Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final shows of Uli Jon Roth Era Scorions - Superb, 28 Oct 2001
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
This album brought to a close the Uli Jon Roth (Ulrich Roth) era Scorions after which they changed tack slightly and went on to greater commercial success.
The album is dominated by Uli's magnificent guitar work and contains tracks from all of the previous four studio albums including the recently released, at the time, "Taken by Force".
Also thrown in for good measure are a couple of rock 'n' roll standards, a japanese folk song (given the scorpions treatment) and an early scorpions number - In search of the peace of mind.
If you are a fan of electric guitars , including feedback, wha-wah and tremelo arms then you will love this album. For those expecting, Wind of Change type melodic material, look elsewhere. This is an out and out guitar album like they don't make anymore and for devotees of the genre it is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the very best live albums ever produced in hard rock!, 15 Mar 2002
By 
Leonidas Papadopoulos "seeker" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
I'm not to go on bubbling over this.I'll be straight:if you want to hear what the Scorpions were playing in the 70's, meaning guitaristic-oriented hard rock, with really heavy riffs, astounding solos, melodies and songs bound to be considered classics for centuries and solos to be lessons for new guitarists, robust rythm section, vocals that make history, and all these delivered they way they do in Tokyo Tapes, amongst a warm audience, without studio processings, then buy this album.You will treasure it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Germans play Heavy Metal in English for Japanese. Superb!, 21 Nov 2001
By 
Robert Alan Bryan "JettBlackBerryX" (Waldorf, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
Except for UFO's Strangers In the Night this was one of the better Live discs in the 70s. Yes, everyone worships Kiss-Alive but not me. This set (in and out of print over the last 20+ years) is a pretty raw bit. Only the Rock'n'Roll standards bit weaken it for me. Added bonus of rare b-side "Suspender Love" getting the Live Treatment really seals the deal. Dark Lady is killer. Polar Nights is not to be missed. Funny bits...The English is mostly phonetic and I misunderstood Klaus for years when he said certain things.
Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uli Roth absolutely shines! A great album, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
Matthias Jabs could never do these songs justice.... This album presents an authentic image of the sound of the 70's Scorpions. Songs of particular interest are: Speedys Coming, Polar Nights, and Pictured Life, as they demonstrate the absolute mastery of the guitar by Uli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short-changed by the label but not the band., 25 Feb 2007
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
For the album: 5 stars. I've always loved it, despite the RnR standards of 'Hound Dog' and 'Long Tall Sally'. I could do without those (and Uriah Heep also pressed a similar live medley on us in the early 1970s), although I appreciate they would be songs the band had grown up listening to and trying to play, in the same way I would have wanted to try my hands at Scorps classics. It's just that I'd rather have more of the band's own tracks in their stead.

This gets me on to why I've docked a star. The record label, in order to make this a single CD, have dropped the fourth track of the original album, 'Polar Nights'. We are given this as an anachronistic 'bonus track' on 'Taken By Force'. For this reason, I didn't buy this reissue and shall stick to my 2CD US import.

In response to one of the reviews below, re 'Kojo No Tsuki' (and other folk songs the Scorps have played), I see it as a mark of respect for the country, myself. After all, here we have a German band, already singing in a foreign tongue, learning a Japanese lyric. The crowd clearly appreciate it and relish singing along in their language, for a change. Would I swap it for another Scorpions track? Yes, but it's such a thoughtful touch from the band that I can excuse them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling live showcase of the classic 1970s Scorpions lineup, 16 Aug 2001
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
For years we've been waiting for this alubm to be given a cd release. And now, finally, our prayers have been answered. This is possibly the finest live album in existence, well before the fashion of overdubbing live albums with sensless audience noise over the tracks and touching up songs in post-production (World Wide Live 1985 pales into insignificance when compared to Tokyo Tapes). What you get here therefore is an authentic live experience of the Scorpions when they were at their best. Great songs, superb delivery and the astoundnig guitar work of Uli Jon Roth playing in front of a compact but warm and enthusiastic audience makes Tokyo Tapes a 70s hard rock masterpiece. This was Uli Jon Roth's last album with the band and soon after the Scorpions changed their sound and went on to achieve gloabl success. Decades on the alubm still sounds amazing and stands as a proud testament to a classic Scorpions line-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing double live set from germany's best hard rock band, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
Think of it as a tribute to the soon to depart Uli Jon Roth (genius guitarist and founder of the neo-classical electric guitar movement; Michael Schenker and matthias Jabs in-waiting) AND as a live "best of" of the bands 70's material.

its made all the more quaint due to the heavy accent of Klaus Mine's crowd banter and the incredibly poilte and nigh pitched response from them.

All Night Long kicks things off and was previously unavailable on their studio albums. side one is peppered with strong title tracks; side 2 has a more progressve/epic feel to it; side 3 is drum solo and rock n roll cover territory (but still good due to the awesoem He's A Woman She's A Man) and side 4 is just deliriously brilliant, with encores and even a specially learned japanese folk song called Kojo No Tsuki (moon on the ruins btw).

The onlyreason i dont give it 5 stars is because some nonce at the label left out POLAR NIGHTS for the CD re-issue? what were you thinking? that UJR cant sing? debatable BUT it does contain a stunning funky hendrix style guitar intro. you absolute pillocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing live album, 16 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
I first bought this on vinyl in 1982, and I loved it immediately. I already owned the Scorps studio albums from the 70's, so I was interested to hear them performed live. From start to finish, this album is a masterpiece. A fitting end to the Ulich (Uli Jon) Roth era. A shame that only a couple of these song are played in today's live set. Highlights are "In Trance", "Suspender Love", "We'll Burn The Sky", "Pictured Life" and the epic "Fly to the Rainbow", to name but a few. Buy this CD, if you love the Scorpions you won't be dissapointed. 23 years on and it still sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uli Jon & A Woman Under The Influence., 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
Recently, I was lucky enough to see Uli Jon at a warm up pub gig at the Horn in St Albans. I think he was playing the Albert Hall a couple of days later. Afterwards I got him to sign my copy of Tokyo Tapes and told him he was the Cassavetes of rock. Somebody nearby laughed but Uli was interested and said, "Who's he?" Resisting the urge to say "Uli man, you're a God, you should know these things" I sorta half-explained that Cassavetes was a famous independent film maker in the US who got emotional pain nailed on celluloid. For anyone interested check out 'Husbands' and go from there. Anyway, the solo in 'We'll Burn The Sky' has to be one of the greatest of all time. The way the music builds with old Herman Rarebell thrashing away until Uli lets out that final anguished scream is a moment out of time. It has stayed with me over thirty years and the older I get the better it gets. RD Laing said music is the purest form of communication. When Monika Danneman wrote the lyrics she was writing about her grief over the death of former boyfriend Jimi Hendrix. The note that Uli hits is the kind of pain people run from all their lives, the kind that no amount of drink or drugs can ever erase. Uli man, you should do some soundtracks in your old age. The man is rock royalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tokyo delight, 15 April 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tokyo Tapes (Audio CD)
Seminal live album from The Scorpions,was never particularly impressed by their studio output up to this point,however the live album changed everything,Uli Jon Roths hendrix like guitar solos increasingly at odds with the more commercial avenue that the band wanted,this is a superb epitath for the Roth era.

originally a double cd(on RCA),this remaster has been edited to fit a single cd and loses one of the highlights of the original album,namely 'Polar Night',incredible decision by some nomark at the record company!

The remaster for me has a brittle at times tinny sound,i preferred the original cd,but the class of the music shines thru,opening with non album track,'All Night Long the band are off and running with classic tracks such as'Back Stage Queen & In Trance' before hitting top gear with epics 'We'll Burn The Sky & Fly To The Rainbow' highlighting just how underated Roth is/was.

Classic metal moments abound with 'Suspender Love,He's A Woman,She's A Man & Speedy's Comin,although some of the crass lyrics fueling Roths desire to quit were becoming obvious.Its not all heavy metal though you get a beautiful ballad from the debut album'In Search Of The Peace Of Mind' and a touching Japanese folk song 'Kojo No Tsuki' whilst 'Dark Lady and Steam rock Fever return us to the metal world,am i the only person that thinks 'Robot Man ' is a quo riff made in Germany?.

Ultimately this is a superb live album,we'll forgive them the naff cover versions of'Hound Dog/Long Tall Sally,must have been something in the water in the 70's,so many bands done it.

If you can seek out the RCA 2 disc set,its a belter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Tokyo Tapes
Tokyo Tapes by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews