Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for on the move!
This edition of scrabble if you want a travel version but are not too worried about space (it is bulkier than the magnetic travel edition, but is much more durable).

The tile holders slot into place under one side of the game board (which lifts up on both sides) and the tiles and bag are stored under the other side keeping everything together in one handy unit...
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by Gamesfreak

versus
52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very well made....
For anyone who enjoys playing Scrabble, and like us, only gets the chance when on holiday then the travel edition is perfect for you. However, I agree with an earlier reviewer regarding the quality of the actual board itself. It is not as good as the original which had the holes for putting the letters in. This version is quite bulky, the hinges break easily and we have...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for on the move!, 10 Nov 2006
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
This edition of scrabble if you want a travel version but are not too worried about space (it is bulkier than the magnetic travel edition, but is much more durable).

The tile holders slot into place under one side of the game board (which lifts up on both sides) and the tiles and bag are stored under the other side keeping everything together in one handy unit. The tiles slide into the holders and click nicely into place on the board.

There is no need for pen and paper as the unit has a handy scoring system with sliders on each side of the board. The sides are numbered 1-4 as are the tile holders so if you need to postopone game play you know which is score and which tiles are yours. If you do have to stop play mid-game, there is no need to worry as the tile holders fold over holding your tiles in place and store neatly away under the board and because the tiles click into place on the board, this can be folded up without the tiles falling out.

The only down-side is that the tiles can sometimes be a bit tricky to lift out of the holders and when you go to remove the tiles from the board at the end of the game, they have a habit of flicking across the room (so keep an eye on them!).

On the whole, this is a great edition - one of the best travel games I have purchased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product!, 6 Jan 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
I'll assume that you all know how to play Scrabble. Well, this travel set is AWESOME! The letter holders fit neatly under the playing surface when not in use (I notice a previous reviewer said they needed to be stored elsewhere when not in use? Not sure what they are on about there, just leave them under the board!) and because the letters are magnetic, you can just pop it all away mid-game and then come back to it!
To the reviewer who said that there is no scoring system, I draw their attention to the markers on the sides of the board (visible in the photo above) - you simply slide the counter to indicate the number of points you have - i.e. 'x' no. of 1's, 10's, 100's.
When not in use, the letters fit in a tray which slots neatly inside the board, and the handy storage bag doubles as the letters bag when play is in progress. The attention to detail on this product as A1.
We travelled the world for two years and this game was invaluable for whiling away long flights or just relaxing in the evenings...word of advice though - buy the official Scrabble words book, or fast-track yourself into a divorce situation!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very well made...., 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
For anyone who enjoys playing Scrabble, and like us, only gets the chance when on holiday then the travel edition is perfect for you. However, I agree with an earlier reviewer regarding the quality of the actual board itself. It is not as good as the original which had the holes for putting the letters in. This version is quite bulky, the hinges break easily and we have found we've had to buy a new one every couple of years.... maybe it's a good marketing ploy!

Also on the last one we bought the ink ran on the tiles, not only did it rub off when you handled them, but when the board is closed and they touch the tiles on the opposite side they can transfer the ink on each other.... hence we played one game wondering who had the blank only to find it had been played as a 'U'!!

I do think Mattel need to improve the travel version, but for now as we are addicted to the game itself we will have to keep hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect essential for the Scrabble fanatic, 14 Nov 2006
By 
F. E. Mckinney "frank mckinney" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
You can play up to 3 other people on the official Scrabble board, with all the tiles, word score boxes and more, but this is ideal for use in a car (maybe not while you're driving!), bus, train, plane, etc.

The letter tiles clip securely onto the board, scores are kept on the side using smart number sliders, and even the player's tile racks fold over to hold each person's tiles in place between turns. If the game has to be interrupted, the racks fit under the board and the board folds over on itself to store the game in progress until everyone is ready to go again. I say 'nearly' in the title only because there doesn't seem to be enough room to store all the tiles, bag and rules in the folding box that makes up the board. Other than that, this is a great way to get your Scrabble fix, and for the price it can't be beat. Get this for travel and the deluxe wooden set for home play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with the quality, 21 May 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
I was really disappointed with the quality of this product. This game was of a very poor standard!! The letters were printed badly some only just being on the tile and some had the value for each letter missing!! Also after playing 3 games the numbers representing the score scale on the edge of the board had rubbed off and were useless!! I have owned travel scrabble previously and the product was of a much better quality than this!! Only missing letters forced a new purchase!! Game has been trashed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless Design or Execution - Don't Buy Until Sorted, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Stewart Gillies (Stevenage, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
I've had two examples of the board supplied by Amazon - both suffered from the same problem: the catch which holds the board shut in transit does not function effectively. In the first example it was Okish if the board had no tiles on it, the second was worse, the catch did not hold the board shut at all - even with no tiles on the board.

Amazon performed very well - the replacement for the first board arrived the day after raising the return request - excellent.

I've now requested a refund because of the awful design &/ or execution by Mattel means that there is no point in requesting a further example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't get normal Scrabble..., 26 Nov 2003
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Everyone knows Scrabble. This toys mistake is that it calls itself Travel Scrabble. It's not just for travelling. It should be called "letters that stay on the space they started on Scrabble". There's just no point getting the original version when it takes just one knock to redistribute every letter over the Board. Or am I the only clumsy one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect - but not quite!, 8 Dec 2007
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
I was looking for a replacement for my travel magnetic scrabble as the letters on that tend to fall off as the glue holding the letter to the magnet melts in the heat. Apart from that, it was a well designed set which was compact and everything fitted into the board when not being used.

This version is much bigger. The board opens on one side (not on both as per other reviewers - maybe they have changed the design) to hold the racks and any unplayed tiles while played tiles can simply remain on the board.

My main gripe is that shuffling the tiles on the rack is not easy as they are quite a tight fit. I m anticipating losing a few tiles before long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great game ruined by lousy design and quality, 14 Aug 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
If this is Mattel's idea of a "de luxe" edition (with a corresponding price), I hate to think what their idea of a "bog-standard" edition is. As other reviewers have mentioned, this product is very poorly designed. The Chinese manufacturer may have faithfully followed instructions from the designer or may have cut corners. The main flaws of this product are as follows:
a) Letters on the tiles and numbers on the edges of the board for the points wear off very quickly because they are silk-screened rather than embossed.
b) Tiles are a very tight fit in the racks, so the letters on the tiles wear off even more quickly and the tiles cannot be moved around easily in the rack (at least two hands are required).
c) Tiles fit poorly on the board in the rows adjacent to the hinge.
d) If the board is closed in mid-game, tiles on the rows adjacent to the hinge spring out, and I mean "spring", not "fall"; in my case, tiles shot across the room. Fortunately I was not playing on a train or aircraft.
e) The pointers for keeping score are poorly aligned with the silk-screened numbers, so the pointers often lie half-way between adjacent numbers, making it hard to keep score accurately.
f) If the tiles are stored in the case rather than on the board, each individual tile has to be painstakingly laid flat so that it is possible to close the case (as the warning label which Mattel thoughtfully provide puts it "the tiles must lay [sic] flat").
g) The catch which is intended to hold the folded case shut is either faulty on purchase or fails soon afterwards, so a rubber band (not included) is required to hold the case shut.

The old Travel Scrabble made by J. W. Spear (no longer available, alas) was vastly superior.

If you need a travel Scrabble, look for a second-hand Spear one or buy an app for your smartphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product...but also get a modern dictionary., 13 Sep 2009
By 
S. R. Patel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Travel Deluxe (Toy)
A great purchase for a long train journey or even a rainy day when you're stuck in the hotel (or home). Everything is very well made though I can see the scoring sliders wearing over time. This is not the magnetic version which makes it far better to use. I've used it quite a few times since buying it and I see no signs of the letters wearing out nor the tiles feeling loose in the slots. This is great value for money.
Get yourself a more up-to-date dictionary along with this though, using one from the 80's lost me valuable points when I was challenged...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrabble Travel Deluxe
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews