Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underrated classic
This film is similar in style to Drunken Master but unfairly is much less famous (It did actually come first). The action is well cheorographed and well paced, Jackie uses a good variety of props in the fights. Lo Wei gave Jackie much more creative control this time, and it shows when you compare this to films like Dragon Fist, it has more original action and more comedy...
Published on 12 Dec 2003 by M. Jump

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Traces of brilliance
The Qing Dynasty has sent deadly assassins to eliminate the members of a martial-arts school which opposed them and have now gone into hiding. Chief among these is Jackie's grandfather and the mysterious "Unicorn".
Although his grandfather is teaching Jackie the secrets of his school, he forbids him to fight and insists he gets a job to support them. After failing to...
Published 14 months ago by Seamus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underrated classic, 12 Dec 2003
By 
M. Jump "party marty" (Torpoint , Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
This film is similar in style to Drunken Master but unfairly is much less famous (It did actually come first). The action is well cheorographed and well paced, Jackie uses a good variety of props in the fights. Lo Wei gave Jackie much more creative control this time, and it shows when you compare this to films like Dragon Fist, it has more original action and more comedy. Like in drunken master, Jackie has cool training sequences in this film, including a set of upside down push-ups which are flawless.
If only Hong Kong Legends had released this instead, then we could have had a less grainy print and the option of subtitles, a commentary and some good extras. The film itself though, should be seen along with 'Snake in the Eagles Shadow and 'Drunken Master', as it is almost as good as these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jackie's best films, 4 Sep 2002
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In my opinion Fearless hyena is definately one of Jackie's best films. It's hilarious pretty much all the way through. It's worth buying just to see Jackie dressed up as a woman and not to mention the incredible fight scenes. The finishing fight has to be the wierdest yet - I was laughing so much I almost choked on a gummi bear. Wah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burn, 9 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of Jackie Chans better movies. The Movie starts of slowly with Jackie living with his grandfather, at this point Jackie is not interested in learning kung fu. Jackie Grand father is a member of a kung fu clan which Jackie does not no about and is insistent that jackie does not show any of the kung fu. One day a member of a rival gang spots Jackie showing off his kung fu, tracks down his grand father and kills him. This happens at around half way through the film. This is where the film takes off. From half-way forward this is a classic film, excellent fight scences, good storyline, high level of martials arts a must purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good early work, 8 Dec 2000
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Jackie Chan is a young boy who makes money by gambling and then becoming a master. An evil man is searching for certain people and because of Jackie his own grandfather is discovered and killed in frount of him. Jackie learns skills from another man under threat -Unicorn- and is trained up by him. It has a good storyline with lots of fighting, but no real stuntwork- a good film for a Jackie Chan fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spectacular kung fu- terrible dubbing!, 27 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Jackie is up to his crazy choreographed best in this 80's classic-a must for any kung fu enthusiast- The dubbing wrecks the movie with ridiculous american and english accents by actors with a total disregard for this legendary flic! includes tunes such as "yankee Doodle Dandy!"obviously a renowned Chinese ballard! Get ready for the 'intense' training sessions and an explosive finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Traces of brilliance, 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
The Qing Dynasty has sent deadly assassins to eliminate the members of a martial-arts school which opposed them and have now gone into hiding. Chief among these is Jackie's grandfather and the mysterious "Unicorn".
Although his grandfather is teaching Jackie the secrets of his school, he forbids him to fight and insists he gets a job to support them. After failing to find employment, he is persuaded by the leader of a bogus martial-arts school to use his skill to fight all-comers for money and so boost their reputation.
However, Jackie's decision to re-name the school after his grandfather's style of Kung Fu leads to tragedy. The assassins track down his grandfather and kill him and Jackie's life is only saved by the arrival of the "Unicorn". Naturally, Jackie swears vengeance and the "Unicorn" teaches him "Emotional Kung Fu" in preperation for the final showdown with the Qing Assassins.

This is the first time that Jackie wrote and directed and, even at this early stage of his career, his typical style and hall-marks are apparent. Although the film is a bit formulaic, there's plenty of visual and object-oriented slapstick comedy as Jackie defeats challengers in a variety of disguises before the inevitable face off.

The restoration isn't too bad, although the sound quality is a little variable at times and it certainly would have been better with the original soundtrack and subtitles rather that dubbed. Nevertheless, it's an enjoyable early film and shows the great potential of one of the finest actors of his generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
Slapstick master at his hilarious best! Jackie chan as only he can do. Laughed all the way! Must be seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before the US got to re-brand him!, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
total classic from Mr C, back when he was less of a Human- catalogue to numerous A&E dept;s!
So glad I could find it on disc, & not at a 'collectors' price tag.
Happy Camper alert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars chans directional debut, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
quite funny, esp when jackie chan is dressed as a woman. Little bit silly but in a good way for those that love kung fu and jackie chan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i cant rate this film, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mike "M.G" (Greater Manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fearless Hyena [DVD] (DVD)
I purchaised this film and it arrived today 21/02/2013! Great i thought as i havent seen this movie, so i put the disc in the dvd player as you do then i watched the interview with jackie chan then went through the rest of the trailers (so far so good).......that was untill i tried to play the movie itself i clicked on play and it either took me back to were i was or it went into the bonus sellection.....id been sold a dud so still havent seen it so really cant rate it!!! Though i will have to add one star just so i can send this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fearless Hyena [DVD]
Fearless Hyena [DVD] by Kenneth Tsang (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: 0.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews