Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pc Game of the Year!
A lot of people say that there is no point in buying this game because it is almost identical to GTA 3 and Vice City. In my opinion they are wrong. Mafia is an amazing trip back to the Mafia family in the 1930s. I love this game because when I played it I got completely absorbed in it. There are 20 missions in the game but don't think that you'll complete it in a...
Published on 9 Feb 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
The reason I bought this game was because I really enjoyed Mafia 2. While this game does have the same style of telling the story and keeping you involved with the story, game-play wise, its not that great. The driving is OK even though the driving sections are repetitive and slightly too strict. The shooting sections were awful! It shows how amazingly well shooters have...
Published 10 months ago by Anand Basi


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pc Game of the Year!, 9 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
A lot of people say that there is no point in buying this game because it is almost identical to GTA 3 and Vice City. In my opinion they are wrong. Mafia is an amazing trip back to the Mafia family in the 1930s. I love this game because when I played it I got completely absorbed in it. There are 20 missions in the game but don't think that you'll complete it in a couple of days. The levels are usually long and in most cases difficult. In the game you will meet a lot of dodgy characters wanting you dead. In the levels you have to stay alert because at any time a guy carrying a pump action shotgun could jump round the corner and blast your brains out. The graphics are also brilliant - I love the realism of when you or someone is smoking - the smoke rises up beautifully. Overall I think this game is a must have for any gamer and with the price that amazon is asking what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was being warmed up for the most immersive game ever..., 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this on the basis that it sat at about no. 5 on PC Zones FPS chart, I knew nothing about it and after playing the first hour I thought I had made a big mistake. My mistake was thinking that, because little did I know I was being warmed up for the most immersive game I have ever played! You play Tommy, a cab driver and you drive around a city in 1930's America picking up and dropping off fares and earning not much money - until that is you fall into the Italian mafia, working for Don Saleri. You start by dropping off the odd package here and there then you find yourself escorting the the bar managers daughter home late one night and you find yourself kicking in a bunch of hooligans - naturally you get with Sarah, marry her and have a few kids. Your reputation for being a bit of a psycho holds you in good stead and soon you are knocking off Don's enemies and the odd innocent bystander. The story unfolds, you nick more and more cars, drive them like a man posessed and shoot anybody who dares to even look at you in the street. The graphics are amazing, the ambience is thrilling and I have run out of words to describe how utterly superb this game is. Play it and play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stone cold classic. Ya hear?, 2 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
It's a long time since I played Mafia, but the mediocrity of most of the games I've played since led me to write a review. These days, it seems it's difficult to lay your hands on a truly great game that doesn't require you to spend £600 upgrading your PC, but Mafia certainly fits that description. You are Tommy, an accidental mobster, who has a likeable enough personality for you to pass over his many misdemeanours. Tommy is sent on various errands for the mob, and these really only involve shooting and driving (or both at the same time), but the game produces a remarkable amount of variety on these themes, which keeps it always enjoyable. The level of difficulty is spot-on throughout; it never becomes frustrating, but avoids being too easy. The dialogue is entertaining and well-voiced, and the graphics are good, but the real star of the show is the city of Lost Heavan you live in. Man, I felt like I lived there while I was immersed in this game. Learning to find your way around, short cuts and all, is great fun. It also becomes a place in which you have a history - there's the hotel where I did that bomb, over there is that church I had to shoot my way out of - so that you become part of a loud, bustling American city, with all it's passions, sleaze and lust for life. And each neighbourhood has its own character - I used to just drive around for fun, exploring run down port areas and leafy, well-heeled suburbs. It is extremely atmospheric. I wouldn't be surprised if the designers had been studying Edward Hopper paintings, as the use of light is very reminiscent.

And for a man whose interest in cars extends to owning a 1994 VW Polo out of necessity, I found immense pleasure in steadily upgrading vehicles, all of which handled differently, and how you would expect them to (the small sports cars fast but flighty, the larger saloons slower but smoother). Beautifully done.

The only real minus point as far as I'm concerned is that there are very few buildings that you can just walk into and poke around - it keeps you fairly much to the plot. But I quibble. Mafia is a truly great game - I can't believe they didn't do a sequel, but maybe it would have been a let-down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Game You Can't Refuse!!!, 2 Mar 2003
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
From the makers of what i thought was a brilliant game in it's own rights, Hidden & Dangerous, comes Mafia, a third person shooter set in a 1930's American city. The game's producers boast about huge landscapes, unique and varied missions, loads of cars and weapons, and mostly, a heavily involving storyline. After reading many reviews, i purchased it, and all i can say is WOW!
This game is absolutely superb! By far the favourite of my collection (apart from the untouchable Allied Assault of course!) it plays like a gem and is so addictive, there should be prescribed an antibiotic for playing it!
First of all, the gameplay is absolutely brilliant. No problems shooting or driving, and getting around the city is simple. A GTA clone, i hear you say. Not a chance! There are many similarities sure, but while GTA is pure cartoon anarchy, Mafia is a deep and compelling experience, with more depth in the character's appearences. Oh, and the actual plot of the story is top class. I feel it would make a superb movie, which funnily enough, is the style that Mafia is presented in.
After you complete it (and it'll take you some time, some of the missions are absolutely rock!), replayability value is boosted not only by the normal Free Ride (where you drive about freely, just messing around), but by Free Ride Extreme, where you complete mini tasks for bonus cars and where some parts of the city have been changed.
The AI is great. Traffic is intelligent, and pedestrians don't run away when you drive past (Midtown Madness anybody?). But by far, the police are the sharpest little pests around. They'll have you for showing a weapon in public, running a red light, going over 40 mph inside the city and generally being a lout, but as long as you behave yourself, you should be OK. Besides, there's an option where you can eventually turn police off in Free Ride. And going over 40 shouldn't be a problem - pressing F5 will automatically make sure you don't bypass that number.
The missions are so varied, which is a major factor in the game from chasing enemies at high speeds in the countryside to smuggling cigars, and racing at the local track to robbing banks. There's also mansion break-in's, tense shoot-outs (there's plenty of them, i can tell you!), assasinations and even a romantic element in the mission where you walk home Sarah. All of these take place across farms, banks, churches, parks, abandoned prisons, hotels and bars and is guaranteed to give you so much fun, as it did for me.
Overall, anyone interested in shooters, be it 3rd person or 1st, driving games or even gangster movies such as The Godfather or Goodfellas and in some places Road to Perdition, you'd do well to get a copy and try it out. Why not see if you can become the feared and respected man of the family? For one thing, it feels great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect!!!!!!!!, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
Games are not something I would normally bother reviewing but I feel compelled to spread the word about just how good this game is. Great graphics, sound and a fantastic music score help make this game truly exceptional but its defining genius is the level of reality the game employs. At the beginning of a mission you don't just check your inventory to see what weapons you have at your disposal instead you pay a visit to the don's weapons man and discuss with him suitable weaponry and it is the countless neat little touches like this that make this game superb. Stories in most games are usually superfluous but trust me I couldn't wait to get through each mission to find out what would happen next. The game and story are tremendously exciting and I would even go as to far to say that the story was moving in parts, this game should not be missed if games won oscars this would be the equivalent of Titanic, Ben Hur and Gone With The Wind all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Gun-tastic!!, 7 May 2003
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
When I first saw the screenshots for this game I thought the graphics were amazing, and when I finally got it home and onto my PC I wasn't disappointed. As mentioned by a few other reviewers there are some niggly errors but most games have these and the atmosphere in the game is so great that you don't really notice these during gameplay.
The cars do start out very slow so if you're used to GTA III then you could become disheartened, but fear not, because as you progress the cars get much better and screaming through the streets having a gunfight with the police is a definite must.
Once the missions are over (which there are a lot of since it follows Tommy throughout his Mafia career) the fun doesn't end there since this opens up Freeride Extreme where you can drive round the city at your leisure and collect new 'special' cars by doing missions after meeting up with 1 of the 20 blokes dotted around in certain areas. There are also a number of ramps in this mode and once in a special car i.e. hotrod you can pull off some spectacular moves.
Obviously this is a 1930's GTA III but I own GTA III, GTA Vice City and Mafia and I think Mafia is the one which held my attention the longest. A brilliant game, anyone who says otherwise isn't giving it a chance or can't play it to completion. Go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Badabing!!, 18 Feb 2003
By 
Beereycalfs "beereycalfs" (Droylsden, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
Awesome totally Awesome, the only game I have ever completed and applauded at the conclusion. The Brief: live the life of a little known taxi driver and fight your way to the top of the organized crime tree, whilst trying to keep your head and having a heart. Multi varied missions scatter your life, drive by shootings, assasinations, protection rackets and racing driving to name but a few, your life will never be dull.
fancy leaving the missons and just having a drive round the enormous city no problems take a tram ride or steal a car the world is yours for the taking. Just go out and buy it now or i will send the boys round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mafia will blow you away!, 16 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
The graphics in this game are fantastic but the gameplay is even better. The story and voice acting are the best I've experienced in a long while, and the missions varied and involving. You start the game as a cab driver and the very first mission (one of the more difficult ones!) sees you trying to escape in your cab(with two 'friendly' hoods) from a rival gangs car. Each mission is handily divided into bite-sized sub missions and the game is saved automatically. Missions range from the stealing and sabotage of a race car, collecting protection money to chaperoning a lady to her apartment! There is a good mix of shooting and driving and the controls are perfect for both (take note GTA3 programmers!). You do need to check the specs for this as it is graphically very demanding (I've a GF2 P3 and there is a bit of lag occasionally). The game is also very tough (especially the car race), but very rewarding, and it captures the atmosphere of 1930's America to a tee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say hello to my little friend, 17 Sep 2002
By 
J LE COUTEUR (St.Helier, Jersey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
For a start you can stop thinking 'Mafia' is a 1930's version of 'Grand Theft Auto 3', its not. 'GTA III is a game, 'Mafia' is an experience. It has an involving storyline with some of the best acting seen in a game (not much competition). You sympathise with your character as he drawn into the underworld of the Mafioso.
If you put in alot to Mafia you'll get alot out, but its not as acessible as it could have been, you have to drive/walk/train EVERYWHERE yourself, which doesnt sound like much, but theres 12 square miles of city to get around under the 40mph speedlimit, without running redlights or having any sort of prangs. You've got to think of it as a sort of sim in some ways. The missions are superbly constructed and vary alot. You'll be assasinating government figures one day and driving in a grand prix the next. The car handling in 'Mafia' is very realistic, although i've not driven a 1930 Lassiter. You've got to be shown how to break into car locks in order to be able steal them. This means that the game introduces faster cars as it sees fit.
All in all if you stick with 'Mafia' you'll be rewarded with some of the best gaming moments seen yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endless Possibilities and Great Graphics!, 30 July 2003
This review is from: Mafia (PC) (Video Game)
I’m not the kind of person who normally sits and writes reviews or comments for anything but this game has forced me to share my wisdom and tell the world about the greatness Mafia holds.
The cars tunings are said to be the best in a game ever and even feature a clutch. The cars revs and speedo are great as they work independently and realistically not doing the same movements as each other as in most other games. In the cars there are also odometers with the preference of kilometers or miles. To add to all this there are over 60 different cars in the game! There is also a speed limiter on all of the cars, which you can switch on and off to make sure you don't get caught by the cops for speeding. The walking/shooting part of the game is just as good and can be combined with the driving easily by sticking your chosen gun out the window with one press of a button, what a feature! You can travel on the real-time trains and trams in the city if you don’t fancy driving or walking there yourself. It’s little touches like this and the colossal detail even to cigar smoke, which make this game really stand out from the rest. You could play this game forever!
The atmosphere in the game is really addictive and this is enhanced by the great in game movies. The game also draws you in with the fact that the cars get better as the game progresses, and there are more cars available on the ‘Freeride Extreme’ section of the game in which super cars can be gained. There are enough missions to keep you busy for months but there are also 20 more jobs for you to complete on the ‘Freeride Extreme’ level I mentioned earlier. Again in ‘Freeride Extreme’ you can go back to doing no jobs or being the taxi driver you were at the beginning of the game whenever you want even in the middle of a job you have been assigned.
A common bore in most games is that the different missions are exactly the same as each other but in Mafia the missions are completely different from each other. They also link together seamlessly with Mafia's great storyline. Yet another point towards the game is for the graphics the game provides. They are colossal. You don't need an especially good PC to get such good graphics either, compared to GTA3, which many people have commented about, which requires a much better PC which, even then, gives slightly worse graphics. Like GTA3, Mafia features a great music score from the period.
Finally another great feature of the game is the one that lets you drive around the city with no traffic or cops or pedestrians (or a combination) in any car of your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mafia (PC)
Mafia (PC) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews