Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius on a disc... or 4!
Shenmue 2 is, without a shadow of a doubt, the finest role playing game ever created. It outshines it's predecessor by a mile a million and every other RPG game on any other console. Shenmue 2 was originally, like the first game, designed to appear on the Sega Saturn. But extreme in-game slow down and not enough memory (32-bit) made the games unable to run properly and...
Published on 6 Nov 2002

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Shenmue
Playing the original Shenmue while I was round a mate's house was the only reason I bought a Dreamcast. It really was a magical experience. Since then, I have been a mad follower of the game and was very excited once I heard about the sequel. I bought ShenmueII with high expectations, and to be honest, I was quite disapointed. For starters, almost all the voices are in...
Published on 1 Jan 2002 by Thomas P Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius on a disc... or 4!, 6 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
Shenmue 2 is, without a shadow of a doubt, the finest role playing game ever created. It outshines it's predecessor by a mile a million and every other RPG game on any other console. Shenmue 2 was originally, like the first game, designed to appear on the Sega Saturn. But extreme in-game slow down and not enough memory (32-bit) made the games unable to run properly and look as gorgeous as creator Yu Suzuki had hoped. And so his ideas were shelved, until Sega designed their high and mighty Dreamcast, with 128-bit capabilities. What this allowed the designers of Shenmue to do was incorporate amazing graphics, speeded up game play and squeeze in sensational storylines to marvellous effect.
In Shenmue 2, Ryo Hazuki is following his leads to Hong Kong to track down the murderer of his father, the honourable and legendary Iwao Hazuki, master of the Hazuki style, and as Ryo learns, also highly popular in China.
From the start, you are swept away with geniously designed landscapes and lovable characters that pull you in - unable to treat you to a decent nights sleep and making you phone work to tell them you aren't feeling too good to spend more hours with the console.
On his quest to find Lan Di, the murderer of his father, and to learn the truth behind the 'Pheonix' mirror (of which his father kept a secret from young Ryo), Ryo joins forces with some utterly distinguishable characters.
The amazing Joy, popular resident of Hong Kong and able to help Ryo through many difficult situations.
Wong, young child theif but good at heart and becomes great friends with Ryo.
Ren of 'Heavens', a street wise punk who's past is unclear.
And Xiuyang, a master of many Chinese Kung Fu styles, who will direct Ryo to becoming wise and to strip him of all foolishness which could render him dead when he finally finds Lan Di.
The world of Shenmue 2 is over 3 times bigger than that of the original. In short, there are more shops, more streets, more characters and more adventures, in-game mini games etc.
The town of Kowloon, full of danger, is the place where Ryo must find information leading to Lan Di and the secrets of the Pheonix mirror.
The most thrilling aspect of the game thus far is the following of a criminal to lead Ryo to his results, sneaking about with Ren of 'Heavens' and trying not to get noticed. It will have you gripping the control with sweat.
And Guilin is his final destination of this adventure, where the time spent with Shenhua, a girl raise by mother nature, is truly like living in a dream - the whole of disc 4 plays like you are really there as it will take you 2-3 days to reach Guilin by foot, and in true Shenmue style, it will take you hours of play to reach the end of the game with its amazing climax.
A fantastic treat for all Dreamcast gamers, every time you play this game, the Dreamcast will remain very much alive.
You will not be dissapointed. This game is finely directed.
Quite frankly, and I speak for many, this is the finest game you will ever have the honour of playing... Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath Taking graphics, Superb Gameplay. BEST GAME EVER ?, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
What a fantastic game.Shenmue 2 follows on perfectly from the the original shenmue. Its full of graphical detail making Hong Kong look superb with hundreds of shops and and endless amounts of people to talk to. A ridiculous amount of detail has been put into the graphics which adds to an amount of realism never seen in a game before. The style of gameplay has changed little from the first game but why change some that is already perfect ?.
Shenmue 2 is full of gameplay including whole arcade classics such as Hang On and Out run to name a few. I wont say anymore but this has to be the best game I have ever played beating off competition from Zelda and Metal Gear Solid. I have no doubts Shenmue 2 will become huge once released on the Xbox, for the while its a well kept secret for us dreamcast owners.
In my opinion shenmue 2 has to go down as one of the best games of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consuming, 15 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
This game, along with it's predecessor, is consuming. You will find yourself playing it for hours on end. The only downside to it that I found was that at the time I purchased it I hadn't heard that there was going to be third so when I got to the end I found myself slightly disapointed and hungry for a conclusion. I will be borrowing my friends X Box when the final installment comes out so that I can continue this game. Shenmue 2, though it is spoken in japanese with english subtitles, is still better than the first. There are many many more things to do to pass the time and it is fast paced throughout the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shenmue 2, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
To start with, I'm not going to say this game is the greatest game that Sega has ever produced. I would say that this game is the Best 'EXPERIENCE' that any developer would love to produce.
An excellent, deep storyline that will suck you in and actually feel emotions of hatred and love.
When playing this game for the first time, I was hooked. It instantly kept me playing for hours, THREE times longer then the original. From graphics, to sound. This game is the business
Shenmue 1 and 2 will never be classed as classics when be played on a dreamcast (I am a HUGE Dreamcast Fan) but had this title been released on the PS2 the whole world would have stood up and noticed. Buy a Dreamcast, Buy Shenmue 1 and 2. Live the life of Ryu Hazuki.
Genious game
Cant say much more that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i cant recomend this enough, 25 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
I first bought shenmue well over a year ago when it first came out in japan.Even though i couldnt understand it, i realized it was easily one of the best games i had ever played.Laast chrimbo i went out and bought the english version of the game so i could understand what it was all about.put it this way.The game was so damn good i had gone and bought it twice and not even considered selling either copy once completed.Then shenmue 2 came along.and it is even better than the first game.unbelievable.more of everything.story, locations characters, action, interaction and the whole game is bettered from the original in every possible way.please trust me and go buy this game.its the best u will ever play, but u will have 2 sacrifice your social life for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to a superb console!, 8 Dec 2001
By 
Andy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
Shenmue 2 improves on the original game in almost every aspect. The game world is much, much bigger and detailed, with more shops, attractions, characters and things to do. A superb feeling of immersion and involvement is created just by walking around the city and taking in the sights.
The game itself is a lot more enjoyable to play as well, with different approaches to tasks, jobs, gambling, and mini games to play.
One thing that may put folks off though, is that the voice acting is in its original japanese language. I, for one, think it actually works better, keeping it 'authentic' and eliminating fears of dodgy english voice acting.
Shenmue 2 is a great game, and an involving experience - the last great Dreamcast game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever, 30 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
Without a doubt Shenmue 2 is the best game out this year and probably the last 4 years. Ive played the Japanesse version of Shenmue 2 and I absolutley loved it. I may have used a walkthrough but thats because I cant read or speak japanesse but even at this disadvantage I still loved it.
People who have played the first game will know pretty much about the storyline and what to expect from the sequel. Shenmue 2 is much more longer than the first and with more QTE, Freestyle Fights and loads more characters. With a action packed storyline with the greatest looking graphics ever seen on a home console Shenmue 2 is the ULTIMATE GAME.
You also get chance to play some of the SEGA classics like OUTRUN, HANG-ON,SPACE HARRIER, AFTER BURNNER and a few none sega games like Darts, QTE Boxing.
The only down point to the PAL version is that it will have Japanesse voices and english subtitles. The Reason for this is that Yu Suzuki thinks it makes the game more Japanesse movie like.
But even with this set back Shenmue 2 will still be 1 of the greatest games ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Best!, 16 Jan 2002
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
The last few months have seem some AMAZING games accross all formats-i don't need to tell u that,as gamers i reckon weve never had it so good.However that what you probably dont know is that Shenmue 2 is the Best game available on the market-and thats saying a lot.Every aspect of this game is incredible,the painstakng detail that the developers have added is sensational.The streets of Hong Kong are a fine example.Walking down a street you notice children playing,people eating lunch in open air bistros and even cats washing themselves with their paws.
Storywise the game's pace is much faster than the first with much more excitement.Late night rendezvous,fast paced cross-town chases and frantic fights are just a few of the treats that this game provides.
I cant tell you enough how great this game is-just take my word,and all the other customers on here,and buy it.YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.The most expensive game ever made-buy it and you'll understand why its money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best RPG for any platform available!, 24 July 2002
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
This game is the best RPG games for any console. Playstation users have never seen such a thing before, a sign that the dreamcast is not dead yet. (but ff X looks great, too). For those who want to buy Shenmue 2: it's pure joy from beginning to end. Four discs of the best graphics (10/10 i say) a storyline not to be messed with and great gameplay. It's such a big world, it's hard to find you way at first, but you'll learn that. It's viewed in a third person look and you can do all sorts all stuff while you are waiting for a appointement: you can let the clock go faster, play some darts or games at the arcade center. Heck, you can even buy drinks and food. Stop reading this review, buyers. To earn money there's lifting boxes and casino and getting money from people if you solved anything. DO NOT HESETATE: BUY THIS GAME I GUARANTEE YOU IT'S NOT GONNA DISSAPOINT YA'LL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shenmue 2 displayed in all its glory, 11 Sep 2002
This review is from: Shenmue II (Dreamcast) (Video Game)
This is an epic of a game, to put it plainly, I coulden't stop playing until I had finished it. With breathtaking graphics and an amazing storyline, this must have been one the greatest games ever! This is a must-buy if you are a devoted dreamcast owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shenmue II (Dreamcast)
Shenmue II (Dreamcast) by Sega (Sega Dreamcast)
Used & New from: 44.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews