Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product
We are fairly new to the Jump Ahead series and got this DVD for our 4 year old daughter, who is 2 terms away from starting at school. She has not used the computer very much before, but leapt straight in with this game and was using it like a pro within minutes! There are many different areas for children to explore, all fun, and all with different learning goals...
Published on 20 Feb 2004 by iainmcr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Amazon
This item clearly states that it is suitable for Vista. It is not. It is suitable only for Windows98, Me, 2000 and XP as per the back of the CD box.

It does not work on Vista and I will have to return it.
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 20 Feb 2004
We are fairly new to the Jump Ahead series and got this DVD for our 4 year old daughter, who is 2 terms away from starting at school. She has not used the computer very much before, but leapt straight in with this game and was using it like a pro within minutes! There are many different areas for children to explore, all fun, and all with different learning goals. Parents can check their child's progress in different areas by checking the report card. You can also set the levels of the game to the childs abilities, by getting them to complete a short assessment first. It was simple to install and our daughter really loves it. The main problem is how to get them off your computer.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't recommend it highly enough, 1 Mar 2007
By 
N. Neicho "Sam and Abby's Mum" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
My 3 year old son loves this game and often asks for it over (I think) less educational games such as Scooby Doo. It encourages the children to learn letters, numbers, as well as letter and number sequence, sorting, patterns, deductive reasoning, time, and lots more all at their own pace. There were sections of the game which my son didn't play when we first got the game but as he has got older he now happily plays all of them and actually wants to do the alphabet race, or counting games, things that if I said lets sit down and practise your alphabet he'd run off laughuing!

Unfortunately he figured out very quickly by watching me how to change the levels on the games himself and sometimes does a level that's too easy for him - I figure he's still enjoying himself and building confidence but if you wanted to use this as a strict learning tool then I would advise only changing the levels after all children are in bed!

Highly recommended software, I am now looking at the Year 1 package for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent Jump Ahead Product !, 16 May 2002
By A Customer
With loveable friendly characters your child will be encouraged to explore the classroom jampacked with activities. Music, artwork as well as the more traditional learning subjects such as letters and numbers are taught with songs and action so that your child learns almost without knowing it. My son loves this program and it has given him the confidence to try to use the computer for other tasks as well. All in all this is a brilliant product that will capture and maintain your child's imagination for many months to come. One word of warning though - you might become addicted yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
I bought this for my 4 year old son and he loves it. It is easy to navigate and understand and the graphics are bright and colourful. He has quite a few computer games, like Reader Rabbit, but this is his favourite.

The games on it are easy to understand and not too difficult to complete. Some children might find some of the games a bit too easy, especially if they already know letter sounds, numbers and shapes and colours. Nevertheless, it still keeps my 4 year old entertained for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting School, 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
My son enjoyed this cd and it gave him a good head start in school. Its has fun educational games and is very addictive. There are 3 levels of difficulty and they recieve stars for achievement and a picture of an animal. They learn alphabets using sounds, phonics, maths etc...So, its worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with Amazon, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
This item clearly states that it is suitable for Vista. It is not. It is suitable only for Windows98, Me, 2000 and XP as per the back of the CD box.

It does not work on Vista and I will have to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting School cd rom, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Michelle M. Balogun "michyb" (warrington. uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
Seller dispatched this very quickly, and I received it within a couple of days of ordering,. My little one, who has learning difficulties had enjoyed this up to now, and loves the 'Rocket' game and all the noises. Lovely item and a nice introduction to computers at home for little ones..well done xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Year Old Daughter Loves to Play, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
Great Buy - My daughter finds it interesting and keeps her attention. she doesn't realise she is learning, but it has definately helped her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for younger age group, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
Wasn't compatible with my current PC, however managed to install suitable software. A fun game for the younger age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Uninstalled very quickly, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) (CD-ROM)
Bought for a 5 year old. Complicated even for me, i could not work out the idea of this, so no good for my 5 year old, we could not get out of the first room, no clues etc, very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case)
Jump Ahead Starting School (DVD Case) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
£3.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews