected surprise. Watch Parts 1, 2 and this and you will have a great night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD]
Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later [DVD] by Steve Miner (DVD - 2001)
£14.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews