Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!
As a young bisexual woman I've found it very hard in the past to find romantic comedies that I can relate to, most gay/lesbian/bisexual targetted films are very serious, intense and often very preachy. This film however, was very romantic, wildy funny and something I could definately relate to. I've watched it over and over again and will continue to do so. RuPaul is...
Published on 11 Oct. 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save Me is MUCH better
This movie has almost exactly the same plot as Save Me, except the sexes are reversed and it's a comedy instead of a drama. Although Cheerleader gets credit for attacking homosexual conversion therapy eight years earlier, Save Me is a very much better movie in every way.

Save Me is both more entertaining and rewarding and MUCH more effective in addressing the...
Published 20 months ago by J. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 11 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
As a young bisexual woman I've found it very hard in the past to find romantic comedies that I can relate to, most gay/lesbian/bisexual targetted films are very serious, intense and often very preachy. This film however, was very romantic, wildy funny and something I could definately relate to. I've watched it over and over again and will continue to do so. RuPaul is fabulous as an "Ex-Gay", Cathy Moriarty is brilliant as a domineering mother trying to turn her obviously camp son into a butch "Real man" and the young gay men in the homosexual rehabilitation camp steal the show. The love story between Natasha Lyonne(American Pie) and Clea Duvall(The Faculty) is very believable and doesn't sensationalise or exploit the lesbian aspect of the relationship, treating it instead with humour and sensitivity to the point where you forget it's two GIRLS falling in love and just see it as two people. I'd recomend this film to anybody, gay, bi or straight this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, Brilliant, Funny, 25 Aug. 2001
I saw this film about half a dozen times at the cinema, would have been more but it was only on a short run due to late arrival of the print.
"But I'm a Cheerleader" takes the issue of teenaged sexuality and deals with it in a thoughtful and funny way without ever making charicactures of gay and lesbian teens or adults. Sure the stereotypes exist in the film (RuPaul as the exgay in particular), but they are presented in a way that makes you laugh with them rather than at them.
The more intimate scenes are presented in a gentle, non-exploitative and non-sensationalist way, frequently to the beautiful "Glass Vase Cello Case" by Tattle Tale (from "Sew True" on St Francis Records, 1995). Megan and Graham are shown to be two people who have fallen in love and happen to both be girls.
Natasha Lyonne and Clea DuVall (who also took an Executive Producer credit) are excellent and believable in their roles as Megan and Graham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very funny, 2 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
I had heard about "But I'm a Cheerleader" a few years ago, but I have only just actually watched it; searching around for it for a long time until my friend managed to get hold of it and let me borrow it. He told me I would like this film - and I didn't...I loved it!
This film has a very retro style to it, the main character, Megan, is a cheerleader, who is suspected by her friends and family to be gay. There is a funny scene where "evidence" is produced to show that shes gay! The real fun begins when Megan arrives at "True Directions" - the 'sexual reorientation camp'. From here, we meet several other funny characters; my favourites being the very camp Andre, the (wonderfully acted) woman in charge; Mary J. Brown, and the moody Graham (who is actually a girl!).
What makes this film extra special, is the sensitive way in which it deals with the blossoming relationship between Megan and Graham. There was some angst, and confusion, but also some really touching, emotional scenes shared between them. The acting from the two main leads is second to none. Another reviewer here mentioned that by the time the romantic scenes arrive, (which incidentally are perfectly subtle rather than gratuitous) you really do forget that its two girls, it really does become two people who just happen to be girls.
And, alongside the romance, theres plenty of fun to be had! Lots of innuendo and comedy. One of my favourite funny moments has to be a point where the wonderful Andre is dancing in a gay bar - its a classic film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save Me is MUCH better, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: But I'm A Cheerleader [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has almost exactly the same plot as Save Me, except the sexes are reversed and it's a comedy instead of a drama. Although Cheerleader gets credit for attacking homosexual conversion therapy eight years earlier, Save Me is a very much better movie in every way.

Save Me is both more entertaining and rewarding and MUCH more effective in addressing the therapy fad that claimed to turn gays straight through prayer and therapy but by now (thank God) has been pretty much abandoned even by the fanatics who most strongly pushed it.

The "humor" in Cheerleader is so excessively stupid, relentless and campy that it completely undermines any serious message the movie might be trying to present. It comes across as simply a mindless, pointless, frantic, unfunny mess - like a Jerry Lewis movie, for those who remember him.

The head of the conversion camp in both movies is a woman, but the characters are as different as night and day. Judith Light in Save Me is a compassionate person who honestly believes in the work she does and really loves the men who are sent to her for "help". Her realization that what she does may NOT actually help, and may instead hurt them, is a far more powerful indictment of the therapy than the gratingly moronic, maniacal, twitching monster Cathy Moriarty plays in Cheerleader.

This movie's only assets are three of its actors: Natasha Lyonne, who can't help being charming no matter what she does; Clea DuVall, who is so subtly and sultrily sexy that she makes even this gay man drool; and RuPaul - OUT of drag - completely credible in an entirely male role: the relatively macho athletic director of the camp, of all things.

But the movie is so stupidly written and directed, and the other actors are so bad, that it is not worth watching - unless by lesbians who can identify more easily with these women than the gay men in Save Me. Gay men have a hard enough time finding good movies, but the selection is even worse for lesbians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, camp, moving, superbly funny... a must-see movie., 11 Mar. 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But I'm A Cheerleader (VHS) (1999) (VHS Tape)
I had to watch this movie a second time less than 24 hours after seeing it for the first time!
It's an absurdist satire in the vein of "Zero Patience" - only on homophobia, not AIDS. The targets of "Cheerleader" are the - ok, let's be tolerant - misguided folk who try to 'cure' gays and lesbians back into straight gender roles. This sure isn't a Movie-of-the-Week treatment of the topic - it's a superb comedy with moving performances from the two principals, Natasha Lyonne (the wonderful Jessica in "American Pie I, II") and Clea DuVall ("The Faculty" and "Girl, Interrupted"). And RuPaul as an "ex-gay" suffering terribly from the teasing antics of hunky Eddie Cibrian is a delight.
It's not easy to pick high-lights from a movie that's so on-target from start to end - but the 'simulated sex' part of the 'straightening' therapy, Megan's stricken realization that she might, after all, really be a 'homosexual' and the gender role training should have you in stitches (if not, check your pulse - you could be dead).
And finally, it'd be worth getting this movie just to watch Lyonne and DuVall - move over Helen Shaver and Patricia Charbonneau, THIS is the classic lesbian movie for the new millennium!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a cute film!, 4 Sept. 2009
This review is from: But I'm A Cheerleader [DVD] (DVD)
I'm no film critic, but this film is one of my favourites. It's cute, camp, fun with a serious message behind the parody - that you gotta be true to yourself. The film has a stylised, theatrical feel which accents the parody, some people find this off-putting but I love it. It'd make a great musical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my fave movies, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film deserved so much more attention and success than it got. If you watch the documentary 'This Film is Not Yet Rated', you'll see that it was basically censored and brushed under the carpet, because the powers that be were a bunch of miserable homophobes. It's a really skillful and funny crowd-pleaser, that would entertain anyone (apart from the most committed bigot). Plus it manages to say alot about America's attitudes to lesbians and gays, but without ever getting preachy or boring. It's got a great, almost fairy-tale, visual style, that reminded me of the pastel pink surburban neighbourhood in 'Edward Scissorhands'. AND a heart-warming love-story.
Get this (it's one of those films you can watch atleast twice) if you liked 'Priscilla, Queen of the Desert'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheer for cheerleader!, 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is absolutely hilarious! Not really a family movie i might add but truly amusing to watch with friends or alone. So it follows the story of 'megan' who i sent to 'true directions' to turn her straight. Its full of amusing scenes, random music, over the top characters. It could probably do with a re-make now but its still perfectly watchable. You can tell its old though, the clothes are very..retro. One disk, normal size box, no booklet though. Also no features, in fact no title screen!! Excellent when your wrapped up ready to watch and cant find the remote to press play but not so perfect when you want to start watching from a certain scene. Also no special features, but hey nice and cheap and the movies good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt, sweet & very funny, 21 May 2015
By 
Jenny (Manchester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Natasha Lyonne plays a cheerleader who isn't really into boys & doesn’t even like kissing her boyfriend. Her parents and friends get suspicious and she's sent off to a place where 'straight is great', a place that aims to de-gay people. The problem is that Clea Duvall is also there and the two fall in love. At True Directions, the boys wear blue, the girls wear pink and the pupils must pass a series of tests in order to graduate hence proving they’ve left their gay life behind.
I absolutely love this film, it’s so funny and the love story is very sweet and genuine. Other great things about it include RuPaul, some rather fantastic characters and the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars five, six, seven, eight, this film is good, this film is great!, 22 Jan. 2009
I found this film very funny and eye catching. The cartoon like colour scheme gives the film a very definitive style. It's a quirky indie of the kind America does so well. In between lampooning gay stereotypes and poking fun at "gay rehab" (which, of a type, still exists in many churches across the States), there's a cameo from Julie Delpy, a trip to a gay bar, and the seductively captivating lead of Graham.

Ultimately, it's the emergence of this love story between Graham and Megan that comes out, so to speak, and sends this story off into the sunset.

I've watched it several times already. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

But I'm A Cheerleader (VHS) (1999)
But I'm A Cheerleader (VHS) (1999) by Jamie Babbit (VHS Tape)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews