Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!
Hi,
In the game you get a plot of land, that you choose (There are loads to choose from) and on it you build a zoo, surprisingly enough, you build exhibits and care for animals whilst managing staff and making sure visitors are happy and you have to watch your bank balance at the same time.
Occasionaly letting the animals free and torturing a few people is fun...
Published on 2 April 2002 by Emma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ZOO TYCOON
When i first bought the game of Zoo Tycoon it was great. Over time though, i must admit it start to get a tiny bit boring, but that doesn't mean to say you'll feel the same. Theres plenty of animals to be bought and plenty of options to build them inclosures. Theres plenty of human complexes like Cafe`s etc. The game is great fun running and is really challenging at...
Published on 21 April 2004 by Sean Webber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 2 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Hi,
In the game you get a plot of land, that you choose (There are loads to choose from) and on it you build a zoo, surprisingly enough, you build exhibits and care for animals whilst managing staff and making sure visitors are happy and you have to watch your bank balance at the same time.
Occasionaly letting the animals free and torturing a few people is fun too, but if you look after the zoo once you've spent money on the exhbits the money will come rolling back in.
The graphics are good,
but can take a while to load properly, depending on what system you have.
The game is really good but when you've got all the species it can become a bit limited.
Watching the animals grow and breed is good, and helping sick animals is also kinda nice.
The game is great fun and can become quite hard so I suggest you use the tutorial it really helps!
If you get bored with this game take a breather and leave it for a week or so, then you'll enjoy it much more the next time you visit it.
Zoo tycoon is a really good game, I would seriously reccomend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Tycoon, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Great for kids and adults. Graphics fantastic although a closer zoom would be of benefit. Good one for teaching kids about budgeting and economics. Good choice of features although I think it would be better if it included more help on how to keep the animals happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like zoos you will like this game, 22 Mar 2002
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Gameplay:- The gameplay is excellent.
I have never seen a game as good as this one.
I only got it on Monday 13 the December 2001 and I have completed the basic game goals already. I now have a laptop computer which I play the game on also. I have read the strategy guide for the game and in chapter 3 it gives exclusive details on all the animals that are in zoo tycoon including 2 mystery beasts that come along later on in the game. Some of the animals are easy to care for such as the zebra, black rhinoceros, Thomson's gazelle, common wildebeest, lion & the flamingo and some of the animals are very difficult to care for such as the clouded leopard, gray wolf, mystery beast 2, California sea lion, jaguar, black leopard, mandrill, cheetah, hippopotamus, olive baboon & the African elephant. In freeform games you have to research some of the endangered animals and the shelters that they need such as for the Polar bear you have to research the snowy rock cake before you can adopt a polar bear and for the cats you need a rock cave and for the panda you need a special shelter called the panda cave otherwise they will NOT produce any baby pandas without this shelter.
Story-: I have to build a zoo which entertains visitors so I have to use suitable exhibits for the animals and give the visitors something to do such as visiting a reptile house or having a ride on a elephant ride.
Audio/Video-: The sounds and graphics on this game are fantastic.
Replay ability-: This game needs to be saved every so often so you will not lose your animals or visitors who are in the zoo but you can be on it for several hours.
To Buy or to Rent-: I recommend buying this game because it is brill. I don't recommend renting this game because the game is just too good to resist. So anybody who hasn't got this game yet please go out and buy it as the game is BRILL !!! If you haven't been to a zoo before I would recommend that you rent the game then visit a zoo then decide if you want it or not.
Conclusion.
Zoo Tycoon is brill!!! I am really glad I purchased this game and also now I have the exclusive strategy guide for the game and it is helping me a lot. If you have got the game I recommend you get the exclusive strategy guide for the game and I also recommend that you do not insist purchasing a Giant Panda because they require a lot of dedicated care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Tycoon, 27 April 2004
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Zoo Tycoon is an excellent game for animal lovers! You have a choice of 20or so zoo's scaled from small to large. There are three levels decided onhow much money you start of with. The maximum is $500,000 and the Minimumis $10. there are thousands of animals to choose from, Elephants to PolaBears, Kangaroo's to Camels. You must have Zoo keepers to look after theanimals for when they get ill and to feed them. Each animal has a scaleofhow much they like the exibit, Hunger, healthyness etc...
Aswell as looking after the animals you have to look after your guests byfeeding them, gift shops, seats and so on.
Overall this is a great game witch i recomend for 6-14 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Roller Coasters!, 13 Aug 2002
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Where do I start? This game is fantastic! It's as addictive as Roller Coaster Tycoon, but the gameplay is a lot smoother, and you can construct while the game is paused. You are given fully explained tutorials when you first install the game, the first of which I think you have to sit through, but the second & third you can choose to skip: although I'd advise you to give them a whirl. Unlike Coasters, you can only play the game in dollars (as far as I can see), and you can't right-click to remove things, which does make it a bit cumbersome, but I think these are the only flaws. Young kids can play it too - they just get a little sentimental when the animals start producing more animals!
On the whole, this game is great - if you liked Roller Coaster tycoon, you should love it. If you don't know RCT, get this anyway! Definitely worth it - just don't expect to be able to stop and eat or sleep or anything odd like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ZOO TYCOON, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
When i first bought the game of Zoo Tycoon it was great. Over time though, i must admit it start to get a tiny bit boring, but that doesn't mean to say you'll feel the same. Theres plenty of animals to be bought and plenty of options to build them inclosures. Theres plenty of human complexes like Cafe`s etc. The game is great fun running and is really challenging at times. But, and this is quite a big but, it only takes around about and hour to set up the game, (when i say the game, i mean the park which you made) and after that, ok fine theres a bit of room for exspansion, but theres not really all that much that can happen and it starts to become ever so slightly boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT OF FUN, 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
The game can be slightly annoying when getting the habitat just right for your animal, but it still is a very good game. If you dont want to do the missions then just do the free style games which are great you can do whatever you want and have as many animals as you want. But the missions are hard you have a time to do it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Very user friendly, 6 Nov 2001
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
This is a very luring game because i somehow managed to order it from amazon 1 and 1/2 months in advance, i highly reccomend it because there is excelent gameplay and it is as addictive as any of those other games on the market eg. roller coaster tycoon, the sims, and simcity3000. it may not work very fast on slower pc's though, so i highly reccomend checking out the system requirements in advance. you have a full range of animals and loads of animal toys and shelters. you may think there doesnt look like enough animals but there are enough to keep you going for ages! The interface is very user friendly and it makes a change from all the theme park games around. so i end up by saying i highly reccomend it and it is a must have any simulation-game fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for animal lovers!, 28 Dec 2001
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
I have been playing Zoo Tycoon for a week now and have found it to be a very engrossing game. There is plenty to do in keeping visitors and animals happy and an excellent choice in different types of foliage, paths, animals, attractions etc. to choose from. However, the game was not without its irritating flaws. It can become tedious after a while to watch animals and zookeepers walking on the spot, and on one occasion my zookeepers seemed to stop moving altogether, which forced me to start the game afresh! Having said that, if it's an entertaining, easy-to-use game you want to fill a few hours, and you're not allergic to animals, then Zoo Tycoon is the game for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The kids liked it!, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Michael Lyons (Dublin14, Leinster Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Zoo Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Yes the kids did like it, but I am always a bit put off at the thoughts of
how the kids feel when the animals are unwell or unhappy and the pressure they
feel to do something about it.

But you know what, kids are better equipped than you think.
How to plan, animal welfare and other skills are developed
with this game.

YES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zoo Tycoon (PC)
Zoo Tycoon (PC) by Microsoft (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews