Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTER CLASS
Only three popular songwriters consistently both composed the song and wrote the lyrics. Two were Irving Berlin and Cole Porter, which puts Noel Coward in the most august company. But whereas Berlin and Porter were indifferent performers, Coward early on adopted a suave persona which was perfectly tailored to his material. In 1955 he wowed audiences at the Desert Inn, Las...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by Barry McCanna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad dogs
I bought this to tease one of my neighbours. He used to say " Spain would be a great place if it wasn't so hot and full of Spaniards." We live in Almeria one of the hottest areas !!!
Published 22 months ago by margaret jennifer harriott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTER CLASS, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
Only three popular songwriters consistently both composed the song and wrote the lyrics. Two were Irving Berlin and Cole Porter, which puts Noel Coward in the most august company. But whereas Berlin and Porter were indifferent performers, Coward early on adopted a suave persona which was perfectly tailored to his material. In 1955 he wowed audiences at the Desert Inn, Las Vegas, and the following year it was the turn of New York to be taken by storm. These recordings have been repackaged in this 2-CD set, the first of which contains also a selection of 78 recordings, and a medley recorded in London in 1951. As if that were not enough, especially at this price, there's a 1952 track, and the second CD also contains nine recordings from 1954. Over 145 minutes of The Master performing his own work makes this an absolute bargain,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, Satirical.. and very British!, 13 Jan 2011
By 
SeaWasp (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
Frosted glass and chrome! Noel Coward never fails to put me into an art deco mood. Just listen to "Room With A View" and you'll see what I mean. This is a truly indispensable 2-cd set. I couldn't stop playing it for days. What a great deal for [...] . We get Mr Coward's 2 American lps (Noel Coward In Las Vegas & Noel Coward in New York), a selection of his British 78s including a few wartime tunes including the wonderful "Let's Not Be Beastly To The Germans".. a tune which always reminds me of a certain Fawlty Towers episode and a favorite of Winston Churchill (who apparently got the joke although many others were very put out by this song). We also get a 1951 performance from London's Cafe de Paris consisting of 2 medleys plus "There Are Bad Times Around The Corner" from 1952. There is also a rare 10" lp from 1954 consisting of 9 songs.

Noel Coward was having tax problems at home in the mid 50s so he accepted Wilbur Clarke's offer to play the Desert Inn in Las Vegas. This resulted in a magnificent live album. Noel was a big hit and even Frank Sinatra chartered a plane to fly in his celebrity pals from Hollywood to check out Mr Coward's show and Frankie loved it. You will too.. especially Noel's show-stopping, very naughty version of Cole Porter's "Let's Do It". Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Mice and Englishmen will love this album!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs Mouse (People's Republic of Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
This is an absolute must for all Coward fans, containing all the best known and loved classics. My iPod was underused until I bought this, now it's on all the time! It's especially good if you're musical, also have the sheet music and are learning to play the tunes on the ukulele, as I am! The songs are a winner at the more discerning parties - who could fail to love 'Don't let's be Beastly to the Germans', and the eponymous 'Mad Dogs and Englishmen', sung as it should be by the master himself? Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars noel coward c.d. Mad dogs and englishmen (double cd), 12 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
This albumis very slightly misleading as one of the discs is Noel Coward live at Las Vegas which I already have! not too bad because a good friend benefited from my original one! This is a must for coward fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Coward..., 21 July 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
This vintage collection brought together for the Hallmark label has 65 minutes of Noel Coward performing many of his most well known compositions. The sound quality is very clear throughout and the original sources sound to have been restored and show little sign of their age. The medleys are probably the most effective bringing together the essence of Noel Coward and the era during which they were most popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great recording, 4 April 2011
By 
A. Lee (oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
this is a fab cd for any noel coward fan.....I have found in the past with these old recordings the quality can be poor.....the production on this cd however is great......very clear and the material is wonderful, and you get a lot for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
Wonderful vintage stuff from 'the master'. I have them all, but one track has become a bit unreliable, so I bought this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mad dogs, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs And Englishmen (Audio CD)
I bought this to tease one of my neighbours. He used to say " Spain would be a great place if it wasn't so hot and full of Spaniards." We live in Almeria one of the hottest areas !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Dogs and Englishmen (Audio CD)
What a genius Noel Coward was. So many of his observations are as apposite today as they were when they were first written. Have laughed aloud whilst listening in the car - received some very strange looks from other road users!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mp3 cd does not equal audio cd, 24 Jan 2011
On the audio cd page for Mad Dogs and Englishmen, there was a box with 'Available to download - Buy the mp3 album'. Be aware that the mp3 album contains less than half the songs that are on the audio cd. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Dogs And Englishmen
Mad Dogs And Englishmen by Noel Coward (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews