Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill
u can never go wrong with one foot in the grave these are the best ones to watch .so if u love this series when its on tv u should go and treat urself to these
Published 17 months ago by dolly

versus
43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title
Buy the Very Best of One Foot in the Grave on DVD; you’d expect the ultimate keepsake of a classic British sitcom that was broadcast during a period of 10 years… but no. This DVD contains a measly 6 episodes. (6 episodes from a 10 year series, come on?!?) Although they are fantastic in their own right, I do remember a lot funnier episodes – making me...
Published on 28 Feb 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, 28 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Buy the Very Best of One Foot in the Grave on DVD; you’d expect the ultimate keepsake of a classic British sitcom that was broadcast during a period of 10 years… but no. This DVD contains a measly 6 episodes. (6 episodes from a 10 year series, come on?!?) Although they are fantastic in their own right, I do remember a lot funnier episodes – making me suspect that the selection on here was purely random. I never liked the very last episode where Victor is killed off (apart from the closing and heart-warming “End of the Line” sequence.) Much preferred the thought of him still grumbling to this day… no need to kill him off. So the inclusion of it on here is wasted on me. All in all I am really disappointed by this DVD. There’s a lot more Margaret and Victor that needs to be released on DVD. I would save your money until the BBC decides to release a more fitting tribute to such a gem of comedy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of ? - Do Not Believe It !, 3 Jun 2004
By 
Steve M (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this series may not have quite the universal appeal as more 'magnolia' offerings like the omnipresent Only Fools and Horses, it is worthy of more effort than this half hearted compilation. For me, One Foot In The Grave has probably the greatest emotional range of any program in recent times and this can only really be experienced in full by watching the episodes in the correct sequence. David Renwicks characters have great depth, and over time you really do discover more and more about Victor and Margaret and why they are who they are. The peerless performances by Richard Wilson and Annette Crosbie can make you cry with laughter whilst also lending real weight to the darker moments of the program. I believe releases of entire series to DVD is imminent if the BBC website is to be believed. Lets hope the BBC has done the program the justice is truly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
u can never go wrong with one foot in the grave these are the best ones to watch .so if u love this series when its on tv u should go and treat urself to these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very humorous!, 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to say I really enjoyed this compilation of One Foot in the Grave episodes. It is definately worth the watch, especially if it has you laughing in tears!! The only disapointment was the very last episode on the DVD, I did not like how it all ended and it was not one bit funny! At least it is the only episode I have seen that I don't like, overall I still recommend it to the fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great laugh, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Janet (Colchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for daughter as a great fan of the series arrived before delivery date, what else can one say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don�t bloody believe it � �One Foot in the Grave� on DVD, 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Wilson and Annette Crosbie are an excellent double act taking you on a roller-coaster ride of emotion in each episode from laughter to tears and back to laughter again in minutes. Full marks to the writer David Renwick for writing the highly believable capers and situations that Victor (Wilson) gets himself into and for Margaret (Crosbie), and the way she suffers him. Wilson and Crosbie manage to pull it off fantastically with a little help from an array of support characters. Well done to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best sit�com ever, 9 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
From the pen of David Renwick One foot in the Grave is an absolute classic. Staring Richard Willson as Victor Meldrew the man with a chip on his sholder and a frown on his face. I can not rate this show highly enough it is a must for any Brit-com lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of One Foot in the Grave [1990] [DVD]
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews