Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa! Lisa!
I have recently watched this DVD and enjoyed it. I think it might have benefited from a bit more depth, but that would have resulted in a longer film and it may have lost its appeal then. The men who trespass into Lisa's life are more than mere bullies, they are violent men who have previously murdered and terrorised a stores assistant. What Lisa administers then is a...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by Catherine

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief but memorable
Axe is OK. It's no lost masterpiece but nor is a forgettable no budget rip off. This is mainly down to the brief running time of barely an hour and the enigmatic atmosphere the director creates. Gone is the usual pointless padding that can turn a modest horror effort into an endurance test. That said the story is still a little thin, basically a Last House on the Left...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Now Zoltan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief but memorable, 2 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Axe [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Axe is OK. It's no lost masterpiece but nor is a forgettable no budget rip off. This is mainly down to the brief running time of barely an hour and the enigmatic atmosphere the director creates. Gone is the usual pointless padding that can turn a modest horror effort into an endurance test. That said the story is still a little thin, basically a Last House on the Left riff with the twist of a mysterious, possibly psychotic, little girl lying in wait for the hoodlums - and just what is it with her catatonic grandfather? I wish there were more short sharp little films like this - as Val Lewton proved time and again, you don't need a long running time to do the business.
Get this for under a fiver and you'll be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dark horror but not a classic, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: Axe [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Axe, Lisa Lisa known in some parts is a good little gem of a film. Trouble is it could have been
one of the greats, but sadly fails.

Without giving too much of the plot away, Axe revolves around a group of hitmen who are on the run and find a place
to stay out in the countryside. There they find a young girl called Lisa who is looking after her severly paralysed grandfather.

There is a lot of attention to detail and the movie has such a dread atmosphere that Axe is not the type of movie you will want to revisit time and again. It has the ability to bring you the viewer down.

Not sure why the movie was banned, it isn't at all that bad gore wise.

The acting is ok, but the editing is a bit off which is a shame becuase there are some wonderful thoughful scenes right from the director.

Axe is not a classic, but it is an oddity. Worth a check if you like your 70s movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa! Lisa!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
Catherine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Axe [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
I have recently watched this DVD and enjoyed it. I think it might have benefited from a bit more depth, but that would have resulted in a longer film and it may have lost its appeal then. The men who trespass into Lisa's life are more than mere bullies, they are violent men who have previously murdered and terrorised a stores assistant. What Lisa administers then is a bit of poetic justice. They get what they deserve, it sounds harsh, but this is the message that rings out to me watching the film. We only see a small example of what these men are capable of, and Lisa all alone looking after grandfather who is paralysed, has to defend herself. It is not as sadistic as some films out there, but has been branded a video nasty and was apparently banned in the UK although I remember seeing it in the cinema. So it has with stood the age of time, and its memory lingered with me after all these years. Yes it is gory enough for its time and disturbing, but I doubt it will give you nightmares. It is fairly typical of the era and it certainly left me with a lasting impression. A welcome addition to my collection, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Total snoozefest, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Axe [DVD] (DVD)
This could have been great, that is to say the basic premise is OK. But the problems are its a poorly made american drive in style movie. Maybe i was spoiled as last night i watched 'Poor Pretty Eddie' which is a far better drive in flick.
The lack of dramatics and charisma from any of the actors makes it a dull watch, especially the first 30 minutes. Also The 'baddies' attitudes don't really make any sense, they are middle aged men but act like juveniles. And none of them really look like crooks. The gore effects are pretty much non-existent and overall it lacks much in the way of drama or action. Its really dull and the only bit that made me laugh was the part with the soup at the end. Don't know why others are rating this higher there are much better films of this type out there. For some reason I was reminded of 'Last House on the Beach'. At least the Italians have flair for cinematics and a good soundtrack, which this film sorely lacks. And it could have been so much more FUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real oddity, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Axe [DVD] (DVD)
Three hitmen(?) after killing a man in his house, and terrorizing a girl at a grocery store, decide to look for a place to hide out. The trio comprises of psychotic Steele, violent Lomax and naiive Billy. They pick a house inhabited by fragile Lisa, who is teetering on the edge of a nervous breakdown, and also looks after her parylised Grandfather, feeding him raw eggs in between spells of violent hallucinations. They make a big mistake invading this fragile world, as soon Lisa's disturbing visions become a reality
A real curio, this film is impossible to criticize, as it just rolls on relentlessly, giving no explanations for the main protagonists motivations or actions, instead it offers up a disturbing little horror, that although not overly gory, does offer up a couple of memorable and disturbing scenes. The acting is pretty bad, apart from Leslie Lee who conveys adeptly the extreme vulnerability of Lisa.
Being of such a low budget, the film has poor picture quality, coming across as someones twisted home video, and the sound quality is equally poor. However, it does manage to get under the skin, and for a film with no plot to speak of, or sparkling dialogue, it did engage his viewer at least for its full duration.
Impossible to dislike, and well worth an hour of your time. 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UTTER RUBBISH!!!, 14 April 2012
By 
N. P. Hanmore "Nigey" (Chichester,W.Sx.,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Axe [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
I bought this having read other reviews and whilst this strategy has served me well in the past it most certainly didn't on this occasion; this film is a complete & utter piece of crap!! I urge anyone thinking about maybe getting it 'cos,you know,it can't be that bad,well don't,it really is that bad.It's a 70s film with really poor "acting",a tedious storyline,poor script,rubbish characters & poor quality filming!! What else is there to say about it? Oh yeh.......IT'S RUBBISH...AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Axe [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Axe [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by J.G. Patterson Jr. (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: 20.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews