Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes to chillout to
I have to say that a love this album. Some of the tracks are excellent and having them on the same CD is wonderful. I would agree with some of the other comments that there are a couple of songs that just don't live up to the standard and title of "Classic Chillout" tunes but overall the effect is wonderful. What else in the fast forward of programme control on...
Published on 6 Sep 2001

versus
38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This 'chillout' album left me feeling frosty!
I don't know who is responsible for compiling this album, but whoever it is needs to seriously consider their vocation. Tracks 1 & 2 get you into a relaxed state, only for you to be rudely awakened by 'Missing' (Everything But The Girl) - it's a great track, but completely out of place and too upbeat for this kind of album. And so it begins... you're chilling out to a...
Published on 30 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes to chillout to, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
I have to say that a love this album. Some of the tracks are excellent and having them on the same CD is wonderful. I would agree with some of the other comments that there are a couple of songs that just don't live up to the standard and title of "Classic Chillout" tunes but overall the effect is wonderful. What else in the fast forward of programme control on CD players for? And I use these features of my CD player a lot less then I do for other versions of Chillout albums I have listened to recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This 'chillout' album left me feeling frosty!, 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
I don't know who is responsible for compiling this album, but whoever it is needs to seriously consider their vocation. Tracks 1 & 2 get you into a relaxed state, only for you to be rudely awakened by 'Missing' (Everything But The Girl) - it's a great track, but completely out of place and too upbeat for this kind of album. And so it begins... you're chilling out to a mellow track and then get slapped across the face by something that makes you want to go out clubbing. I agree with the other reviewers' sentiments: that this CD has a load of great tracks on it, but they're completely mismatched. I give it two stars because the different musical styles meet my tastes, but they could have got rid of half the tracks and made it a single CD chillout album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfectly chilled!, 5 Oct 2009
I got my copy today and it really does deliver. The first side is more orchestral and cinematic, whilst the second side has some newer artists I didn't know so well, but who really fit the bill.
It's the sort of album that would work really well as a dinner party soundtrack. Not too heavy, but beautiful melodies and songs from Eva Cassidy, Escala, George Michael and so on. It's not as 'background' as you might think, and I will definitely look at getting some more music from some of these artists.
Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars chilled out YES...but classic NO., 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
The advert makes the album sound very good,and in some ways it is. It does contain some really good tracks,but the mixture is all wrong. Just as you are getting into a chilled out atmosphere, a completely different track comes on. It ruins the atmosphere it has just created. There are some pieces of classical music on here too,which probably explains the use of the word classic in the title. Some of these tracks just do not belong on such an album. If you are looking for some nice background music, then this is just fine. But if you are looking for a real chill out album, you will be disappointed. You still cannot beat the Cafe Del Mar albums for the ultimate in chill out albums. Or if you are looking for a more mainstream chart chillout album, then Chilled Ibiza is a good alternative. It is a cracking chill out double album, much better than this one. There is a volume 2 of Chilled Ibiza due out soon.But I will say again Cafe Del Mar is THE chillout experience. Try it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its not THAT bad!, 12 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
Ignore all the muppets who tear this compilation to pieces. Just because all those adverts and holiday shows cant come up with their own original background music, it doesn't mean the songs are terriable. If you like all those songs that aren't on this cd, then go buy a cd with them on instead!
The oldest song is from 1976 (a little more than 5 years ago) and the compilation includes songs up until recently. Just because its entitled "The Classic Chillout Album", that does not mean it is a classical CD. It just contains classic (not classical) peices of music from a modern chillout genre.
Its only got 4 stars because of the way the songs of different tempos and dynamics appear to be all muddled up, but its not that terriable. Quite interesting really. Better than most compilation CD's which start off slow and finnish with fast dance music.
I also wish the full original of Chicane's Saltwater (9minutes) was included, instead of just fading out the song half way through, and Barber's Adagio For Strings might as well have been Barbers original, as William Orbits version on this cd isn't much different.
You should buy this if you like relaxing modern music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Like "Classic Pull Your Hair Out", 28 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
Do not buy this album! Why? Well for a start, you've probably got all the tracks already. The mix is completely wrong, in fact there is no mix to speak of. Numerous tracks are the backing to ads you see endlessly on TV, I mean Cheltenham and Gloucester - please! If this album is a classic, it's more a classic case of a major corporate trying to cash in on the chillout scene. Go buy Cafe Del Mar or Hed Kandi but not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The second CD is better, 20 Sep 2001
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
I agree with the other comments that the layout of tracks leaves a lot to be desired. But the second CD is much better. The first jumps around like a 'bucking broncho'. Perhaps a few of the tracks should have been left off, X-Files for example. Also the fourth track on the first CD gets cut VERY BADLY. Generally not bad... Did consider getting a refund though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shakey at best, 25 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Chillout Album (Audio CD)
In this season of chillout albums, i'm afraid this one doesn't stand out as being one of the highlights. Whilst it has its up points, it then defiantly has its down points.
The order of tracks is confusing, the music puts you into one mood, with an ambient track and then the next track will be a hard hitting track, totally destroying the mood. So lads, don't put this one on when you've just got back from the club complete with girl, not the best one to relax to!
The collection has some outstanding tracks, but unfortunately it just doesn't gel as a compilation. However, if you are just looking for the tracks, you can't get much better then these. The album has a powerful group of artists such as Chicane, Groove Armada, Moby and the mighty Enigma.
Although not a totally terrible album, my advice would be to get 'Chilled Ibiza' which has the awesome Massive Attack.
I'm afraid the advert is writing cheques this compilation can't cash, not even when your half drunk.
Jonathan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect music to relax with, 8 Dec 2009
By 
J. L. Evans "Silver surfer" (Midlands GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Classic chill out album. Perfect for being to relax by. I would recommend this album for people that what to keep away from noisy music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic Chillout Album
The Classic Chillout Album by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews