Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, side splittingly funny
A superb epitomisation of great British wit, sarcasm and farce. One is never sure whether to laugh at Basil or to feel embarassed for him. The episode with the Irish builder will have even the most humourless of people in tears of laughter. A must buy for anyone with a sense of humour and a perfect introduction for those that haven't. Comedy does not get better.
Published on 23 Aug 2001 by marc_freeman@hotmail.com

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is a disgrace
Maybe this is a coincidence (not likely), but several people I know own this DVD (including myself) and on every one the final three episodes DO NOT PLAY! There is some kind of fault with the menu screen and when you select "The Hotel Inspectors", "Gourmet Night" or "The Germans", the opening music plays but nothing else comes up. Add to that a complete lack of extrras...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by JR Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, side splittingly funny, 23 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
A superb epitomisation of great British wit, sarcasm and farce. One is never sure whether to laugh at Basil or to feel embarassed for him. The episode with the Irish builder will have even the most humourless of people in tears of laughter. A must buy for anyone with a sense of humour and a perfect introduction for those that haven't. Comedy does not get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is a disgrace, 27 Oct 2007
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe this is a coincidence (not likely), but several people I know own this DVD (including myself) and on every one the final three episodes DO NOT PLAY! There is some kind of fault with the menu screen and when you select "The Hotel Inspectors", "Gourmet Night" or "The Germans", the opening music plays but nothing else comes up. Add to that a complete lack of extrras and second rate presentation, I simply cannot say anything positive about it! Of course the show itself is great but unless you want to waste your money on three episodes, get the boxset with everything on.
COMPLETE RIP-OFF, AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty batch of DVDs, 21 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to second the reviewer who said the final three episodes on this DVD would not play. I wish I had read that before. I ordered the DVD, final three would not play. So I got it replaced by Amazon. Guess what? Final three would not play on that DVD also. What a nuisance having to send it back and wait forever for a refund. Beware of this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Feb 2005
By 
P. Bradley (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of this TV show. Although I wanted to say that this dvd does not have any extras. I brought it and was dispointed that it didn't have any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It belongs in any Comedy collection., 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from it being incredibly funny, the scripting is worth at least a thesis. The compact irony, the depth and strength in which it deals with the (our) prejudices and obviously the brilliant acting makes Fawlty Towers a must for any lover of good comedy. The powerful combination of a male and female scriptwriters' duo turns this series into something rather special. I have "forced" my German friends to watch the Episode of "The Germans" over and over again. After which they all went out to buy the video :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN AND LAUGHTER-GREAT VIEWING, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Gift - excellent choice . Having been a fan of the series for years it is good to reflect back and reminise with simple buit great humour.
makes TV watching good and worthwhile.
Excellent to wind down to and family viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty Towers series 1, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series when it was on TV and really enjoyed watching it again on DVD. The clothes worn by the cast are obviously dated but that doesn't detract from the sheer genius of the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Fawlty, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Ronald Ellis (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I have just played my THIRD copy of Fawlty Towers Series One. and like the others I cannot play the last three episodes

This is scandalous and I am amazed that the BBC and the Hut and Blah - my suppliers - have not taken action

Disgruntled Fawlty Fan - it wouldn't be so bad if the progs were rubbish - but they are GEMS

Regards to all sufferers

Ron Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Playback on 3 Episodes, 1 Aug 2008
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
From the other reviews it seems this is a common problem. I also bought the DVD and cannot play the last 3 episodes. Very dissapointing, as this is probably the best sitcom of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still great, 29 Nov 2013
By 
R. S. Mann (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, its still side splitting funny as it always has been.
Watch and enjoy the hilarious antics at the infamous hotel!
You wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD]
Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] by John Cleese (DVD - 2001)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews