Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Shocker!
This movie was a winner from the outset - it could not fail; having all the necessary ingredients of a super thriller - coupled with a cast that consisted of some of Britain's finest talent of the time. Indeed, we could never view Barry Foster quite the same afterwards! It also included an impeccable supporting cast that starred Jean Marsh, (who had risen to fame at...
Published on 28 Mar 2007 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Addictively repulsive
I had absolutely no idea what Frenzy was about, or any of the controversy surrounding it, when I blithely shoved the DVD in the player on a Sunday night.

This may have heightened my sense of shock at the rape scene somewhat - we sat watching the scene in dumbfounded silence. It's easily the most disturbing thing I've seen on screen, as it gives the purest...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by fkoepping77


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Shocker!, 28 Mar 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was a winner from the outset - it could not fail; having all the necessary ingredients of a super thriller - coupled with a cast that consisted of some of Britain's finest talent of the time. Indeed, we could never view Barry Foster quite the same afterwards! It also included an impeccable supporting cast that starred Jean Marsh, (who had risen to fame at about the same time with the success of the award-winning TV series 'Upstairs, Downstairs') Jimmy Gardner (of 10 Rillington Place fame - playing an effeminate porter!); Clive Swift, Billie Whitelaw, Anna Massey and Michael Bates. But the leads could not have been more well-chosen. Alec McCowen was simply superb as the handsome, and rather 'gentle' chief inspector, who is married to the subservient wife who uses him as her culinary guinea pig! Played by the marvellous Vivien Merchant, she gives us an entertaining performance, and amuses audiences by taking delight in reminding her wonderful husband (who, to use his own words; 'does not knock her about, or make her do degrading things') that it was 'he', that had put the poor Mr. Blaney behind bars - and not she! This film does have its amusing moments, but I think I am correct in saying that this was the very first movie to ever feature the showing of the full length murder of a victim in 'real time' as it were - something viewers today perhaps might not fully appreciate at just how shocking and disturbing this was at the time! Some of the younger viewers might also find some of the acting just a little dated and over-the-top; i.e. Jean Marsh - too 'prim' perhaps as the spinster secretary, and Mr. Blaney too 'angry a young man' as the young fellow down on his luck. But then this is how acting used to be; an art form, rather than the concentrating and the relying on special effects to gather audiences. It was far more improtant to see the actors' ability to interpret their roles in their own way. I believe this movie would still be a great shocker to anyone who hasn't already seen it - even today!

Highly recommended viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love the quaintness of the film, 8 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
Hitchcock, one of the most famous British expatriates in the cinema industry, came back for one film in England, in London very exactly and he demonstrated in the early 70s he was able to build a cool thriller, in the traditional English style and rhythm and make it fascinating. The case is of course so quaint, so passé and he enjoys making thinks look the way they looked not in the 70s but in the 60s. He concentrates the film on Covent Garden when it was still a fruit and vegetable market, on their pubs, their dealers, their night life and their busy running hectic at times life. Today all that has disappeared and you can find the London Transport Museum where you used to have banana and orange wholesale dealers. Then he worked hard on finding the particular ways Londoners lived at that time, just after coal was banned around 1962. And of course his killer is well integrated in this extremely regular disorganized precipitation. The fashion is just right, the home furniture and various small equipment are just right, authentic, and yet the sarcastic eye of Alfred Hitchcock cannot forget to show the flaws and the drawbacks of this life that is slowly opening up to continental Europe and the whole world. The gourmet classes for housewives teaching them all kinds of French recipes that are of course deliciously failed by these amateurs while the good old bacon and eggs are getting out of fashion. But then we are in pure Hitchcockian fiction. A serial killer who strangles his victims with his ties and then dispose of them, both the victims and the ties together. An imbroglio that makes a friend of that killer be suspected and then, with a little of effort from the killer, that suspected person becomes the convicted killer who is no killer at all. He escapes the prison in the simplest British way you can imagine: he gets himself hospitalized so that he can go and have his vengeance on his friend who had had him arrested. And there the surprise will be total. Fiction again that shows a policeman who gets someone convicted for a serious crime and yet doubts his own conclusion and starts asking some more questions. Why did he not do it before? And he could have listened to his wife who, between serving pig trotters cooked with grapes or some partridges or pigeons cooked with cherries, had suggested that the suspect could not be the criminal for obscure reasons that have to do with feminine intuition. And he adds a good layer of gossip on publicans who both are tyrants in their pubs and informers to the police. That makes a pleasant film altogether whose rhythm is slow enough for peaceful enjoyment and fast enough for some thrilling pleasure. The title is of course one of these tricks Hitchcock was so fond of: he is not lying really, he is just overstating with a tongue in his cheek and that works all the time and we smile after the film since we were trapped into believing it was frantic and it was just intense.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly for all Hitchcock fans, 29 Oct 2003
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frenzy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Hitchcock's first film to receive an adult Rating is truly one of his best.The Plot is in a typical Hitchcock fashion, it is about a sex criminal known as the "Necktie Murderer" and like most Hitchcock movies the trail is leading to an Innocent man and he must try to prove his innocence by finding the real murderer who is his so called mate, don't worry I didn't give anything away cause it basically tells you at the start.
It is a truly remarkable film and it will be an absolute Joy ride for Every Hitchcock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fair improvement on the PQ of the DVD, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being the first on here to actually review the Blu-ray, I can say that I compared the opening scene (beside the River Thames) on this Blu-ray to the DVD and the picture quality is a bit sharper here. Throughout the film I didn't see a lot of difference to the DVD but at least it's clear that this Blu-ray is a bit clearer and sound slightly better. The special features are repeated from the DVD. Just worth the upgrade to Blu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of late HITCHCOCK & a key 70s film set in London, 9 April 2005
By 
Jeff Markham (Walton-on-Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
FRENZY is excellent and shocking in equal measure. Elegantly scripted by playwright Anthony Shaffer and with the usual quota of standout sequences - the camera's slow track out on to a Covent Garden street from the flat of the killer, a blackly comic, desperate attempt to retrieve a vital clue by breaking the fingers of a corpse dumped in a lorry-load of potatoes, and the droll understatement of the detective's mealtime conversations with his wife. Supremely enjoyable late Hitchcock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitch back in fine form., 21 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Frenzy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my absolute favourite Hitchcock movies; the cast is great, and (as always) every scene is a classic. Some people criticize the infamous truck-ride sequence for being too long, but they're obviously not getting it. In order to get a point across, you sometimes HAVE to show it in its entirety. In the "old days" (like here, the 70s) this was often the case. Today's audiences unfortunately seem to have a much shorter attention span, so you almost never find scenes this long in modern films, everything is usually over in a few minutes and it's on to the next scene. This particular "potato" sequence is just right, it's a pure joyride for film fanatics from start to finish and NOT a second too long. Finch is very good as the unsympathetic anti-hero, and because his character is such a bastard the whole thing is more believable. Cribbins is always fun to watch, and Foster is effectively creepy. Also look out for the underused Gerald Sim commenting on the necktie-murders in an early pub scene. One of my favourite parts of the movie, is when "the odd couple" (Massey and Finch) check in at the hotel. Why ?. This bit with that other "odd couple" (the two who run the hotel) is priceless, and the whole thing reminds me of "The 39 Steps". There are just too many brilliant scenes to run through them all here of course, but that only add to the enjoyment of watching this 30 year-old classic again and again. And no 70s fashion jokes, please. So what if fashion has changed since then, so have styles from 1930s movies but we don't necessarily refer to those as dated all the time, do we ?. By the way, just thought I'd add that the grisly rape-scene is cut in this UK video version of "Frenzy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Thriller, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic Thriller from Hitchcock set in London in late 60s great scenes around the markets and really good transfer to blu=ray.Highly recommended to all who like 60s movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling cinema, 3 Sep 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a fan of the suspense genre but Frenzy exerts such a grip it is almost impossible to stop watching! The fact that it is such a potent cocktail of violence, voyeurism, sleaze, and humour of various shades jars so brilliantly with the English tone of London in 1972, and the 'ordinariness' of the main character, Richard Blaney, is perfectly judged. It is the ultimate nightmare to find yourself framed so effectively as he is here, and the plot takes you through so many twists you cannot imagine, at the halfway point, just how far things will go. It's a breathtaking achievement - certainly not pleasant, but brought off with extraordinary verve and a most powerful sense of the workings of fate. There is a sharpness to Hitchcock's filming style that puts this up with his very finest films, and certainly the one that confronts the sleaziness of the events portrayed full-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully interpreted misunderstandings, 25 Sep 2008
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent view of showing how a simple crime can be hideously misinterpreted leading to a gross miscarriage of justice .

The observations of people from their aspects can lead to huge errors is beutifully borne out by the clever script .

The various perspectives sound very logical yet we know the wrong man is being implicated as the serial killer but hitchcock wants us to derive at the final conclusion -is circumstantial evidence ever enough to accuse and convict a person .

He has intelligently answered the query and left us to make our own conclusions regarding the controversial issue.

There is a typically humoresque subplot about the merits of marital life and the culinary delights of french cuisine which the master has delightfully ridiculed here as an english wife introduces her reluctant spouse to continental delights in a hilarious manner.

The crimes are staged with subtlety though there are some graphic scenes involving rape and murder- they are in context and give you a psychological insight into the killer's mind .

The movie is my favourite amongst the latter day productions of the master and is a very witty story as well as a tecnical gem -must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars prime Hitchcock, his last great achievement, 4 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Frenzy [DVD] (DVD)
Albeit not as glorious as Hitch's classical psychological thrillers like "North by Northwest", "Vertigo", "Psycho", "The Birds", "Dial M For Murder" and "Rear Window"; "Frenzy" has its own charm and beauty and should be regarded as Hitch's last great achievement in the twilight of a brilliant career.

The premise of the film is nothing new: a case of mistaken identity. A man wrongfully accused of serial murders, and he must uncover the truth about the killings and clear his name. In "The 39 Steps", "North by Northwest", "Young and Innocent", "The Wrong Man" and "Saboteur" we saw a similar theme. But, at least one factor makes "Frenzy" so worthwhile: this is Hitchcock's first and only film to be given an 'R' rating by the MPAA during his 51-year career.

In earlier works, Hitch generally preferred to imply violence rather than openly showing it on the screen, leaving enough room for viewer's imagination. But, in "Frenzy" there are flagrant displays of lurid violence, especially the first murder scene, which plays on themes of explicit and prolonged rape, and slow strangulation. Also, the moment in the rear of a potato truck during which the "Necktie Killer" attempts to wrench the evidence off the corpses' hand by breaking her fingers stiffened by rigor mortis. It has good thrilling elements as well as Hitch's patented ghoulish humor. Just like famous shower scene of "Psycho", this is one of the most memorable scenes in Hitch's career.

Yeah, "Frenzy" has unsympathetic characters played by unknown and non-Hollywood-type cast, no beautiful locations, no icy blondes, no romances, no high dramas, no MacGuffins... It is neither atmospheric nor mysterious, yet it has a realistic feeling that works on numerous different levels. Recommended... (3.7/5.0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb40d7ccc)

This product

Frenzy [DVD]
Frenzy [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
4.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews