Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 9 August 2002
Dialogue as well-crafted as "The West Wing", timing every bit as good as "Friends"... this is a wonderful six-episode DVD which you'll watch again and again. Great writing -- a winner because it's so well-observed and cuttingly funny, as well as fantastically acted. Forget Bridget Jones -- this is what young Londoners' social lives are really about. Just funnier. Can't wait for Series 2! The only slight niggle: the DVD only contains the six episodes, with no extra features.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 18 September 2001
Coupling is incredible. Never before have I laughed so loud at a sitcom, but there were moments where I had to put my head in my hands just so noone could see I was laughing so much I was crying. The best moment has to be the finale of the episode in which Jeff explains the Giggle Loop, perhaps because the rest of the cast is laughing as much on screen as you are off it, only they are at a funeral. Some of the insults Steve aims at Jeff are inspired, and definitely should be remembered for you to use on your friends every now and then. While amazing, it is not quite as special as the second series. It will still be the best video you buy this year.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 6 January 2003
I watched all six episodes of the first series of Coupling last night, seeing it probably for the fifth time. This is truly classic comedy, ranking (for me) together with Fawlty Towers and Red Dwarf as the best British comedies ever. I find it better than Blackadder, which is too mannered to bear repeat viewings.
The first series is mainly about Susan, Steve and Jeff - the other characters are less well developed. This is no bad thing - there was plenty of room for development in the 2nd and 3rd series, which were also very good, and all of the principal characters subsequently took centre stage.
This first series contains many, many very funny moments, often - though not always - provided by Jeff. Jeff is a distillation of the fears and inadequacies of the human male, ruled by his Freudian sub-conscious. Although he is quite nutty, you always understand where he's coming from, and his madcap theories will strike a chord time after time. Steve is the normal bloke of the male trio, but has his own quirks, and Susan is sassy and sexy (and, quite frankly, one of the most gorgeous women ever to have graced my television set!).
I suspect that this series appeals more to men than women, and reveals more about the male psyche than the female. The characters are not realistic, but (when they are developed) are very comical distillations of peoples sexual attitudes and behaviour. And who needs realism anyway? I'd rather have three hours of delightful comedy with a sexy edge.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 24 July 2001
Coupling is nothing short of a masterpiece. Considering it's lack of endorsement by the BBC the first time it ran it has achieved incredible cult status even gaining fans in america and this video gives you all three hours of hilarious observations and not to mention "scary jeff!" While the series does center around jack davenport and his girlfriend it is the funniest welshman in history that really makes the series with his stunning delivery of such lines as..."we're porn know, if one of us dies the other goes out and clears out the dead ones porn to avoid embarrasment. It's like your friend's dead...but there's a good side!" All of the classic set pieces of situation comedy are here in droves but while it may be an old formula it does prove totally new and fresh. The best episode is without a doubt "inferno" I won't tell you what happens as it will ruin it and probably scare the hell out of you...but I will say that it won several awards and with good reason. All round coupling is a must see...better than friends although fans of that show will love it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Coupling's first episode is a tremendous introduction to what we can expect guys and girls in awkward relationships to do in real life. The awkward dumping, the niceties, the emotional heartbreak and of course the importance of being in `the zone'.

Shot mainly in a bar Coupling uses some tremendous trepidation in Jack Davenport's Steve gearing up for breaking up with Gina Bellman's Jane and Sarah Alexander's Susan's converse over her dumping with Ben Miles' Patrick spells some sharp cheeky comedy.

For me the keystone to Coupling is it's ability to tell two different tales at the same time, interpreting different concepts. For example the opening in the first episode splits and cuts between Susan and Steve, allowing us to interpret one meaning when it means another. The method of two different stories continues throughout the show right up until its climax in series 4 and whilst a few of these stories are not the best they are a brilliant set up for what is to come.

Whilst Steven Moffat depicts excellent real life situations that men and women would rather not admit to, it is down to a wonderful array of protagonists that bring all these ideas to a vivacious surrounding.

The three men, Jeff, Steve and Patrick are all typical blokes who enjoy watching porn, like their fast cars and work a steady day's work. Encoded are glorious puns about women, drinking and general day to day activity that has a constant upbeat mood that never hinders on the dramatic moments of the series, whereas there actually are not many. Do not expect a soapy collection of love and lust this thanks to the writing, feels renewed and appreciative of the environment.

Jeff (Richard Coyle) is a revelation in this show. A character who over analyses everything and has the humour of a true comedian, No hyperbole here, Coyle creates a barbaric and catastrophically flamboyant protagonist with his material. His interpretation of "The giggle loop" is a series highlight whilst the section regarding his confrontation with the Israeli woman is a charmingly energetic affair.

Bellman, Alexander and Kate Issit (Sally) are equally profound in their respective roles, generating that feeling of closed off emotions and an annoyance as to why men simply don't get them. Kate Issit's constant analysing over her appearance has developed her character into the image of today's modern culture that will speak volumes to female viewers.

This series is consistently brilliant, analysing the trials and tribulations of everyday coupling that has zippy humour, physical and dialect, that will make you laugh for time on end

Other series are better, especially series 2 and 3 but this is where the magic started.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2003
I moved to the USA 5 years ago so I only saw the first series of Coupling this year. I grew up in England with comedies like The young ones, blackadder, Only Fools and horses....I read about Coupling from a BBC forum and came across the first series in our local video shop. I was shocked at how funny this series was and that it had took me this long to hear about it. After viewing the first of six on the DVD I couldn't turn it off, I sat and watched the other five. It was excellent british comedy at its best, the toilet and sexual humor was brilliant. It had me rolling all the way through.
I even told a few of my American friends about it they watched it and loved it, they even thought it was better than Friends and so do I. Can't wait to see the other series. Unfortunately the second and third are not available in the USA yet. I was thinking of purchasing a region free DVD player just so I could order them from here.
Anyway to prove how good this series is, American TV are doing the same Coupling show over here but are changing the cast, this will eventually replace Friends. I guess American producers must of somehow brought the rights to copy the story. the clips I saw where identical to the British version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2003
Few comedies make me laugh until I cry but this is certainly one of them.Along with Blackadder, The Office, Fawlty Towers, Only Fools and Horses and Father Ted, Coupling can make you almost suffocate if you try to hold it in.The plots are so twisted and clever, showing us the same situation from the viewpoints of different characters (each with a completely different perception of whats happening), series three actually has almost an entire episode in a split screen showing Susan and Steve after their breakup in the genius finale to series two (I am Giselle! That must make me Dick Darlington!). Jeff, why does he get himself into such ludicrous situations (Steve, I've got the key to paradise, and I've got too many legs!). His unconsious strip tease in front of his family and friends had me rolling on the floor. How people can compare Coupling to Friends is beyond me, they can't have seen one or other of them. Friends is about six FRIENDS who all know and like each other, some of the characters in coupling have only had about one scene or conversation together in the whole show. And the whole show is exceptional, it deserves to be up there with the best of them and shall continue to grace my video machine for a long time to come!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2002
Very few programmes on telly will make you laugh as much as this one. This is a product of a top quality script and good acting.
Its so good, that they don't even need to resort to the usual canned laughter to singpost the opportunities to laugh. The "spank inferno" episode in particular will make your stomach hurt.
Only problem is that most other comedy seems shoddy in comparison.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2003
Coupling is brilliant. Didn't like it at first on TV, but grew to love it. Once you are on their level, its superb viewing. Friends for Adults.
Series 3 is definitely on my list of must have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 May 2004
This DVD starts of one of the funniest shows ever made, and it's British!
We get introduced to the characters and learn how their lives are all connected. It is incredibly funny and you can watch it again and again.
If you have seen the other series and have not seen this one then it's definitely worth checking out, you will be surprised at what you didn't know happened! Have you never even heard of Coupling before, doesn't matter, this will soon become regular viewing for you as this DVD is so funny.
Leaving you wanting more, great value for money and just all round greatness
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD]
Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] by Jack Davenport (DVD - 2004)

Coupling: Complete Series 3 [DVD]
Coupling: Complete Series 3 [DVD] by Jack Davenport (DVD - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.