Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the decent ones, 8 Nov 2005
By 
S. Saunders (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with this 2001 offering on Bestie. It's definitely superior to "Best Intentions", which pre-dates it by around a decade. What I especially like about this one is that there are plenty of his contemporaries on hand to offer their views (with some 30 years' hindsight): the like of Charlton, Crerand, Summerbee, Sadler and McGuiness. One throwaway comment, too, shows that Crerand and Docherty still haven't patched it up.
My only gripe is the lack of any coverage of Best's days after Man Utd. He did, after all, make it to Fulham and the USA too, where a grateful public were treated to skills light-years ahead of anyone on the pitch, even although the great man was some way past his peak by then.
But it's all the goals and the action which really make this one a cracker. There are plenty, and you don't have to be a Best fan to appreciate it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blondes, dribbles and Cookstown sausages, 7 Dec 2005
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
A DVD that does the business. Great clips of Best at his prime - an extra has his 'top 50' goals including the 1968 European Cup final, the chip over Jennings, the evasion of Chopper Harris etc - as well as interviews with Paddy Crerand, Mike Summerbee, Matt Busby, Best's dad and others and old clips of Best with blondes, fast cars and landladies. Also has the man himself - and then wife Alex - and that great advert he did for Cookstown sausages in Ireland. Magic stuff, whether you're a Manchester United fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 31 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
George Best with all the works, a great documentary, great pictures of his glamourus days at United, a educational movie about one of the world's BEST players..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Maestro at Work, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
I'm old enough, and lucky enough, to have watched George Best play. I agree with Pele when he said that George Best was the greatest footballer who ever lived. Pele himself, Maradona, Cruyff, yes, they were all great footballers but I don't think any of them had the genius that Best was blessed with. He played in an age when great footballers were kicked to kingdom come, but he didn't roll about on the floor waiting for someone to run on with an Oscar or a bunch of flowers. He got up, dusted himself down, and went about the business of making the thugs look positively ordinary players. The term "this man could change a match" is bandied about with monotonous regularity, but it was surely first quoted when referring to George Best.
This DVD was made before Best died, and it brings a tear to the eye to see him being interviewed. George was a flawed genius, but a genius nonetheless. It's easy to overlook his shortcomings. I'm sure he didn't actively set out to become an alcoholic. This dreadful disease has claimed far stronger personalites than that of the "Belfast Boy". This DVD concentrates in the main on his footballing skills.
If you're a Best fan you will probably have seen most of the goals he scored in this DVD before, but you'll never tire of seeing them. If you know little or nothing about the man, then sit back and prepare to be mesmerised.
Sadly, I suspect we'll never see his like again. Savour this delight. It brings back memories of, quite simply, the most naturally gifted footballer ever to walk the earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you appreciate good football..., 1 Sep 2010
By 
Adam Childs "MSF Adam" (Global Citizen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
...get it! Even if you're not a Man Utd fan, watching Bestie play is a real treat. The behind-the-scenes footage and interviews are good - not too overdone - but, of course, there just isn't enough footage from those days but what there is, is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a United fan, this is a must! If you are only young enough to have seen the skills of Ryan Giggs and the flair of Cantona, this will enlighting you to the pure genius of Britain's BEST! and probably the World's greatest player, certaintly of his time. It also shows what a character Best is and why he is worshipped by so many!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GEORGE BEST STORY, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
I WAS JUST A KID WHEN BEST PLAYED AND NEVER SEEN HIM PLAY.
I WATCHED THIS DVD AND AS A PLAYER HE WAS GENIUS.
THIS MAN WAS BLESSED .
IN THE MODERN GAME TODAY IF BORN IN THIS TIME HE WOULD HAVE BEEN WORTH MILLIONS
I RECOMMEND THIS.DVD TO ANY GENUINE FOOTBALL FAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hubby loves it, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
He's already watched it 5 times. Good job I'm a Man Utd fan. Watching this makes you realise what a talented footplayer he really was and clears up some of the miths and truths about his behaviour on and off the pitch. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bestie, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
Georgie, Georgie! I enjoyed watching this and looking back at how every one use to dress in the 60's. He was a top player and I liked when he was asked about the chicks he pulled and he said something like we'd have turns picking girls up and taking them home. I also found out recently that the club he used to own (slack alice's) is now the night club called 42nd street (situated on Bootle street).
Still the goals he scored and the performances he gave were top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 10 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD] (DVD)
Not just a football genius, this DVD shows the context that George became, a true icon of his era. You will not fail to be touched by the warmth + spirit of George Best + moved by how events unfurled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manchester United - George Best Story [DVD]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews