Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This, Buy This!, 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
While the concept of a trio with one female vocalist isn't new (Lucy Pearl springs to mind) the subject matters in this album are dripping in fresh youthful honesty, and the tunes behind the lyrics are straight outta the streets in summertime. Are they singing from experience? It sounds like it.
This is a must have for all R&B fans, and truly a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of a kind!, 8 July 2003
By 
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
The moment I heard the first song: 'What Would You Do?', I loved it. It seemed like something pretty different to any other group I have ever heard before and I wanted to hear more and more. The lyrics were much more significant than the ordinary (Steps) song and seemed to be a lot more like a real life situation. I bought the single, and liked the remixes and video that accompanied it.
Along with the video was a sample of three songs from their album ('Why', 'Song For You', 'Caramel', and 'You Don't Know Me'). I really liked the songs, and as soon as the debut album 'City High' was out, I bought it. I listened to it over and over, but I never got sick of it...I still love it!
Although this is only their first album and I have no idea whether they will be a long lasting band, or one of those that just come and go, I still love listening to their music. Each and every song has a different style, mood and feel to it...they are all different. No matter how many times I listen to the album, it never, ever gets tiresome.
City High truly have undeniable talent. They are poised to become a formidable force in contemporary Hip-Hop/R&B music, and reach world success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wicked album, 29 April 2002
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
this is probably the best album i have got along with ja rule of course! if u like r'n'b u will love this! i dnt think i have met a person who doesnt like this album so its a great thing to buy. my favourites are city high anthem, the only one i trust, sista and do the right thing. there is a gr8 mix of songs and i think everyone who likes this kind of music will love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're gunna be around for some time!!, 11 Nov 2001
By 
annie_mcmonagle@hotmail.com (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
After hearing the now already classic hit 'what would u do' i just had to buy this album and i definately wasn't dissapointed. For anyone out there that is thinging of purchasing this then do!
Didn't ya- a gr8 way to start of the album. I think its very Wyclef.
3way- This isn't one of my fav's to be honest but still good anyway!
Why- A beautiful ballad that shows off the groups voices well.
Song 4 u - again not one of my favs.
15 will get you 20 - great song. I love the intro!
Cats and dogs - Amazing!!! one of my fav's. It has an infectious beat that is so catchy u'll never stop humming it!
Caramel - great! i love the verses but the chorus isn't all that.
Best-friends - the format on this song is brilliant. Very good.
Sista - again brilliant!
What would u do - well wot can i say???!!
So many things - great. lovey song!
Only one i trust -claudette is brillinat in this song. i love the story behind it all.
City High Anthem - lovely, unusual song. Very caTCHY and the words are beautiful.
U dont know me - so cool!!!! i love the kinda jazzy feel it has and claudette's voice is amaing in this one.
Do the right thing - my fav i think. Its kinda garage and has a reall r'n'b edge. Class!
Things change - beautiful and kinda eery song. Its got a very spooky chorus but still amazing lyrics. Ryan is briliant in this track.
So i hope ive helped u by donig a little review trackby track. Go out and buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new american R&B vocaldominated group, 6 Nov 2001
By 
VISA (Roskilde, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
Problably the best r&b album of 2001 when you compare this album with likes of Mary J. Blige: No More Drama, Miss Elliott: So Addictive, Maxwell: Now or the hundreds of r&b artists pushing albums this year.
First singel "What Would You Do", released february 2001 hit the Billboard Top 100 chart for one week in april 2001 and disappeared the next week, on grounds of its strong anti-social lyrics. Radiostations in the States wouldn't play the single. Late summer this album was finally released in the USA alongside their debut-single in the UK. Lots of fantastic songs are included like the wonderful soulful ballade "Why", the strong "City High Anthem", "Do The Right Thing"(a bit of garage here) and "You Don't Know Me". Every track filled with frank, heartful and clear views of national and social politics in a devided USA. But once and again a slide touch of romance.
Beautiful Claudette Ortiz, Ryan Toby and Robby Pardlo makin' sweet r&b for minds and ears with at little help from executive producer Wyclef "all-over-the-place" Jean. Buy this record and you'll be amazed. Michael Mørch, Radio HNR, Copenhagen, Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R u ready 4 City High???, 16 Aug 2001
By 
M. Morgan "trublusoul" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City High (Audio CD)
This trio is Heavy!!! After hearing the US single 'What would you do' I had to check out this act, and damn have they got skills. The CD is definetly a hidden gem of this Summer. 16 cool tracks of true r&b with soul for all. A must have for those that love their music with words, beats and meaning. Go buy it Now and see if you recognize a face and voice from 'Sister Act 2' in the group!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RnB at its BEST!!!!, 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: CITY HIGH-CITY HIGH (Audio CD)
After being in America and listening to their hit single "What would u do?" i decided to give this group a chance, it certainly was money well spent. Every song has got a certain groove to it that its just amazing. Some brilliant songs that are included in this album are "Caramel", "What would u do?" and "City High Anthem". This group is certainly one for the future and i'll be cheering them on all the way!
City High y'all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City High
City High by City High (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews