Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2001
From the acclaimed action director of 'The Matrix' and 'Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon'. This film stars Donnie Yen, (who also starred in such films as 'Iron Monkey' and 'Highlander:Endgame'), and it is effectively a high-energy tribute to Harrison Ford's 'Witness.
'In The Line Of Duty' is one of the most accomplished action-adventures to come out of Hong Kong, and was a massive hit with audiences all over the world. Donnie Yen is at his acrobatic best in this film which filled with martial arts brilliance.
One of the best 'kickers' in the business, Donnie Yen seems to know 'No limits' in his technical ability to deliver kung fu thrills and spills.
Buy it now !!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
This movie has the appearance of a low budget film. There are also many gaps in the plot. However, the action is awesome and plentiful. Donnie Yen isn't the main star of the film, but he is still involved in many action sequences in which he is remarkable. Cynthia Khan is the main star which is O.K because in this particular film she was excellent. This film contains so much Hong Kong style martial art action and there are enough crazy stunts that if you are remotely interested in this kind of film, then this movie would be a very wise purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2003
This film is no less than brilliant. The story line is excellent.An innocent guy gets arrested for murder and its up toDonnie Yen and Cynthia Kahn to protect him before the bad guys get to him. The other cop played by Michael Wong comes across good to start with but turns out he is on the baddie side. The action all through this film is brilliant, giving you just about enough time to get your breath back before the kicks and punches start again. Donnie Yen does fantastic martial art fighting and a final fight on a roof top towards the end of the movie is mind blowing which will prove to anyone watching him for the first time just how good he is. I have watched this movie several times and yet it never fails to amaze me how much hard work is put into it. So if you have not seen "In the line of duty" buy it today. You will not be sorry.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
As with a lot of Hong Kong action movies, don't worry too much about the plot or acting. The stunts and fighting in this film are up there with the best Hong Kong offered in the mid-to-late eighties. Highlights include a thrilling motorbike chase and bone-crunching rooftop punch-up finale between Donnie Yen and Michael Woods. Cynthia Khan holds her own in all departments too, in a role that could almost have been written for a male cop. In real-life, Donnie Yen speaks excellent english, and his physical ability is on a par with Jet Li's or Jackie Chan's. And, dare I say it, he's probably the better actor too. I just wonder if Hollywood hasn't offered him anything "meaty" enough to tempt him to the west? If you enjoy this, check out 'Flashpoint' or "SPL" for a modern-take on this kind of Donnie Yen picture.Flashpoint [DVD]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
This film is filled to the brim with action fight sequences, from the word go. And as a huge Donnie Yen fan, I was very impressed with every fight sequence he was in. Even though he wasn't the main star of the film, he made such an impression that you forgot all about the leading actress.
The story is quite straight forward, but who cares, when the fight sequences are so amazing (Especially the climatic fight with Micheal Woods).
I also love watching the Donnie yen interview (on the extra feature section of the DVD) as-well as he explains the high standard that was required of him when working with Yeun Wo Ping. If you are collecting all the great donnie yen movies, as I am, then this has to be in your collection. No question about it!
I hope this has helped you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
you don't know what action is until you have seen this movie. the stunts are spectacular, the fight choreography is so fluid - watch the slow motion especilly in the donnie yen michael woods fight at the end. it's pretty violent but this is hong kong cinema!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Cracking action movie with Cynthia Khan and a fresh faced Donnie Yen, reminds me of police story but just a bit more serious, with excellent fight scenes (as I expect with any film starring Mr Yen ) for any fan of Hong Kong cinema this is a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
One of my favorite martial arts legends Donnie Yen great film and great story line I loved I. One of his best films to come out on dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)