Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. Confucius
In a complicated world, we can all learn a few things from Forrest Gump! I feel privileged to have watched this film and it made me realise where I have been going wrong in life! There comes a time in a man's life when he needs to take stock of what he has achieved, loved, lost and really focused on what is important in life.

The story of Forrest really puts...
Published 3 months ago by Darcy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not satisfied with bluray
not satisfied with bluray quality. Sound is poor, not "bluray stunning", neither the picture is "stunning". Standard dvd quality. This movie is one of my favorites of all time, unfortunately bluray really disappointed...
Published 8 months ago by Haji M


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. Confucius, 25 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
In a complicated world, we can all learn a few things from Forrest Gump! I feel privileged to have watched this film and it made me realise where I have been going wrong in life! There comes a time in a man's life when he needs to take stock of what he has achieved, loved, lost and really focused on what is important in life.

The story of Forrest really puts life into perspective and in this overly, noisy complicated world; we can all take a leaf out of this amazing film. Hanks, who superbly plays Gump, leaves amazing clues on how to be successful in life, even for those of us who are fortunate enough to have an IQ above 75 - Learn to love everyone unconditionally, focus on what you are good at and focus on one aspect of success at a time, i.e. if you are good at running, give all your energy to running and becoming the best in that particular field.

Don't be a dork like me and neglect this film like I have for several years... no matter how down you are at this moment or even if life is treating you well, I believe that Gump will make you see life from a different angle all together. Peace, love and happiness for 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reveiw, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i have seen this film lots of times and keept saying to my daughter you must see it so i finally bought it loved watching it again with my daughter who also loves its
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film!!!!!, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I really liked the storyline. Tom Hanks plays a great part. Really enjoyed the film. Good ending. Recommend it to watch!!!!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all love it, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Wonderful film a classic .... Teaches us a lot about humanity and makes one feel quite humble ... Tom Hanks amazing as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming is as heartwarming does, 22 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Forrest Gump sits on a bench, waiting for a bus. While he waits he begins to tell his life story to a woman sitting next to him. Forrest tells her of his childhood in Alabama, an outsider due to his IQ of 75 and crippled legs. He also tells of his first friend and later the love of his life Jenny. In Forrest’s odd life he becomes a college football star, a Vietnam veteran, a ping pong champion, and a millionaire shrimp boat captain – excelling at them all because of his single mindedness and his devotion to anyone who treats him with a modicum of kindness.

For all it’s a drama, Forrest Gump is a modern fairytale. Once Forrest learns to run he barely stops and he carries the viewer along with him for the two hours we’re watching. The story is told not through the lens of history but through the viewpoint of a man with a low IQ who is probably on the autistic spectrum and that lends events a fantastical sheen. Using what were groundbreaking digital effects at the time, director Robert Zemeckis inserts Forrest into footage of three different US presidents as well as newsreel footage of the first black students being admitted to the University of Alabama and other events. All through this Jenny is the x-factor in his life, whether she’s a physical presence or just the unattainable dream Forrest keeps reaching for.

Tom Hanks plays Forrest almost canine in his simple affection for friends, as well as immediate and often violent responses when those friends are threatened. It would be easy for an actor to over-simplify such a character but Hanks finds the man in there as well and Forrest’s wounds are as apparent as his unflappable decency. Able support is provided by Sally Field as his mother (who’s simple homely wisdom has become a series of mantras Forrest uses to navigate life and its moral minefields) and Gary Sinise as his wartime CO Lieutenant Dan. As Jenny, Robin Wright never seems to find her footing and doesn’t manage to do justice to the film’s most tortured soul. Wright can be very good so it may just be that this part wasn’t right for her but I can’t help feeling that a different actress taking on Jenny might have found herself joining Hanks on the Oscar podium.

Forrest Gump is a somewhat divisive film, not without its detractors despite being the recipient of a number of high profile accolades. Its not surprising really given that the film’s narrative is somewhat unconventional while many have also suggested that the script harbours a reactionary and right-wing agenda. Its certainly possible to see where that perspective comes from, Forrest does what he’s told and achieves great things. Those who rail against the government suffer. Personally I think it’s a shame that people focus too much on that, it doesn’t really become apparent unless you look for it. Leave that aside and we have a very endearing story with a likeable protagonist, clever effects, an absolute belter of a soundtrack, and a great performance from its lead actor. Having watched it in the cinema at its release and then seeing it again now almost 20 years later I remember why I had enjoyed it so much at the time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Brought as a gift for my Mum! We watched it together at the cinema when I was a kid. We loved it then and we love it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forrest Gump, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
always wanted this on DVD and this was an excellent price. This is a great film, even if Tom Hanks is in it. My husband loves to recite the Buba Gump shrimp recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life is like a box of chocolates, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't you just love this film. You can watch it over and over again. Soooo glad I bought it. Pucker!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forrest Gump (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely film - makes me cry every time ! Tom Hanks's character is both annoying and loveable but so cleverly played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
People I know hate it, another love it (like me). But you must see it to make your opinion, isn't? Good image and better sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa74ba33c)

This product

Forrest Gump (2 Disc Special Collector's Edition) [1994] [DVD]
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews