Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F1 2001 - Correctly set up
I have recently purchased this game and suffered some of the problems talked about in previous reviews, but seriously no-one can give this game such a low rating. The problems of mirrors not working and frame rate issues are definitely annoying, but can be easily remedied by the use of the recommended drivers and resolutions.
I found it strange for instance that the...
Published on 20 Oct 2001 by Mr M J Edwards

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO TELEMETRY ! JESUS ! BAD FRAME RATES AGAIN !
Quote:
"F1 2001 is the most advanced and fully featured F1 simulation of the F1 2001 FIA Formula One world championship available for the PC"
Why then, has telemetry been left out? I would have thought in a 'simulation' it would be imperative to included this. How can you tweak the car without knowing what it is doing, minutely?
Even with a...
Published on 8 Oct 2001 by breenmj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F1 2001 - Correctly set up, 20 Oct 2001
By 
Mr M J Edwards (Winslow, Buckingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I have recently purchased this game and suffered some of the problems talked about in previous reviews, but seriously no-one can give this game such a low rating. The problems of mirrors not working and frame rate issues are definitely annoying, but can be easily remedied by the use of the recommended drivers and resolutions.
I found it strange for instance that the latest nVidia drivers which will support the upcoming XP operating system were not supported by the game. Once I had loaded version 1241 of these drivers though everything worked fine.
The detail on the game is excellent, particularly when you combine it with a speed and fluidity of operation that I have never seen on an F1 simulation before. The physics of the cars and the AI are all significantly better in this version. Granted I have a GeForce 3 card, but I too found the frame issue until using the correct drivers.
Summarising then, spend a bit of time setting this game up properly and you will surely reap the rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO TELEMETRY ! JESUS ! BAD FRAME RATES AGAIN !, 8 Oct 2001
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Quote:
"F1 2001 is the most advanced and fully featured F1 simulation of the F1 2001 FIA Formula One world championship available for the PC"
Why then, has telemetry been left out? I would have thought in a 'simulation' it would be imperative to included this. How can you tweak the car without knowing what it is doing, minutely?
Even with a Geforce ddr 256 (numerous detonator drivers tried), 512 Mb of ram and an 800 PIII it still runs like a dog. I had F1 2000 which was as bad, if not worse (no, it was alot worse). This went he way of e-bay, after weeks of trying.
The blurb and previews seem to say this had been fixed.
Quote:
"Native support for DirectX 8 and the latest 3D accelerators mean more detail, faster frame rates and a better sensation of speed than in any other PC racing game."

It definitely has not been. I just cannot 'feel' the car as the frame rate is too low or too variable ( this at really low resolutions as well). And yes, the graphics acceleration is working!
On really low sensitivity on a Guillemot wheel the car will not keep a staight line, and no I am not a complete novice. I can win at all circuits on GP3 with max realism. I know a GP car is a handfull, but it does not meander like a drunk, over or under compensating all the time.
I am really disappointed with this con. May be it is playable on a 2GHz P4, with a Geforce 3, but I just won't pay that kind of silly money to find out.
Ps. Why don't the wing mirrors work either. Roll on GP4! I hope someone will prove me wrong and explain how to get this running, even reasonably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but graphics problems are unacceptable, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Although the graphics are excellent and smooth, the fact that the mirrors do not work, and the graphics are sometimes jumpy is not acceptable. On the EA website it says that the mirrors will not even work on a GeForce 3 if the resolution is full. I have GeForce 2 MX400, 512Mb and Athlon 1.4GHz, and i consider this a fast system, and the games physics model is the best available, and so are the graphics except for the previously mentioned glitches, which need to be sorted out, and i can't find any mention of drivers on EA's website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You can see the PS2 version got the development, 11 Oct 2001
By 
D. A. Watson (Basingstoke,Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I love PC F1 games, where GP3 still rules complete with the Season 2000 add on. I have what I would consider to be a fast machine; 1.2ghz Athlon, Geforce 3 card, 512mb RAM. When I bought this I had seen the PS2 version and had been really impressed with the level of detail. The drivers heads turning and helmets reflecting their immediate environment; the tear off strips, the cars becoming dirty etc. I was really looking forward to firing up the PC version and My God was I disappointed. It chugged on my machine, the detail was not nearly as good as the PS2, the mirrors didn't work. Basically it was rubbish. Buy a copy of Grand Prix Legends and feel true motorsport fire instead of this poor shadow. Alternatively get the PS2 version which, just for once, kills the PC version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently received, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Very fast delivery. Added bonus of F1 manager. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F1 2001 rules!, 29 Sep 2001
This review is from: EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Battle for position at every sweeping bend, high-speed straight away, and hairpin turn within the world's most glamorous sporting arena. From Monaco to Monza, take on the most intelligent and daring racers to hit the formula one circuit. The circuit comes to life with fully interactive pit stops, roaring crowds, a buzzing grid, driver animations, and a full spectrum of driving conditions, including torrential downpours and other mid-race weather changes. Add the official 2001 FIA Formula One World Championship license and F1 2001 is poised to reach new milestones in motor sports gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD)
EA Sports: F1 2001 (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: £0.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews