Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars72
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2001
I have to say that a love this album. Some of the tracks are excellent and having them on the same CD is wonderful. I would agree with some of the other comments that there are a couple of songs that just don't live up to the standard and title of "Classic Chillout" tunes but overall the effect is wonderful. What else in the fast forward of programme control on CD players for? And I use these features of my CD player a lot less then I do for other versions of Chillout albums I have listened to recently.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2001
I don't know who is responsible for compiling this album, but whoever it is needs to seriously consider their vocation. Tracks 1 & 2 get you into a relaxed state, only for you to be rudely awakened by 'Missing' (Everything But The Girl) - it's a great track, but completely out of place and too upbeat for this kind of album. And so it begins... you're chilling out to a mellow track and then get slapped across the face by something that makes you want to go out clubbing. I agree with the other reviewers' sentiments: that this CD has a load of great tracks on it, but they're completely mismatched. I give it two stars because the different musical styles meet my tastes, but they could have got rid of half the tracks and made it a single CD chillout album.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
I got my copy today and it really does deliver. The first side is more orchestral and cinematic, whilst the second side has some newer artists I didn't know so well, but who really fit the bill.
It's the sort of album that would work really well as a dinner party soundtrack. Not too heavy, but beautiful melodies and songs from Eva Cassidy, Escala, George Michael and so on. It's not as 'background' as you might think, and I will definitely look at getting some more music from some of these artists.
Well worth a listen.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
The advert makes the album sound very good,and in some ways it is. It does contain some really good tracks,but the mixture is all wrong. Just as you are getting into a chilled out atmosphere, a completely different track comes on. It ruins the atmosphere it has just created. There are some pieces of classical music on here too,which probably explains the use of the word classic in the title. Some of these tracks just do not belong on such an album. If you are looking for some nice background music, then this is just fine. But if you are looking for a real chill out album, you will be disappointed. You still cannot beat the Cafe Del Mar albums for the ultimate in chill out albums. Or if you are looking for a more mainstream chart chillout album, then Chilled Ibiza is a good alternative. It is a cracking chill out double album, much better than this one. There is a volume 2 of Chilled Ibiza due out soon.But I will say again Cafe Del Mar is THE chillout experience. Try it and see.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
Ignore all the muppets who tear this compilation to pieces. Just because all those adverts and holiday shows cant come up with their own original background music, it doesn't mean the songs are terriable. If you like all those songs that aren't on this cd, then go buy a cd with them on instead!
The oldest song is from 1976 (a little more than 5 years ago) and the compilation includes songs up until recently. Just because its entitled "The Classic Chillout Album", that does not mean it is a classical CD. It just contains classic (not classical) peices of music from a modern chillout genre.
Its only got 4 stars because of the way the songs of different tempos and dynamics appear to be all muddled up, but its not that terriable. Quite interesting really. Better than most compilation CD's which start off slow and finnish with fast dance music.
I also wish the full original of Chicane's Saltwater (9minutes) was included, instead of just fading out the song half way through, and Barber's Adagio For Strings might as well have been Barbers original, as William Orbits version on this cd isn't much different.
You should buy this if you like relaxing modern music.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
There are some really good tracks on this album, but as others have said, not in a well though out order. That's where this album really falls down - production quality. Tracks often do not blend well into each other and the change can be very abrupt at times. The sound quality of some tracks suggests that they were recorded directly off a vinlyn record player with a static problem.... or were they recorded off the radio?
20-25 years ago teenagers in thier bedrooms recording to old magnetic cassette tapes were capable of as good and may be better production quality than this.
Not good enough at even half the curret £12.99 price.
It does not do the original artists work justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
I agree with the other comments that the layout of tracks leaves a lot to be desired. But the second CD is much better. The first jumps around like a 'bucking broncho'. Perhaps a few of the tracks should have been left off, X-Files for example. Also the fourth track on the first CD gets cut VERY BADLY. Generally not bad... Did consider getting a refund though.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2001
In this season of chillout albums, i'm afraid this one doesn't stand out as being one of the highlights. Whilst it has its up points, it then defiantly has its down points.
The order of tracks is confusing, the music puts you into one mood, with an ambient track and then the next track will be a hard hitting track, totally destroying the mood. So lads, don't put this one on when you've just got back from the club complete with girl, not the best one to relax to!
The collection has some outstanding tracks, but unfortunately it just doesn't gel as a compilation. However, if you are just looking for the tracks, you can't get much better then these. The album has a powerful group of artists such as Chicane, Groove Armada, Moby and the mighty Enigma.
Although not a totally terrible album, my advice would be to get 'Chilled Ibiza' which has the awesome Massive Attack.
I'm afraid the advert is writing cheques this compilation can't cash, not even when your half drunk.
Jonathan.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
I don't understand all the negative reviews! I bought this album about 8 years ago, being about 14 at the time and absolutely loved it. I love how all the tunes seamlessly integrate into each other, it just creates such a natural and beautiful flow to the album. I used to listen to this album (and the other two) every Sunday afternoon, it was just the perfect chilling out compilation. All the music is beautiful!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Slightly discordant for a 'chillout' album, some tunes stop suddenly; others start almost as if they've been startled into action LOL; they certainly don't 'flow' into each other...

Can't fathom how this wasn't sorted before mastering, kinda spoils a nice selection of mellow tunage...

Good price tho (in my case £3.88) for a double album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.