Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, side splittingly funny
A superb epitomisation of great British wit, sarcasm and farce. One is never sure whether to laugh at Basil or to feel embarassed for him. The episode with the Irish builder will have even the most humourless of people in tears of laughter. A must buy for anyone with a sense of humour and a perfect introduction for those that haven't. Comedy does not get better.
Published on 23 Aug 2001 by marc_freeman@hotmail.com

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty batch of DVDs
I would like to second the reviewer who said the final three episodes on this DVD would not play. I wish I had read that before. I ordered the DVD, final three would not play. So I got it replaced by Amazon. Guess what? Final three would not play on that DVD also. What a nuisance having to send it back and wait forever for a refund. Beware of this DVD!
Published on 21 Nov 2007 by Sam156


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, side splittingly funny, 23 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
A superb epitomisation of great British wit, sarcasm and farce. One is never sure whether to laugh at Basil or to feel embarassed for him. The episode with the Irish builder will have even the most humourless of people in tears of laughter. A must buy for anyone with a sense of humour and a perfect introduction for those that haven't. Comedy does not get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty Towers, Series 1 (2001) - Almost Fawltless!, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Much has been written about Fawlty Towers. I do not intend to repeat all of this in depth, but confine myself to saying that this mid seventies comedy series from John Cleese and Connie Booth was one of the most perfect comedies ever made. Characters and performances were pitch perfect, the set up ideal for a variety of hilarious situations. It made the irate hotelier and his Spanish waiter into national icons. Part of the genius was that it wrapped up after 2 series, so there was no tailing off in quality or changes in cast that afflict so m any other classic comedies. It's just Fawltless, mixing elements of farce and absurdism to provide 12 episodes of howling laughter.

This 2001 DVD release OK. It contains all six episodes from series one on a single disc, with no real extras. The picture quality is OK. But these days there is the definitive 2009 remastered version box set of both series plus loads of extras at a very reasonable price, and I would recommend you purchase that set rather than this. So almost Fawltless, 5 stars for the superb comedy, but you're better off getting the 2009 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty batch of DVDs, 21 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to second the reviewer who said the final three episodes on this DVD would not play. I wish I had read that before. I ordered the DVD, final three would not play. So I got it replaced by Amazon. Guess what? Final three would not play on that DVD also. What a nuisance having to send it back and wait forever for a refund. Beware of this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is simply a criminal offence not to own this DVD!, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
John Cleese is fantastic in this comedy following the life of the bitter and sarcastic hotel owner, Basil Fawlty. This is certainly in the top two best comedy series ever created. The writing is spot on and the performances all combine to create one of the most effective comedy combinations ever. This series will literally have you crying with laughter at Basil's ridiculous antics as he tries to entice a better quality of guest to his hotel to satisfy his snobbish tendencies. Watch it once and be hooked forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is a disgrace, 27 Oct 2007
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe this is a coincidence (not likely), but several people I know own this DVD (including myself) and on every one the final three episodes DO NOT PLAY! There is some kind of fault with the menu screen and when you select "The Hotel Inspectors", "Gourmet Night" or "The Germans", the opening music plays but nothing else comes up. Add to that a complete lack of extrras and second rate presentation, I simply cannot say anything positive about it! Of course the show itself is great but unless you want to waste your money on three episodes, get the boxset with everything on.
COMPLETE RIP-OFF, AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Fawlty, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Ronald Ellis (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I have just played my THIRD copy of Fawlty Towers Series One. and like the others I cannot play the last three episodes

This is scandalous and I am amazed that the BBC and the Hut and Blah - my suppliers - have not taken action

Disgruntled Fawlty Fan - it wouldn't be so bad if the progs were rubbish - but they are GEMS

Regards to all sufferers

Ron Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Playback on 3 Episodes, 1 Aug 2008
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
From the other reviews it seems this is a common problem. I also bought the DVD and cannot play the last 3 episodes. Very dissapointing, as this is probably the best sitcom of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Feb 2005
By 
P. Bradley (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of this TV show. Although I wanted to say that this dvd does not have any extras. I brought it and was dispointed that it didn't have any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It belongs in any Comedy collection., 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from it being incredibly funny, the scripting is worth at least a thesis. The compact irony, the depth and strength in which it deals with the (our) prejudices and obviously the brilliant acting makes Fawlty Towers a must for any lover of good comedy. The powerful combination of a male and female scriptwriters' duo turns this series into something rather special. I have "forced" my German friends to watch the Episode of "The Germans" over and over again. After which they all went out to buy the video :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fawlty towers UMD, 16 May 2006
I recently bought this UMD and as I had them recorded on video I was amazed at how good the quality was. The episodes are extreemly funny and the only bad point is that they are on two disks but that can not be helped. So if you have a PSP and you like good comedy BUY THIS UMD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD]
Fawlty Towers - Series 1 [1975] [DVD] by John Cleese (DVD - 2001)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews