Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ACTION-PACKED MISMATCHED BUDDY THRILLER
Chill Factor starts with a dramatic beginning in which we see a general make a mistake on the blast radius of a testing bomb and is forced to watch helplessly from the bomb shelter as his men are burnt to death. The film jumps on ten years to when the general is released from jail for his mistake and decides that the world owes him. Skeet Ulrich and Cuba Gooding Jr. are...
Published on 14 Aug 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable and dissapointing
This film is unbelievable and ridiculous. The acting is completely awful and the story is terrible. I ordered this film on the basis of positive reviews and was completely amazed at how truly awful it is.
We ejected the film from the DVD player after watching 40 minutes of the most obvious and laboured story line i've seen in a long time.
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by Mr. Robert Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ACTION-PACKED MISMATCHED BUDDY THRILLER, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Chill Factor starts with a dramatic beginning in which we see a general make a mistake on the blast radius of a testing bomb and is forced to watch helplessly from the bomb shelter as his men are burnt to death. The film jumps on ten years to when the general is released from jail for his mistake and decides that the world owes him. Skeet Ulrich and Cuba Gooding Jr. are thrown together whilst Cuba is doing a late night ice cream delivery shift to a convenience store that Ulrich is working in. A scientist friend of Ulrich's stumbles in with a bullet wound having escaped from a weapons hold with a bomb with enough power to destroy America. The bomb is what the general is after. The film twists the plot of Speed a bit and if the bomb goes over 50 degrees F, then it will go off. The mismatched duo must now get it to a certain place and keep it frtom the general's hands. It may sound cheesy at first, but Chill Factor works brilliantly as a mismatched buddy movie in the Lethal Weapon format, with more than enough well-timed humour from Gooding Jr. The action is fast-paced including a car chase with trucks and motorbikes, a rather odd downhill escape route on a mountainside in a boat, a hostage situation at a big damn, and a more than satisfying finale. The film fails in one area only, where the tense atmosphere of the rising temperature of the bomb is not tense at all and could have been a lot better. However, this film should be taken as fun, and will provide most people with an entertaining and fun night in, with its viewer friendly mix of action, comedy, and non-stop thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a show filled with action, suspense and comedy!!!!!!, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching Chill Factor, that is why it was the first DVD I bought from Amazon. The film is a good show and it is filled with alot of action. The film contains two main characters, Arlo (Cuba Gooding Jr) who plays the role of an ice cream deliveryman and Tim Mason (Skeet Ulrich) a convience store clerk. Together they to keep a weapon called Elvis away from a team of highly trained men. This is an excellent show and Cuba Gooding Jr's humour makes it even more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie, 15 April 2003
By 
Gary (Medway, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film may not have been as big as most of the films out there but it defininatly should have been. The acting by the Cuba and Skeet was wicked and they both made me laugh throughout the film. Its one of those "it could happen to you" movies where two everyday normal guys find themselves transporting a bomb across the state chased by a money hungry army general who wants to sell the bomb to the highest bidder.
My suggestion is buy this film, if not then just watch it because its well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilly?...are you kidding, this film is hot stuff!, 22 Jan 2003
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
As soon as i first watched this film i was sure it was going to turn out to be on eof the sleeper hits of the year. However to my surprise it has remained in the shadows of the blockbusters. This is a film that will exceed your prior expectations of it. Skeet Ulrich has never been better, and as for Cuba Gooding Jnr...need i say more! These two actors combine brilliantly to bring a super performance. Its funny, action packed and with characters you'll be cheering on from begining to end...its a hit for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Awesome!, 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The film is like no other I've seen before. It's action-packed, very funny and fast moving. It's gripping with a not that well known cast but that makes no difference. I've got it on DVD and I can't stop watching it. It is one of those movies you simply don't get bored of. If you havn't seen it make sure you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chill factor, 3 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Ten years after a covert military experiment on a remote Pacific island went wrong and killed eighteen servicemen and his assistant, Dr. Richard Long (David Paymer) is still trying to forget the havoc and death that his experiment caused.

Living in the small town of Jerome, Montana, Long still conducts scientific experiments at the local base, but far more enjoys his time fly-fishing with Tim Mason (Skeet Ulrich), who works in the local greasy spoon and has a checkered past.

Long's life changes, and then ends, when he's visited by Colonel Andrew Brynner (Peter Firth), a former military officer who took the blame and served ten years in Leavenworth for Long's experiment.

Now a free man with a score to settle with the government, Brynner has assembled a team of high-tech terrorists, including an icy woman named Vaughn (Hudson Leick), and plans to steal and then sell "Elvis"--Long's highly volatile, blue crystal substance--to the highest international bidder, thus having his revenge against the government for covering up its existence, and making him a scapegoat for their handling of the weapon.

Unfortunately for Brynner, Long has already delivered "Elvis" to Tim, along with the directions that the substance must remain below fifty degrees, or it will detonate, and kill everyone within several hundred miles of it.

After Mason and Arlo (Cuba Gooding, Jr.), a wisecracking ice cream delivery man, have a run-in with Brynner, they set off en route for Fort Magruder, some ninety miles away. The two don't get along with each other--Arlo only agrees to transport the substance in his ice cream truck because Mason held a gun on him--but they find a common bond in trying to avoid Brynner and his team.

With the help of Colonel Leo Vitelli (Daniel Hugh Kelly), Arlo and Mason try to survive Brynner's attacks, avoid the local deputy, Pappas (Jim Grimshaw), who's also hot on their trail, and keep "Elvis" below fifty degrees.

Time is running out, and the temperature is rising, Arlo and Tim must outwit their pursuers and try to find a way to dispose of the weapon before they're both killed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable and dissapointing, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Robert Kelly (Northern Ireland (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is unbelievable and ridiculous. The acting is completely awful and the story is terrible. I ordered this film on the basis of positive reviews and was completely amazed at how truly awful it is.
We ejected the film from the DVD player after watching 40 minutes of the most obvious and laboured story line i've seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 16 July 2007
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this was a very unpopular film, very. it is SMASHING. funny, amusing, fighting scenes, things blowing up and Skeet Ulrich. you don't get much better than that.

buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WATCH THIS FILM!!, 28 May 2003
By A Customer
I've seen this film before and it is amazing! It as just the right amount of comedy in it but still leaves you at the end of you seat. It's about 2 guys who end up having to transport ythis chemical which will blow up if it melts. Very tense!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My youth!, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I was 10 when this first came out and I still love it! To be honest I hadn't thought about it in years and I was watching Jericho and it reminded me how much I love Skeet, and so I came on here and searched for more of his movies, this came up and it all came flooding back to me and I just laughed to myself. Bought it straight away. Lots of laughs, despite some questionable acting skills LOL I find it very enjoyable to watch! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chill Factor [DVD] [2000]
Chill Factor [DVD] [2000] by Hugh Johnson (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: 0.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews