Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 March 2006
Los Angeles Rams quarterback Joe Pendleton (Warren Beatty) is about to meet his demise in an accident. A heavenly escort (Buck Henry) plucks him from his body just be for he is dispatched. At the way station he refused to board for his finals destination, complaining the mistake was made. Sure enough Mr. Jordan (James Mason) finds out that the over zealous escort did not wait for the outcome which would not be fatal.
Now they must find him a new body because his old one had been cremated. Not finding an ideal match. He settles for a temporary, Leo Farnsworth; he is ambivalent at first until he meets a girl Betty Logan (Julie Christie) he wants to help. He also want's to get this body in shape for the Superbowl. The fun begins when he has to learn to be Farnsworth, his wife (Dyan Cannon,) and male secretary (Charles Grodin) “lovers” what to kill him.
Will they kill him?
Or will he make the Superbowl?
And what becomes of Betty?
This is based, and I must say much improved on a movie called “Here comes Mr. Jordon” from a play by Harry Segall. Jack Warden plays Joe’s friend Max Corkle that ties all the Joe incarnations together.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2004
An enjoyable, whimsical tale of a football player incorrectly sent to heaven ahead of schedule and returns to earth in a business tycoon's body. Although made in 1978, the film has hardly aged and remains very funny. Warren Beatty is highly engaging and is supported by a strong cast. A film for all the family and the bittersweet, love-affirming ending will keep the romantics happy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2005
This is a heart warming and wonderful film.
I honestly don't like Warren Beatty or Julie Christie as actors, but this tears me up. The supporting characters are some of the best written and funniest perfrmances of all time. Charles Grodin is brilliant and he and Dianne Cannon steal every scene they get.
James Mason is dignified and kind, and his bungling assistant's outrage at the hero's ingratitude for all their hard work finding him a body - to replace the one that the trainee angel accidentally had cremated early - is a sight to see.
But it is the unexpected depth of character that Warren Beatty produces, that he has never equalled again, that pulls it all together. His whispered explanation to his old coach to convince him of who his soul is, even if the body looks different and his helpless attempt to explain to Julie Christie that she should give someone else a chance if anything should happen to him reduce me to tears every time I see it.
Then there's the wonderful cadre of butlers, when the hero is in a cupbaord talking to an angel:
"Why are you taking him two cups of cocoa?"
"Well, I thought as he is pretending to talk to someone - he might like to pretend to give them cocoa too..."
It is all a film should be.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
This is one of those wonderful fantasy movies that you will want to watch over and over again. Based on the classic 'Here Comes Mr Jordan,' it tells the story of a footballer, Joe Pendleton, (Warren Beatty) who, having been involved in a car accident, is taken out of his body prematurely by an over-eager heavenly 'escort'. To add to his woes, once the mistake has been discovered, it transpires that Joe's earthly body has been cremated, so another body has to be found for him. The hunt is on, and he agrees to occupy the body of a super-rich and very unethical industrialist who has just been murdered by his wife and private secretary. Joe agrees to the arrangement temporarily, so that he can help a damsel in distress - an English schoolteacher, (Julie Christie,) whose rural community is threatened by the business dealings of the industrialist. Trouble is, Joe ends up falling in love with the school teacher and tries to have the arrangement made permanent. Easier said than done since the Heavenly Beings have other plans. Warmly humorous, this is a movie that has the viewer suspending all disbelief in the premise. It has aged extremely well too; made in 1978, it hasn't dated like so many older movies seem to do. The cast is a joy to watch. Warren Beatty and Julie Christie (who were a real-life item at the time) have great chemistry, and they are ably supported by James Mason, Jack Warden, Dyan Canon and Charles Grodin. See it!! It's one of the best ways of spending a couple of happy hours!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I saw this video (showing my age) in the 70s and it stuck with me all these years. |I tried many times over the years to get it but to no avail until I chanced putting the title into amazon and hey presto ...they had it on DVD.
I will treasure my copy for the rest of my life.
I am looking for another title but cannot find it..it is called treasure hunt and Roddy mc dowell is in it among others..if anyone can help please do
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Should have told me that it doesn't play on an English D.V.D player they said it was written on the profile but I've looked since can't find it . They offered to send it back but I've got to pay for the return it will cost me that to send it back a waste of a tenner !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
This is nowhere near the quality of 'Here Comes Mr. Jordan'. Although I'm not a fan of Robert Montgomery, he was far superior in his role as Joe Pendleton compared with Warren Beatty. Even Julie Christie is miscast. She has no soul in her performance, and both her hairstyle and costumes look so old fashioned. Only Dyan Cannon looks like she fits the bill.

I can see why Cary Grant turned down the role of Mr. Jordan. It may be because he didn't want to work with his ex-wife, Dyan, but also because he could see that the production values would be poor and that the role of Mr. Jordan is soulless. Even James Mason looks as though he's just turned up and said his lines.

Stay away from this film and watch 'Here Comes Mr. Jordan' instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
This is one of my all time favourite films. Warren Beatty is fantastic as Joe Pendleton, the football player taken to heaven before his time.
James Mason gives the film some gravitas and Julie Christie provides some classy glamour. It's a genuine feel-good family movie; I pride myself on being a fairly masculine sort of guy, but I cry like a baby every time I watch it.
If you've never seen this marvelous film, then you have missed out on a truly wonderful experience. I whole heartedly recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Received in Excellent condition and just what was required to keep the grown ups entertained an excellent film with good entertainment all around
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Heaven Can Wait is a amusing romantic comedy. It is still enjoyable after many viewings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)