Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Album I've bought in years
Tracks like Superstylin, My friend and Suntoucher provide a chirpy, funky nod to the charts, but it's with tracks such as Edge Hill and Little by Little that the real quality lies. Granted, they may have 2-3 minute intros but these only serve to heighten your awareness for the sheer musical joy that follows: The rich, soothing and, frankly, life-affirming vocals of Little...
Published on 23 May 2002 by jiteshpatel@totalise.co.uk

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Nightclub [Hello Sofa]
On paper this year should have been a real treat, considering the dance groups/artists that were offering their new albums up the masses. Things haven't gone quite to plan. Sure the new albums have been good (better than some of cloned garage-bilge on offer), but more often than not they haven't quite managed to reach the giddy heights that their previous, now 'seminal',...
Published on 14 Sept. 2001 by orbit_ing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Album I've bought in years, 23 May 2002
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
Tracks like Superstylin, My friend and Suntoucher provide a chirpy, funky nod to the charts, but it's with tracks such as Edge Hill and Little by Little that the real quality lies. Granted, they may have 2-3 minute intros but these only serve to heighten your awareness for the sheer musical joy that follows: The rich, soothing and, frankly, life-affirming vocals of Little by Little could bring a jumper off a ledge and back through the window whilst the soaring strings of Edge Hill take the listener on a warm, stimulating, emotional journey and eventually leaves him/her in a better place than where they started from. I've had these tracks playing whilst friends have been round and without exception each one has asked who they were by and how come they hadn't heard them before. This is seriously good, intelligent stuff and shouldn't just be wasted on chill-out fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN to this album!!!! WONDERFUL, 7 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
I have all the albums by GA and this is definitely the best yet. No, there isn't an "At the River" but there is so much more! The first time through you will probably think OK but listen to it again and again and you will pick up something different each time, it really does grow on you. If you can pick up the depth in each track thats what I have noticed, there is so much in there.

I love the first track, Suntoucher great bass line and it really gets you in the mood for the rest of the album. Superstylin is a funky number great for the clubbers. My friend is a mellow track with a great vocal from Celetia Martin. My favourites are Lazy Moon and Edge Hill, I know they are long tracks but my are they worth waiting for, those strings just get to me. I think GA have matured their style and have come a long way since their debut Northern Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Groove from GA, 16 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
This is a great album, almost definitely their best yet. Great rhythms, nice vocals. Raps are not normally my thing, but on this CD they compliment and enhance the groove. Highlights: Suntoucher, fogma, my friend, raisin' the stakes....... Go and buy this now, and play as loud as you can, with immense bass in a darkened room!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two of my ALL TIME FAVOURITE tracks, 3 July 2003
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
SUPERSTYLIN makes me move my mind, body and soul. I love it soooooo much. Sometimes, can you feel the pressure just unwind, sometimes........ great! I must have listened to this track a hundred times, and I know I'll never get bored of it. Fantastic dance track, full of energy and build up and a great tune too. Can't beat a bit of: climb into position to synchronise things.
2nd favourite track on the album is SUNTOUCHER. Should be eaten with a tofu sandwich and cabbage. But that's cos you know this track ...... (wait for it)..... is not the average. Fantastic music with strong bass, different tempos and great vocals, all blending smoothly.
The music from all GA's albums is original and inspiring, and both Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) and Vertigo live in my car, so they spin most weeks. Long may Andy and Tom continue to create magic.
If I had to take two CD's to a desert island, it would be GA's Goodbye Country and Zero 7's Simple Things. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boring but true......, 20 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
I appreciate there is a real tendency to have endless glowing reviews on amazon and that people rarely post negative feedback. Well, i'm afraid I am going down the glowing praise route. This album is absolutely supurb, without a doubt in the Top 5 of my entire collection and worthy of every star I have given it.
It has everything. The chilled out blissful tunes that made GA such a big hit with their first album Vertigo and the stomping floor fillers that get played out and about all the time. critics claim a good album must deliver from start to finish and take you on some sort of a journey. this album does exactly that, from the hip hop tinged Suntoucher via the upbeat Superstylin' and Fogma (which is an immensely dirty fat tune!) which both raise the pulse somewhat, the haunting but beautiful Edgehill (try this LOUD on headphones!) to what is a real hidden gem, the dub mix of Tuning In. Now this tune features in GA's later album 'Lovebox' in its vocal entirity and isn't nearly as good as the dub. It is so melodic and deep and again slightly haunting but so so gorgeous. the vocals are so very sweet and just pull you along with a deep powerful slow bassline. It's very basic and very simple but it really works.
this album is relatively old now but has not lost one speck of brilliance. It's fair to say i love GA and have all their albums but the others do not come close to this. It is such a treat. My girlfriend had this album and dismissed it after a couple of listens so I made her try it again and needless to say she absolutely loves it now!!
An essential in any electronic music lovers library.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondefully Groove Armada, 5 May 2002
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
Without doubt the best album of last year. This album starts of great and finishes great; there is not one weak track on it. Suntoucher, Superstylin', Little By Little, Fogma, My Friend, Raisin' The Stakes and Tuning In - Dub Mix (not The Incredible Bongo Man as it says on the track listing) the best tracks. But with a track like Edge Hill you have to sit up and take notice, probably the best track that has been made in the last 20 years, simply awesome. I am not really sure that you can better this album, and I feel that it is better then Vertigo. If you are thinking of getting it then hurry up and get it and give Andy and Tom the credit they deserve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 6 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
this totally blows you away. seldom are dance albums this inventive and diverse, incompassing many styles and genres, while mainting a very down-tempo, up-beat mood to the sound, which remains consistant throught the 65-minute album. often, artists which try to experiment with styles and genres on their albums can make it sound really disjointed and less like an album and more like a compilation of unreleased tracks. this album is essential purchasing for those with a love contempory music. oh, and those who love to spend a day out in the sun doing nothing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars outstanding !, 26 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
g.a. do it again with an outstanding collection of relaxing and soulful grooves, kicking off with the bright and uplifting 'suntoucher'. this cd is an absolute must for g.a. fans and trip hoppers alike. however, although perhaps more fluent than 'vertigo', there seems to be less tracks possessing that immediate and lasting impact so prevalent on 'vertigo'. g.a. virgins should defintely go for 'vertigo', which remains by a minute margin, their finest work to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Armada in dub?, 1 Feb. 2002
By 
davyh (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
Reviewers lamenting the lack of another 'At The River' are missing the point; this album is grubbier, dubbier and darker than its predecessor. 'Suntoucher' sets the tone: booming melodic bass, crunchy beats, driving rap...and then there are those stabs of John Barry-like instrumentation. Never predictable, always startling in SOUND, this album fuses chilled and funky GA in a red hot blast. And for those sunset moments, you still have 'Edge Hill'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most listened to CD in my collection, 21 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) (Audio CD)
This is a commendable piece, and far exceeds their last album Vertigo. It's smooth groves, relax the sences and lull the spirt. As "Chill out" music becomes more mainstream they still maintain an intellectual stance, it certainly hits the spot for me. Their ability to mix electronic and acoustic sounds is something so refreshing it wins prime spot in my CD changer. Well done lads! Keep it up!!
Charlie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub)
Goodbye Country (Hello Nightclub) by Groove Armada (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews