Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy gold
Blackadder Goes Forth is absolutely brilliant and a comedy series you must add to your collection. Rowan Atkinson is back as Blackadder but this time as a Captain in the British army during the Great War. The year is 1917 and Blackadder has been on the frontline for three years and is determined to survive and get home. Hugh Laurie is brilliant in this series as young...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Mr. Craig Henderson

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of one liners but...
As a big Blackadder fan I find this series not as consistently funny as series 3 or even 2.
sure,there are plenty of one liners but the stories just dont hold together as well.
I really was hoping for more,I mean how many jokes is it possible to wring out of the word darling?
Published 21 months ago by M. Jf Cullen


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy gold, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Blackadder Goes Forth is absolutely brilliant and a comedy series you must add to your collection. Rowan Atkinson is back as Blackadder but this time as a Captain in the British army during the Great War. The year is 1917 and Blackadder has been on the frontline for three years and is determined to survive and get home. Hugh Laurie is brilliant in this series as young naive Lieutenant George, Tony Robinson is great as Private Baldrick and Tim McInnery is fantastic in his role as Captain Kevin Darling. Stephen Fry steals the show as General Sir Anthony Cecil Hogmany Melchett-a mad optimistic General convinced that a one final big push will win the war. This series is great and pokes fun at the insanity of the Great War. Blackadder is determined to get out of the trenches and Melchett and Darling are determined to keep him there. Like the third series there are some very funny cameos by Rik Mayall, Ade Edmondson, Gabriel Glaister and many other fine comic actors.
This series is very very funny and of course the last episode is great but deeply poignant and moving.
A comedy series to love and cherish.
Baaaa!!!
5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving the best 'til last, 21 Mar 2011
By 
S. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
This final series of Blackadder brings together the best elements of series 2 and 3 to create one of the best series of any comedy ever. Set in the trenches of World War 1, we have Stephen Fry returning as Melchett (this time a general) and Tim McInnerny is brought back full time, though not as the dappy Percy of series 1 and 2, but as whole new character, Kevin Darling, who is very similar to Blackadder himself, only he has got the lucky break of an office job several safe miles behind the front line.

Whilst still a bit of an idiot, Baldrick does take on an extra dimension in this series as the 'honest Tommy' representing the everyday man who was caught up in the Great War. There are returns for Flashheart & Bob from series 2, as well as a new role for Miranda Richardson. The whole series hangs together very well, with familiar themes running through each episode, such as Blackadder's schemes to try and get himself as far from the frontline as possible. Suffused with a collection of the finest insults ever broadcast on tv, this is comedy of the highest order. Yet this series has one element to it that puts it head and shoulders above the other 3 series and above most other comedies. That element is the pathos of the final episode. Though it is riddled with gags (the cappuccino line still has me in stitches) the reality of the war is never made fun of. It is the absurdity of the war that is the subject of derision, in as fine a way that is the match of the War Poets, and there is a distinct Sassoonian air to the eventual demise of the characters, which is done in an utterly moving way. You would be hard pressed not to cry at the finale, which is the crowning glory of this great comedy epoch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's right you know, Oxford's a complete dump!, 29 Aug 2004
By 
Paul Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
For me, this is the best of all the Blackadder series. The tone of this series seems to be different to all the others and your opinions of the characters is different accordingly.
Blackadder is for the most part a snide and somewhat cruel and unpleasant character, but rather than dislike him for the way he treats his couterparts, in Goes Forth, you just feel for him, placed in this desperate situation and trying anything he can think of to get out of it. Who would not, given the circumstances.
Making a comedy out of the tragic events of WW1 shows great skill and the writers manage it tremendously. They are helped by an incredibly good cast - there really are no weak links. For me, Stephen Fry playing the dimwitted General Meltchett is the standout, though an excellent cameo in one episode by Rik Mayall as flying ace Lord Flashart runs him close.
What is truely brilliant is the end. After all his attempts to escape, Blackadder is sent over the top, we presume to his doom, though we are never shown for definate, as the screen fades to show the battlefield in modern times. This could have been handled so badly, but it was in fact, perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
Is there any time or place that writers Richard Curtis and Ben Elton cannot place thoroughly believable characters? In this instance, its the Western Front, 1917. An utter joy (the series, that is). The supporting cast, particularly Tony Robinson, Hugh Laurie and Stephen Genius Fry, are impeccable. Rich with brilliant dialogue combined with incredibly creative incident- hot mud, dandruff and saliva, among other things- there is a real poignancy about this series. The absurdity of the events portrayed here work in a perfect blend of humour and cynicism that really reflect the madness of the war and those caught up in it. For me, the best of the four Blackadder outings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blackadder series possibly the best ever., 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This is probably the best Blackadder series of the lot. The comedy shows the unfortunate truth of the horror of war, with razor sharp wit and brilliant one-liners. The final scene is probably one of the most emotional images of war. Blackadder is his ususal sarcastic witty self, while Baldrick seems even more stupid, "It's better than sitting around here on our elbows!" Hugh Laurie plays Lieutenant George brilliantly, and Stephen Fry makes an ideal General whose ideas on warfare are almost too close to the truth. Also an excellent cameo performance by Rik Mayall as Lord Flasheart the ace pilot in 'Private Plane'. All in all a brilliant series that should not be misssed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, well, well! If it isn't old Captain Slack-Bladder!, 24 May 2006
By 
CP (Nowhere!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best series ever! It combines brilliant humour with a perfect balance of disaster, truimph and puns. Unmissable!! For 15 this is an absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, sad, thought-provoking, and just hilarious, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the final series of Blackadder, and probably overall, the best. The characters had filled out, we knew them, we knew their personalities, and this allowed them to much more than shallow shadows. It also features one of the greatest comic characters of all time in Stephen Fry's General Melchett.
The scripts are fresh even now, with nothing spare added; everything adds to the effect.
The famous ending to the last episode will hit you full in the face if you haven't seen it.
If you haven't seen this series, I urge you to give it a go; you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forces humour at its poignient best, 20 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
This particular series must rank alongside Fawlty Towers as an example of supreme British comedy that captures the absolute essence of the 'situation' in 'sitcom' terms. Being formerly in the HM Forces at the time of its release I can vouch that clips and quotes from the Lord Flasheart episode appeared in countless RAF briefings and presentations. Every character is played supremely well by an outstanding cast that had matured together in various guises and having had a number of instances of dealing with Rememberance servces - including being at the famous Menen Gate in Ypres on Rememberance Day - the final episode has become something of a national treasure at illustrating the sheer futility of war. Quite Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder in the Great War, 18 Jun 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Blackadder has always been one of the funniest and best written British Sitcoms around and this forth and last series is one of the best from the shows run. The six episodes of the series all show-off the great script and the brilliant performances by both the main cast and the guest stars. All the cast seem to be thoroughly enjoying themselves throughout the series but alongside Rowan Atkinson and Tony Robinson, my favourite has to be Stephen Fry for his brilliant portrayal of General Melchett.

Each episode never ceases to be funny and the last episode of the series is still surprisingly touching despite the number of times that I have watched it. The one slight problem with the series is the laughter track that can be somewhat intrusive at times but this is a flaw that most comedies of this era suffer from and doesn't distract too much from the overall enjoyment. Blackadder Goes Forth use to be my favourite Blackadder series and although Blackadder Three has now superseded it for my favour, it is still a very close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "i have to say sir i must admire your balls", 25 May 2004
By 
Mr. A. O'rourke (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 4 - Blackadder Goes Forth - The Entire Historic Fourth Series [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Old slackbladder's back and this time he's up to his ears in mud and cats vomit.This is the true final outing for bladers an co and this has to be the best one of the lot,stephan fry is brilliant as genral"insanity" melchet and tony robinson as baldrick is at his usual moronic best, this is pure comic gold every episode as good as the last.The only dissapointment is the complete lack of extras on the dvd,it would have been great to have had an audio commentary with ben elton and co, but to be honest if you truly love blackadder you'll look past this and enjoy it for what it is, a true comedy classic.Highly recommended STOP,and please please please STOP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews