Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the true art in hardcore - Artcore?
the first time you finish listening to converge's jane doe you will exhale for what feels like the first time in 45 minutes.
it is brutal, it is sublime, it is the single most passionate hardcore cd i've ever heard. it will make your ears bleed - in the best possible way. there's awesome stuff here from the blistering speed of distance and meaning, to the fury of...
Published on 25 Sep 2001

versus
2 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull
First few tracks are not bad, but the rest of the album is boring heavy metal. Lots of pretentious guitar twiddling and trying to be clever but ending up as tiresome and predictable. Yawn.
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by S. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the true art in hardcore - Artcore?, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
the first time you finish listening to converge's jane doe you will exhale for what feels like the first time in 45 minutes.
it is brutal, it is sublime, it is the single most passionate hardcore cd i've ever heard. it will make your ears bleed - in the best possible way. there's awesome stuff here from the blistering speed of distance and meaning, to the fury of phoenix in flight and the almost soothing hell to pay.
but the epic title track is for me the stand out song and it contains elements that sum up this cd: complex guitar movements weaving together the raw and the smooth, scrunchy basslines and punctuation drumming ... stoked up by the alternately hard and soft searing screams of singer/genius jacob bannon; and one of the most haunting finales i've ever heard - its 11 and a half minutes of bruising beauty. be generous with the volume controls - your neighbours will hate you but hey that's ok ...
yes, it's hardcore and not for everyone. but even if you don't usually go for this type of music, don't please dismiss jane doe. there's something alot more here that goes very deep, and the more more you listen the more you get it.
by the way the lyrics are pure poetry - you won't be able to hear many of them and their reproduction in the cool cd booklet is fractured and artistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a 'hardcore' album, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Alex (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
From start to finish, this album is incredible. It is a true journey that surpasses the usual expectations and boundaries of extreme music, and as the title of my review suggests, it is more than a regular hardcore or metal album. Both styles have obviously influenced Converge heavily, and their earlier work does lean more towards a more typical hardcore style, but Jane Doe has a sound of it's own.

The opening track is short, fast paced, and like getting kicked in the face. The closing track is long, slow and thoroughly crushing, and builds up to a cataclysmic climax after nine minutes. The first time I listened to it, I found it quite hard to listen to, as the music is very dense and hard to digest (although incredibly executed), but after repeated listens I can finally comprehend it. The vocals on this album range from incoherent screeching to haunting melodies buried deep in the noise. It's bleak, and brutal. All in all Converge have created a masterpiece of extreme music, and is accompanied by fantastic inlay artwork from vocalist Jake Bannon. A truely solid album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I felt the greatest of winters coming..", 10 Mar 2004
By 
R. Fox "cheseface" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
What never ceases to amaze me about Jone Doe by Converge is it's ability to impress and attract the attention of people other than fans of extremem music. Even though it is extreme music to an unparralelled degree, this album seems to impress a most broad cross-section of music lovers. I have shown it to fans of metal who've been suitably bowled over, I've shown it to fans of technical and classical guitar music and they've loved it, and I've shown it to fans of indie and they've liked it too. I think that it's because it stands out as something more than just another heavy record - it stands out as a work of art that holds the flag for it's genre, in the same way that Dostoyevsky's The Idiot did for modernist writing and that Casablanca did for the screenplay.
Compared to their earlier albums, Jane Doe is a positively scar-inducing experience. The production here is at first deceptively messy and grating, but soon reveals itself as being a pinpoint balance between extreme cold mathcore and human warmth experimentation, and the individually recorded instruments are powerful beyond expectation. Kurt Ballou's guitarwork here is all over the place in it's ferocious energy, and the coils of Nate Newton's bass strings are time bombs of thumping power. Ben Koller's drums are so over-produced that they sound like The Velvet Goldmine destroying a drumkit with grenades, and Jake Bannon's vocals are matched only in their anger and confusion by that of a new born baby screaming life into their fluid-filled lungs.
The first two tracks are comapnions to each other, and lead into themselves with breathless fury. Jake's vocals never let up, and the beauty of his lyrics is at first sadly lost in the affray of nightmarish music it's supposed to be on top of, but they soon become a macabre instrument in their own right.
The album doesn't even remotely let the listener pause for breath until we get to Hell To Pay, where the over the top bile of the band is swapped for this panting, haunting crawler. But even this has jarring guitar riffs that can lacerate the inside of your ears at the wrong volume, and then throw you straight back in the deep end with Homewrecker - the first of several 'punk' speed tracks on the album. Even though Converge can easily prove that they can do 'math'rock, they don't saturate the notion with patternless self-indulgence like so many bands tend to. The band always seem keen to prove that they never forget their roots.
Heaven In Her Arms is a technical piece worth noting here. There is a confusing emotion brought forward with tracks like this, with their frenetic and complex musicianship which ensures us that when we think we've got the band pinned down, they run off into the darkness ahead of us all over again. Next two tracks, Phoenix In Flight and Phoenix In Flames, are a coupled pair of songs that begin as an ancient temple of animalistic fury that turns into a minimalist drum work-out and vocal punishment, before deceptively ploughing into Thaw -possibly the greatest song on the album. Thaw is a nasty, unpredictable horror movie of a track that encapsulates the mood of the record perfectly. Final track, Jane Doe, is an ending that feels more like hospitalisation due to paralysis rather than resolution.
What must also be pointed out here is the truly astounding artwotk by Jake Bannon himself. Full of haunting and inexplainably disturbing silhouettes of women's pouting faces intertwined with his classically poetic (if a little hard to read) lyrics, the sleeve here provides an unexpected air of ghostly gentleness to the record, which isn't on previous Converge releases, as they tended to have much more shock-value styled album art. Converge even dropped the 'scratchy' logo that they had used for the previous releases and instead opted for a straight forward, simplistic font. This really is a labour of love from Converge. A visualised and achieved work of beauty in the guise of nihilistic, bitter metal that transcends so many styles of music because it was never planned to be categorised - just realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 11 Jun 2006
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
So I went out to buy "converge-you fail me" one day, and saw another cd with an amazing cover, which would be "Jane Doe". I brought it home and started listening to it. All I can say is I was sucked in and couldnt get out. The entire album is what i needed. Recovering from a recent relationship gone wrong, Jane Doe had everything. The heaviness and anger. The pain and sympathy. And even though you cant hear too well, the lyrics are just beautiful. And the album name is perfect. Many people have their own "Jane Doe" (or "John Doe" for females), someone they think they know, but really, they dont. The album art throughout the booklet is jaw dropping as well.

This is no doubt my favourite cd so far.

I recommend it to anyone who enjoys metal (especially hardcore, for this band is probably the best hardcore band around) and for those who recently suffured a bad relationship. This album is no doubt inspiring, and nothing short of absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever gold..., 19 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
I find it difficult to explain why I purchased this album, having never heard a single Converge song before. I was just drawn to them, drawn to the artwork, drawn to their reputation for being hardcore stalwarts. The first listen was shocking to say the least, and I mean that in the true sense of the word ! I was shaking and sweating by the time the 11-minute title track had finished. But succintly, this is a swirling, bludgeoning, ear-splitting work of art. It is as chaotic as it is hypnotic, as beautiful as it is disturbing, and it fizzes with raw emotion, in particular bitterness and disappointment. The whole lyrical concept of the album appears to be the philosophy on the bloody ruins of a relationship.
If you're new to Converge, you have been warned: buy this if you have an open mind, a love of technical, complex music, and a true punk spirit. This album is incredibly heavy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitterness, 17 Nov 2005
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
I can't think of an appropriate way to begin this review so I'll just get straight into it. Jane Doe by Converge is absolutely gut-shredding. Sometimes it will lift you up, sometimes it will push you sobbing into the earth. It may just make you want to drive angrily, but if you let it, it will make you remember. You can listen to it as a music CD sure, but there's listening, and then there's listening. Let Jacob Bannon in and he will make you want to let go of everything that pains you in a roar of blackened syntax, no matter what kind of person you think you are. Jane Doe is a hardcore album. It is heavy, and it is evil. It is honest.
Jane Doe is a tale of loss, of hate, of grief, of anger, of smiles forgotten, bonds broken and of pure undiluted regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most insane, awe inspiring, emotional album ever....., 14 Jun 2004
By 
Budgie (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
I picked up a copy of Jane Doe last year after hearing it recommended from a friend. Upon placing the disk onto my laser I was greeted with possibly the most exciting, awesome, and even frigtening 1 minute 19 seconds of music I had ever heard. This track of course was the blinding 'Concubine'. After picking my jaw up off the floor for a fraction of a second it was yanked back down by the equally demonic 'Fault and Fracture'. Now after these first two tracks most people would be thinking that Converge pride on the sheer intensity of their music. Where this may be partly true it is the emotional content of the songs and in particular Jacob Bannons awesome lyrics that really stand out for me. This album extends the boundaries of what you thought possible for a band. Whilst the music is so tightly focussed and parrallel, I dare anyone to listen to 'Concubine' and 'Distance and Meaning' and notice the one being fuelled by metalcore, speed metal and even (dare I say it) death metal and in contrast the latter having Punk influences. The album sweeps past you with tracks like 'Broken Vow', 'Hell to Pay' and the awesome 'Thaw' and you think that nothing else is possible. That is until you are greeted by the epic title track 'Jane Doe'. This song is the Coup D'Etat, the final nail in the coffin. It has everything you have just experienced and for me it closes possibly the best album in the last 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This rewards you time, after time, after time., 7 April 2004
By 
S. Thow "stouffer-the-cat" (Blandford, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
If I could give this album 6 stars, I would. I've owned Jane for a little over 2 years and I'm addicted. This has been the only album I've EVER owned, that has continually fed my craving for intrepid, heart-felt, brutally exciting music.
Other CDs, all be it good CDs, have come and gone...dillinger, the locust, cephallic, meshuggah...all excellent bands who have influenced my music in many ways; but none as widespread as this pulsing throng of sweat, rhythm, and bloody aneurysm.
I put it back in the rack; it finds its way back into my stereo. My eyes are drawn to it, my hands become sweaty when I see the cover, and my heart yearns to hear those first, unscrupulous beats of 'thaw' as the aural explosion becons you to succumb to it's power.
It would take a damn good band to better this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bitter taste, 21 April 2009
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
It's an incredible album from start to finish. One that most people will either think unlistenable or brilliant. The constant air of desperation, bitterness and fury can be claustrophobic at times, but ultimately rewarding over repeated listens. The title track in particular is quite something. Almost reminds me of 'daddy' at the end of the korn's first album. Just this outpouring of grief and anger that not many other songs have managed. I know mr bannon has explained that the song was the result of wanting to die every day for 3 years so I think the emotion sums it up. Of just being sick of it. A truly memorable album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece, 27 July 2003
This review is from: Jane Doe (Audio CD)
'Jane Doe' was the first metalcore album I heard and, although I have since heard fantastic albums from the likes of December and Shadows Fall to name but two, 'Jane Doe' remains by far the best.
Despite being one of the heaviest albums ever created, there is a lot of variety between tracks. The first two tracks are played at blistering speed and precision: 'Concubine' notable for some excellent drumming and 'Fault and Fracture' for its guitar work. The tempo is then slowed down for 'Distance and Meaning' and 'Hell to Pay', as they slowly build up to their explosive choruses. 'Phoenix in Flight' is a beautiful, haunting track, heavy on feedback, which then builds up to the dramatic anti-climax of 'Phoenix in Flames', which is just sheer, apocalyptic noise.
However, it is the final, title track that really stands out. Starting with a twisting riff and Steve Austin (Today is the Day)-esque vocals, interjected with moments of beautiful melody, it builds up to its epic and dramatic finale, over 12 minutes of sheer musical genius. In short, it is one of the greatest songs of all time.
The ability of these guys is almost unparalled in the music world today. They are each individually excellent at what they do - I personally believe Jacob Bannon's vocals to be the best I've heard within the metalcore genre - but the way they bring it all together is also amazing. The depth and complexity of the music is just breathtaking. To top it off, the production job couldn't be better. The whole album sounds sharp and clear, giving the music a very 'full' sound, so you are always completely involved.
Obviously, the music is so heavy that most people will be put off, and one drawback of the vocals is that you can't make out the inspired (they're printed in the sleeve) lyrics. For the few people who do actually discover Converge, however, it will just be all the more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9de93408)

This product

Jane Doe
Jane Doe by Converge (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews