Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording of the Slavonic dances!!!
I have always loved Dvorak's Slavonic dances and for me Neeme Jarvi and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra on this CD get a perfect style of how these dances should be played. They recorded them in 1985 in the open and spacious sound that Chandos always produce. The balance between the different sections of the Orchestra are spot on with the strong yet refined...
Published 9 months ago by And/Burro

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average
Nothing particularly negative per se. Just difficult to get particularly enthused by this rather bland rendition, and probably quite limited subject matter.
Published 14 months ago by T.R.SULLIVAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording of the Slavonic dances!!!, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
I have always loved Dvorak's Slavonic dances and for me Neeme Jarvi and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra on this CD get a perfect style of how these dances should be played. They recorded them in 1985 in the open and spacious sound that Chandos always produce. The balance between the different sections of the Orchestra are spot on with the strong yet refined brass,elegant woodwind and glistening strings contributing to a beautiful sound. I knew some of the Slavonic dances already but having the complete set has enabled me to learn the new ones. With them being so well recorded by this Conductor and Orchestra you just want to play them over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slavonic Dances, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Joan Delamore "Mary J" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
I heard an extract played on Classic FM whilst doing the ironing. I was surprised at how many of the dances I had heard before. It is a good enthusiastically played recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great sound, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
Only had 'extracts' before, now have complete Dances. Good quality sound and quite helpful programme notes. Sounds particularly good through headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A present, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
A present to my Mum who loved Dvorak as a kid. She plays this to the washing up and loves the tunes. Great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars National Dance Music, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Lorraine (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
Have not heard the complete set of Dvoraks slavonic dances for years and it gave me great pleasure listening to this lively interpretation again. Will be lovely to be able to listen to the dances more regularly now rather than having to wait for them to be played on the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 17 May 2013
By 
T.R.SULLIVAN (OXSHOTT, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances (Audio CD)
Nothing particularly negative per se. Just difficult to get particularly enthused by this rather bland rendition, and probably quite limited subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances
Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances by Neeme Jarvi (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews