Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly original.
I was never a huge fan of character comics but in recent times i have come to like both Al Murray's pub landlord and this, Rich Hall's Otis Lee Crenshaw. Hall has created a brilliantly original character from the streets of Tennessee and provides a fantastic hour plus of entertainment on this DVD.
Originally i was put off by the cover of the DVD but eventually chose...
Published on 12 Jan 2005 by P. Bennett

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound
Very disappointed, unable to tell almost all of what was said. I'm sure, judging by the audience's reaction, it was very funny.
Published 7 months ago by Ivan tasker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly original., 12 Jan 2005
By 
P. Bennett "peab999" (UK, Rochester.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I was never a huge fan of character comics but in recent times i have come to like both Al Murray's pub landlord and this, Rich Hall's Otis Lee Crenshaw. Hall has created a brilliantly original character from the streets of Tennessee and provides a fantastic hour plus of entertainment on this DVD.
Originally i was put off by the cover of the DVD but eventually chose to part with my hard earned cash and i have to say i'm delighted i did. Rich Hall is fantastic entertainment as Otis Lee Crenshaw incorporating both stand-up and comedy songs, which are very amysing, into his act. He is incredibly witty and this shows in the DVD during the occasions where he chooses to make certain audience members squirm.
Rich Hall has won the coveted Perrier Award, The Adelaide Festival Fringe Award and the Time Out Comedy Award for his character and he is fully deserving judging by the content on this DVD. Don't be put off by the cover or even character comics like i was originally. This is genuinley funny and a great example of Rich Hall's fantastic comic ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music & Laughter, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
On this fabulous DVD, recorded live at London's Comedy Store, comedian Rich Hall is at his finest and funniest as his alter-ego - the country singer/songwriter, Otis Lee Crenshaw.

With his band, The Black Liars, Otis perform some great songs that have memorable tunes and very humorous lyrics. Otis also throws in some superb one-liners and makes some amusing observations about country music and life in general.

My favourite songs on here are "Drunk", "Trailerland" (featuring the lovely Catherine Porter) and "He Almost Looks Like You" but, to be honest, all the songs are wonderful and will induce huge bouts of laughter. I loved his hilarious dissection of the lyrics to the Elvis song "Jailhouse Rock".

This show really is a laugh-a-minute from start to finish and Otis even raises a few laughs at the expense of some members of the audience. Also included is a CD that contains the songs "Uncle Muncie", "Trailerland" and "Women Call It Stalking".

I think that lots of people will enjoy this DVD and appreciate the songs and the humour regardless of whether they normally like country music or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Mar 2009
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent, enjoyable and origional. This is one of my favourite comedy DVD's because it never gets tired or old thanks to the stand out lyrics and performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny across the pond too!, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As for as I know, this has not been released in the US. Thus, after seeing some of Rich Hall's work on the television, I came across this DVD on the Amazon UK site. This was the first item that I ordered from Amazon UK to be shipped to the US. Since this DVD is encoded for DVD Region 2, it took some un-named hoops to jump through to watch it in the States, but it was worth it.

I do not regret the expense and time of re-importing this man's work back into America. While you might let him live in the UK on and off, his comedy has its roots in American culture. 'Otis Lee Crenshaw' is a hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Very disappointed, unable to tell almost all of what was said. I'm sure, judging by the audience's reaction, it was very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy treat, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I take my comedy seriously and found myself really enjoying this. Stand up with song (that I see is becoming popular again with acts such as Izzy Suttie / David O Docherty - excuse any spelling errors) done well here.

7.5 out of 10

Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid comedy gold, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One of my favorite comedy DVDs. The music is pretty good, but the humor is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Otis Lee Crenshaw, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Hughes (Stockton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Very funny footage of a master comedian. Rich Hall is at his best playing a jail bird from the Southern States of the USA. Great backing musicians help bring this unique comedy to life. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screamingly funny !!I laughed until I stopped., 21 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Rich Hall has a fantastically simple way of making people laugh. He is clever and has a very obvious gift for rhmye. This video showcases the best he has to offer. I was at the comedy store the night this was recorded and it is just as good if not better on video.
Buy it. What the heck buy 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars otis lee crenshaw - london not tennessee, 28 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Absoloutely brilliant, very, very funny. enough to brighten the dullest of days. Buy it guaranteed laughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb301f39c)

This product

Otis Lee Crenshaw And The Black Liars [DVD] [2001]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews