Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good show chaps!
Wow, so many bad reviews I thought I'd write one to tell people that all hope is not lost! OK so some of the team AI can be a bit ropey and I got lost on the training map too but both these are because you need to learn how the game plays, which is definitely different than the linear blasting of Medal of honour or Call of Duty.
The gameplay is excellent and a world...
Published on 5 Nov 2003

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I take back what I said...
You may have seen my previous review of this game praising it quite wholeheartedly.
Well further playing has completely undermined what I said.
The game is bugged to hell. The AI, particularly of your inept, blind, deaf colleagues, is dire. I've been stuck on one mission that refuses to finish for ages now and it's really getting me down.
You'd think that...
Published on 30 Oct 2003 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good show chaps!, 5 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Wow, so many bad reviews I thought I'd write one to tell people that all hope is not lost! OK so some of the team AI can be a bit ropey and I got lost on the training map too but both these are because you need to learn how the game plays, which is definitely different than the linear blasting of Medal of honour or Call of Duty.
The gameplay is excellent and a world away from the poor handling of the original game. Now lying, kneeling, firing, aiming, sneaking and running are all easily controllable in a similar way to both Hitman2 and Splinter Cell, with the mouse wheel controlling movement speed and aiming bringing you into 1st person perspective etc. The 3rd person perspective view is very useful with excellent camera scripting which shows off the great character animations.
Enemy AI seems good, with soldiers being startled by gunshots in a fairly realistic way and taking cover behind whatever is nearby. The ragdoll engine that is used makes for some dramatic death sequences and bullet hits and wounds appear wherever the bullets hit. (Although this is never particularly graphic).
Performance wise, I run smoothly at 1024x768 using full graphics settings (no FSAA) using a P4 2.4GHz, 512Mb RAM and a 256Mb Geforce FX 5600 graphics card.
If you want a tactical, war game with depth to it, and where you get to use your brain a little bit then I recommend this game.
If you played the original and liked the idea but not the dodgy controls and bugs, then I recommend this game.
If you want a run and gun linear shooter, buy Call of Duty.
If you just want co-op play, wait for the add-on pack or patch coming soon (hopefully).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets..., 27 Oct 2003
By 
M. D. Harris (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Having played the first version of H&D I’ve been looking forward to this game with some anticipation and I have to say it’s not let me down – Hidden & Dangerous 2 is better than the original (and every other game of it’s ilk) in every respect.
Firstly it appears that the game is pretty much bug free, unlike the original which had more bugs than a dead buffalo. No more mysterious deaths if you told year man to go from point A to B on an enemy free map. No more worrying that your elite troops will be wiped out by a tall ladder. No more levitating two feet off the ground. If fact it all just seems to work.
As for performance and visuals, well I’ve got an Athlon XP2400 with 512mb with Windows XP and a 64mb GeForce 4200ti and it runs a treat at 1024 x 768 with all the settings up (anti-aliasing is off though). A real smooth frame rate at all times, wonderful snow effects with great distance fogging in Norway and in North Africa vistas as far as the eye can see. I’ve not got beyond Africa yet so I can’t say what Burma and Europe look like – but judging by what I have seen so far I’m in for a treat. Animation is very good, as are the in game models and textures with your men actually looking like real people carrying real weapons. Environments, inside and out are great too with good use of sound.
Last but not least the game play is a good as it gets. If you like your shooters on the thoughtful side this game is for you. Tactics really do count, it really does matter what you equip your men with, where you position them and how you move about the battle field. Unlike some games within this genre you don’t have nanny your team at all times – they are more than capable of handling themselves, efficiently dispatching the enemy when the chance arises and not just standing there like bullet sponges when you make contact. The enemy AI is good too and their shooting is humanly accurate, making for a challenging rather than frustrating game at the Normal setting.
This is the best game I’ve played in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't panic, 9 Nov 2003
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
The way some people are talking you'd think this is the worst game ever , not so, in my opinion. A few points:

1 AI is sound as long as you take the time to direct your squad,
2 I have an athlon xp1700, geforce mx card, 512 mem. and the game plays fine with all graphic options set to high,
3 did anyone who played the first game seriously think there wouldnt be bugs in this iteration?
I cant believe that those who played (and enjoyed) the first game, with it's unique atmosphere and immersive gameplay cant see that this is a game which advances the squad based genre to new heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be WW2 Game of the year!, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game has been knocked left right and center by many gamers who it seems are looking for a frag fest and all out gun em down approach like Call of Duty etc. I am a great fan of BF1942 and H&D2 is the next stage up. The Graphics are lush and more realistic than Call of Duty surprisingly enough. The detail in the textures and weapons are stunning and the rag doll effect of the shot soldiers adds to the realism. Whoever finds this dated in looks needs their eyes tested.
This is a very mature game and I warn anyone who is looking for an all out shooting fest and nothing else to not buy this. For the more serious gamers who like to think with good old fashioned action then this is for you. It's a tough single player and an exciting multiplayer. Sadly there is very few servers around at the moment for the multiplayer side which is a big shame as this is a superb online game. I have had no problems with the game like others here have stated and there is an update patch that has sorted any previous bugs out.
I can see this becoming a big cult of a game once the fickle herds have moved on to beat another new game down and it will grow into a good online community in the future.
If you want your brain tested and a realistic experience buy it! It's a mighty fine game :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reassuring depth for a change., 6 Jan 2004
By 
J. Buckle "buckello" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I was a big fan of H&D first time around, many hours were spent with friends on a LAN playing the co-operative version. The only disappointment I found in H&D2 was a lack of this playing mode, but hopefully this will be rectified in the future in an update.
The game looks really beautiful, I have an Athlon XP 1700+, Win98, 256Mb RAM, GeForce 2 pro. Not rocket science kit by any standards but the game runs super smooth at 1280 x 1024. The sounds and visual effects just draw you straight in. It plays hard, needs thought and for those who don't take care (like me first time around) the consequences of not taking the right kit into a mission or letting a crucial team member be eliminated definitely shape your options down the line. Brilliant!
I honestly can't understand anyone who likes shooters not seeing that this is the best that there is available - blows MoHAA and its 'corridor shooting' brethren completely out of the water. Only BF1942 can really compete. The missions obviously don't allow the same freedom as BF1942, after all the whole point of BF1942 is that there is no 'mission' apart from killing the opposition! But H&D2 does generally allow you to complete the sub-missions in whatever order you choose and approach objectives from whatever direction you like, using whatever cover and terrain suits your tactics.
Predictably others here and in the press have moaned about the bugs, and I do get really sick of hearing this (whatever the game). These people clearly just haven't sorted the latest patch out on their installation. It's a fact of life today I'm afraid, I never assume I can play a PC game straight out of the box and I always look for the latest patch on the web. H&D2 is no better or worse than other games for this. After patching up to 1.0.2 I haven't seen any bugs whatsoever. If you want simplistic 'out of the box' games then stick to the playstation! And as for moaning about the key mapping? Oh please!! Simply click into the options panel and define the keys that you want - it really is not a problem.
All I can say is if you have half a brain and enjoy shooters you just have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game - highly recommended, 14 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is an excellent game if you enjoy a bit of a challenge and want more than a no-brain shooter.
Graphics and sound are excellent - player animations and actions are fantastic.
I think this game has been under-rated by some reviewers - I rate it higher than 'Call Of Duty' - I have just completed that straight through - and though a great 'cinematic' experience, Call of Duty lacks any kind of tactical play.
Bottom line - if you like shooting / action games then get Hidden & Dangerous 2, (and Operation Flashpoint) - 2 of the best games for years. They take a little more practice and thought than some - but are so much more rewarding because of that!
Call of Duty is resigned to multiplayer only - im playing H&D2 now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strategically, tactically and combatatively robust, 14 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is a great game. The first person action is excellent; it is the little things such as selection of weapons, speed of reload and behaviour of weapons - all very realistic both in timing and action. Strategically you can plan your routes, approaches to hotspots and stealth techniques well; it is as much a thinking soldiers game as it is a shoot 'em up; use the wrong strategy and your tactics will not go to plan and you will be extremely combatative. Scenery is excellent, particularly wetaher and environmental effects although the detail on trees and shrubs still leaves (no pun) a lot to be desired. The campaigns are interesting, challenging and carefully thought through. Team play is very difficult to master, and patience is required if you are to make the most of this capability - I say RTFM to anyone who has difficulty with this, and take your time - leaders have to plan, so do this and hey presto you can have some awesome raids. I would like to see: better graphics for gunnery, improved strike capabilty of the knife in stealth mode, bits 'come off', and improved team planning interface. When a soldier hears gunfire he does not eventually go back to what he was doing, until he knows the gunfire is either friendly or indeed neutralised. That's how it was in Iraq anyway, and how it should be in this game. I have not yet played this online, but I can only imagine it is formidable - enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game solo or multiplayer, 5 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I've enjoyed this game so much. Multiplayer is good stuff and less complicated that controling squads, but there are some very able players out there that can make or break your game! There are a few bugs when joining MP games with objectives, but I called support and they directed me to their website to download a patch which has improved the amount of servers i can access... Come on and in and look for "marcus" and I'll share any tips with you - WARNING very addictive. get ready for some late nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, 4 Nov 2004
By 
Hibernia (Cork, County Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
H&D 2 is a great game. It might feel a bit dry on first play, but once you get to grips with the control system, it is a marvel. Yes, it's another FPS (although you often switch to an overhead view), but the action is more realistic than arcade. Many FPS war games feel more like a conveyor belt of scripted events. But here you control a four man team and are responsible for kitting them out, conserving ammunition, giving orders, and devising how you will complete your objectives. Thus, it's not just a case of fighting from one scripted situation to another - you have enormous latitude on how you reach your objects and each level is huge. I didn't count the number of levels but it's a lot!
If any of your team is killed in the mission they can be replaced, but there is advantage to keeping them alive since they gain rank, skills and medals.
The graphics are great with massive detailed levels, and each soldier correctly rendered depending on what uniform and equipment they're holding. The missions are different and various - you might be wandering a Norwegian forest in the dark to rescue an airman, or attacking a desert town to destroy a communications mast. One particular level attacking a ship, waddling around on deck in frog man gear! Many levels also feature vehicles and heavy weaponry that you can use too.
If there was a gripe, it's that you need to patch it to fix some bugs, but after that you have a great game. It also has a very servicable multi-player mode. You could do far worse than this game, especially if you see it in the bargain bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The thinking person's shooter, 9 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I played the original Hidden & Dangerous, long after it was first released and thought it was OK without being riveting. I admit that I gave up on it when it became too frustratingly difficult.
Hidden & Dangerous 2 is a far better game. The missions don't feel impossible. It looks bang up to date and has a much slicker control interface. There are a host of commands that can be given to squadmates with the click of a mouse or a couple of button presses.
I was pleased to see that it was no longer necessary to look through the telescopic sights when moving a sniper in first person view.
The missions are still very challenging and feel realistic, for the most part. However, you have unlimited saves on easy or normal difficulty levels, so you can get through them eventually. Any higher difficulty levels than that...and you'd better be good! Incidentally, it's a pity there isn't a full save and quick save facility.
Like Raven Shield etc, you can have a happy time before missions kitting out your men. There are plenty of WW2 weapons to select. You can let the PC choose for you or let it choose classes of equipment (e.g. sniper). Alternatively, you can select the whole kit yourself.
The missions become available as single missions after you have opened them in the campaign. You can find out if the Thompson would have worked better than the Sten!
It ran smoothly on my Athlon 2000+ with 512 RAM and 64Mb Geforce card on 1024 x 768 screen resolution with no problem. It still looks superb on 800 x 600.
I thoroughly recommend this game to anybody that wants a military shooter that gives more than just shoot 'em up. Games like Call of Duty are wonderfully exciting but are the same every time you play. They have limited replayability. Hidden & Dangerous can be a bit fiddly but it can played time and time again and give entertainment for months.
Buy it! You know it makes sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD)
Hidden & Dangerous 2 (PC CD) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews