Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful playing, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
S. Miller (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Piano Trios (Audio CD)
These recordings are wonderful. The music is beautifully played with such delicacy, grace, and power one can get completely lost in Beethoven's sound world. It is also a very good value set.
As regards the Archduke, the piano is wonderfully sonorous with a rich pleasing tone and on my equipment the cello and violin are both clearly audible but not to the front of the sound. I find the experience most pleasing. I have other recordings where the cello and violin are to the fore and would buy this set for the Archduke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a worthy addition to your collection, 13 Aug. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
Two very fine performanes of these greatest of Russian trios.

Lang Lang and Maisky's contributions appear effortless. Repim, however, does not appear willing to let the other voices take centrestage, at times coming intrusively to the fore. This is an entirely minor niggle in an otherwise exceptional recording.

All-in-all, a worthy addition to your collection. The only better version I can think of is by Ashkenazy, Perlman and Harrell, which is entirely exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy It For The Archduke, 22 Dec. 2006
By 
A. Chapman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: The Piano Trios (Audio CD)
Well played and recorded. I think the opus 1 trios fare best and are works of some consequence which I had not previously heard. Recording quality is excellent but unfortunately I had a real problem with the Archduke which is the key piece for me. The balance of the instruments is difficult to accept but probably bearable in the other pieces. Piano dominates violin and cello. Third movement is good- one of the best- but elsewhere one wonders why violinist and cellist put up with this. In the final movement the violin's tripping contribution two thirds of the way through is pathetically quiet and has little effect. In addition to the volume issue the piano is played in a fairly robust way (though well ) rather than the "tinkling " of a Kempff. Having already the Stern/Rose/Istomin version with its poorish sound quality ( although a good performance )and numerous little clicks ( at least on my copy ) and the Kempff/ Fournier/Szering this Beaux Arts version is the best in sound but worst in instrument balance. The Kempff etc. version is virtually perfect interpretatively but the negative here is ? Szering's irritating respiratory intakes in the third movement. Fournier's cello tone is wonderful and apart from his respiratory contribution Szering is also fine. Kempff as usual has a simple and tasteful way with this as most of his records. I shall probably try the Florestan's at some point. I also liked the Kempff "Ghost" a lot and the Stern "Ghost" is likewise good with better sound than the Archduke. Both preferable to this Beaux Arts one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great discovery of Gál's music, and an unfathomable neglect of it no doubt., 7 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Piano Trios (Audio CD)
After discovering Hans Gál's complete oeuvres for pianoforte recently (under the Avie label), further delights and absorption are to be found in the composer's piano trios. I am temping to call his opus 18 Trio (1924) a masterpiece, for this is music of a very high order: lush, profound, serene, and so individual and unpretentious. The writing is so assured and its earnestness never in doubt. The first movement (tranquillo ma con moto) is searchingly beguiling, the mood nostalgic, very much in the neighborhood of Myaskovsky, Bortkiewicz, Diamond, and Ireland. Surface matters do not apply here, for the language penetrates the subconscious. Already in the very first bars of the trio do you sense something on the horizon. The second movement (allegro violento) has a fiery beginning, but by 1:31, the mood becomes noble, yet penetrating. Anyone familiar with, say, Myaskovsky's Cello Sonatas, will find much in common here (and to your liking I promise). The finale (adagio mesto) has a dark beginning, but the mood lifts ebulliently yet without the superficiality that would've undermine the meaning and the communicative impact of the work.

The shorter op. 49b Trio (1949) comes much later, and the idyllic feeling of the first movement (moderato e tranquillo) predominates. The lushness in the earlier trio is replaced here with a greater sense of simplicity in expression, as though one is just laying back and watches the world go by. The mood is less profound than the op. 18 Trio, but it's far from being shallow or facile. It is, as Myaskovsky's Second Cello Sonata (1946), a calm, peaceful reflection shortly after the tragedies of the Second Great War. The second movement (pastorale: andantino) is gleeful while the finale (marche burlesque) is exactly that, burlesque, but not without meaning. Again, surface matters remain inapplicable. The Variations on a Popular Viennese Tune (1914), placed in-between the trios, is an attractive, quite ingenious filler to this wonderful album.

And yes, this album is wonderful in every way possible, and not just because of the extremely well-crafted, meaningful music. The players convey every ounce of enjoyment and commitment to the music (and to the cause). Doris Adam (pianist) is simply superb. She really captures the emotionalism euphoniously and with style and depth. How she conveys the first bar of the opus 18 Trio with that arresting inevitability about it is beyond me, and her sister, violinist Karen Adam, meets her all the way. Christoph Stradner (cello) brings profundity to the playing where needed, and the intonation is ideal. And of course, a recording must help in conveying the depth of the music fully and with warmth, and Camerata succeeds in that admirably. Presentation likewise is excellent overall, with Otto Biba's annotations that are scholastic in its details and the players' biographies that enhance our appreciations of them, of their musicianship, and of their love for music: the love that is of full, unapologetic presence from the very first second of this album to the very last.

Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thibaud, Casals, Cortot: Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert, 27 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These recordings have been well cleaned up, even if unavoidably at the expense of the highest frequencies. The sound recording level, though, is a little on the low side. The overall effect is impressive for recordings from the 1920s.

However, prospective purchasers may be in for a shock. This style of playing has now completely disappeared: nobody, anywhere, plays like this any more. As a result, these recordings make the pieces sound utterly different: different in phrasing, dynamics, and use of rubato and portamento; and, indeed, in the entire approach to these pieces.

This effect will sound weird to some people, but to others (maybe the older amongst us) it will be a glimpse of a vanished, forgotten world, where emotion and feeling (or, if you like, sentimentality) were at least as important as technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old are the best, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
E. H. Hanson (Scarborough,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exquisite is the only word I can give to describe the performance of this wonderful piece of music from 80+ years ago. It may sound it's age, which is not surprising, but that does not detract from it's beauty. A posthumus round of applause to all three performers for a magical recording. If you are too old to own the original 78s then you must obtain this CD. The transfer is top drawer, well done to all at Naxos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could want!, 22 May 2015
By 
I. Brammer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Piano Trios (Audio CD)
Top class playing and more pieces in the set than I realised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: The Piano Trios (Audio CD)
Wonderful ~ such beauty and sensitivity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: The Piano Trios
Beethoven: The Piano Trios by Beaux Arts Trio (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews