Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous album!, 15 May 2004
By 
Christopher Grillo "metalhead" (Malta, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
Wow! what can i say? Just go into a record shop, ask them to try track 10('Eagle')... and i can guarantee you will lose your marbles, go home with the cd, pop it in the player, and seal the cd drawer with Super-Glue... THIS IS A MUST-HAVE ALBUM!
What a metal-feast we have here..Kai Hansen's voice just improves with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamma Ray - No World Order, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
2001's No World Order was the legendary German Power Metal band Gamma Ray's seventh full-length studio album. After two Sci-Fi themed concept albums, the band returned to the set-of-songs formula, with fantasy lyrics and themes covered like on their earlier records.

The music is explosive and bombastic on a grand scale, and in combination with the production, it jumps out of the speakers perhaps the most of any Gamma Ray album. It's a really great example of both the band and the genre. They lean a little more heavily on the thrash component of their sound this time around, while still retaining their Queen influence, progressive attitudes and neo-classical components in smaller doses, so its one of the most aggressive and hard hitting records the band have put out.

A lot of fans hail this record as one of the band's best, and its certainly a damn fine record, a great example of melodic, thrashy Power Metal. If you like virtuosic guitar work, lots of harmonies, big choral backing vocals, shrieking high pitched Heavy Metal vocals and pounding double-kick filled drumming then it's a great example.

Standout tracks include `Solid,' `Dethrone Tyranny' and `Heart Of The Unicorn.' They have a sense of urgency and are a mixture of impressive serious Metal and great cheesy fun.

Admittedly, some fans criticize the band for running out of ideas and recycling old Gamma Ray and Helloween riffs and vocal patterns, as well as taking suspiciously direct Judas Priest influences (specifically `Painkiller' and `Metal Meltdown') and suggest that the album is the start of a period of decline.

Personally, in this instance I don't mind the repetition of old material too much at all, since it is done so well. They may take familiar sounds, but they rework them, and they're only one part of a song that's great on its own anyway.

Overall; The guitar solos are brilliant, the choruses are memorable and the riffs and drumming are driving, heavy and energetic. This is a really entertaining record and as long as you haven't overdosed on its formula before hand, should still be of a high enough quality to excuse that one issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waaaaghhhhh meetaaalllll, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
This is metal with its heart riven in rivits, its heart tattood with the name Rob Halford. Rifferamma abounds as bouncy metal anthem follow one after the other. This is metal at its essence fast demented solos catchy solos guaranteed to piss off the cool kids and adult with serious pretentions. It's Avatar for the ears - 3D metal of the highest order with Priest its its DNA but a Germanic determination to pound a tune into your brain. God can I take another solo that rips the roof off (course I can .... but I do need another stein of beer to make sure I can cope.) The word MEGA does not do justice to this monster of an album.

I commend this album to the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kai Hansen is GOD!!!, 25 Sep 2001
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
Gamma Ray product yet another great album. If there was any justuce in this world, Gamma Ray would be having worldwide number ones and Limp Bizkit wouldn't have a record deal.
There are no real surprises on this album, it's more of the same top quality POWER METAL that Gamma Ray have been wowing lovers of real metal with for years. As usual the musicianship is top notch from all the band members and the songwriting is first class as always. Gamma Ray do all their own production and engineering and they do it extremely well! I have only two criticisms of this album:
1) There is no song about how great heavy metal is (I think every Power Metal album should have one)
2) There are no unusual cover versions, like the excellent rendition of "It's a sin" (Yes, the song by the Pet Shop Boys)on Powerplant.
This is certainly up there with the best albums released this year. If it wasn't for "Nuclear Fire" by Primal Fear then I would be saying that this was the best album of the year so far!
Kai Hansen should be knighted (or something) for his contributions to Heavy Metal. He was in Helloween and Iron Savior (I heard he left recently because it was very difficult being in two major power metal bands at once) as well as being in Gamma Ray.
Gamma Ray Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Gooooooooood!, 19 Feb 2003
By 
D. Shirman (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
There's nothing much to say except a few things:
1) If you like 'Painkiller' by priest, then you'll like this. It has a lot of Priest influnces (admitted by Kai himself as a huge influence on his music). But half a minus star.
2) This album is less neo-classical than 'Land of the Free'
3) There's only one ballad-the final track. So good there.
4) Kai screams better than ever on this record. With the classic 'Alright!' at the beginning of 'Dethrone Tyranny' Which is cheesey but excellent.
5) lyrics such as 'on the edge of a rainbow' and 'ive seen the writings on the walls' are just toooooo cliche. half a minus star
Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamma Ray are back!, 26 Jan 2002
By 
Narciso Monteiro (Porto,Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
Indeed this is one of the best Gamma Ray records. There's a big evolution in Gamma Ray's music since Heading for Tomorrow and this record is the culmination of that evolution. The compositions are fabulous and Kai's voice and all the guitars and drums sound extremely well. There's no new age metal influences here, only true metal. I've been following Kai Hansen since Helloween, through Iron Savior and Gamma Ray and I must say that I haven't yet heard a record with him that sounds bad. All of his work is great, including guest appeareances like the one in Heavenly's (another great band) record "Coming from the Sky". Resuming, if you're into Power Metal, just follow Kai and his bands and they'll lead you to the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
Very good. One of the best german metal albums....and of course great appearance of Kai Hansen. I love it loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Alright!", 24 July 2014
By 
Liam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No World Order (Audio CD)
A definitive Power Metal album by the one and only Kai Hansen (ex Helloween). It's a classic and a must for fans of the Power Metal genre. Everything you look for in an album and more. You'll be singing along with Kai as soon as he kicks off with his signature, "Alright!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No World Order
No World Order by Gamma Ray (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews