Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent as usual
This is not a film I had heard much about, it not being one of the 'classic' Hitchcock movies. It is, in fact, the last movie made by Hitchcock and because of this, benefits from several decades of knowledge and experience. The plot, which is intricate to say the least, revolves around two sets of characters whose lives are inextricably intwined, although they don't...
Published on 5 July 2004 by Charlotte Wilson

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Isn't it touching that a perfect murder has kept our friendship alive for all these years?"
Frenzy is largely considered to be the last "great" Hitchcock film (no doubt helped by the fact that the three that preceded it were largely dull affairs) and as such his final directorial effort Family Plot seems to get forgotten.

And whilst it is by no means a classic it is a relatively high note on which the great director could end his career. Although it...
Published on 7 Sept. 2010 by IWFIcon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Hitchcock classic, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Dennis Ogrady (Sheffield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
Great performances throughout especially from under rated actor Bruce Dern. Story is of a fake medium who gets more involved in a murder plot than she means to. It's also quite funny in parts. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Isn't it touching that a perfect murder has kept our friendship alive for all these years?", 7 Sept. 2010
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
Frenzy is largely considered to be the last "great" Hitchcock film (no doubt helped by the fact that the three that preceded it were largely dull affairs) and as such his final directorial effort Family Plot seems to get forgotten.

And whilst it is by no means a classic it is a relatively high note on which the great director could end his career. Although it is ostensibly a thriller, it more akin to a screwball comedy which has great fun in playing it's audience right from the start. Particularly funny is the big car chase along some cliffs where the road is jam-packed with traffic only to become completely empty as soon as the chase stops.

There are also some great performances; Barbara Harris is fun as Blanche Tyler, William Devane has a perverse charm in his role as Arthur Adamson and Bruce Dern supplies some very funny scenes too.

There is perhaps some truth to the arguement that "bigger" names might have made more of the film (Jack Nicholson was one such name that Hitchcock deemed "too expensive") but for me a raft of "big name" actors would have perhaps spoiled the light-heartedness of the movie and if anything lets Hitch have one last wink at his audience (much like Barbara Harris gives us at the end of the movie) and reinforce the fact that for the most part in his career, Hitch was the true star of his movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock lesser known, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
T for Terrific, an intertwining tale full of coincidence with rip-off artists as heroes and villains both, moderate violence and a great script from all involved. Topping Hitchcock Yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent Hitchcock, 22 Sept. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
The last ever Hitchcock film is a good movie, but lacks the cutting edge that his best movies always have. Contrary to a previous reviewer I thought the cast were fine and William Devane, Karen Black and Bruce Dern have all done many other interesting films. No doubt that Al Pacino would have been better though!

The main problem with the film is that is never really decides what it wants to be. There's some light black comedy and a bit of suspense but nothing really ever grabs you like his best films. The screenplay is by Ernest Lehman who wrote North By Northwest and its perhaps no coincidence that we get a scene from that great film recreated here (and played for laughs) when a car goes out of control going down a mountain road.

Look out for Hitchcocks very brief cameo appearance its one of his best.

So its no masterpiece, but entertaining enough, and its still Hitchcock. So at the right price buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family Plot, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
A really very good film, that keeps your intrest, from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An under-rated Hitchcock, 21 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, its not Vertigo. But Family Plot is still an enjoyable comdey-thriller with some imaginative scenes and plenty of funny moments, including good performances from Barbara Harris as an inept clairvoyant, and Bruce Dern as her dopey lover, both unknowingly set on a collision course with a pair of dangerous kidnappers. Pretty soon Harris and Dern are in serious trouble, and it doesn't help that Harris is a fraud. Or is she?

Not Hitchcock's best, but it entertained me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars excellent film but dreadful picture quality, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
R. L. Baldry "Robbie Bee" (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Family Plot was a wonderful final release with the masterful director Alfred Hitchcock. It is full of suspense but has lots of dark humour. a wonderful fitting finale. Unfortunately the Blu-ray copy is dreadful. The picture is snowy expecially the nightime scenes and scenes with subdued lighting such as the séance scenes. some of the scenes are blurred as well. its a great shame that the poor visual quality ruins an excellent film. Universal need to work to rectify all the visual faults and rerelease the film in the quality that the film deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific entertainment, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Plot [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I don't especially like Hitchcock especially early or mid Hitchcock with the exception of The Birds which is a classic and I thought Psycho was a trifle overrated along with some others like Vertigo or Rear Window which I found too cynical...Frenzy and this,though, are great films and this one also uses the grim wit treatment of the former...all the actors are excellent and I think that for me it reminds me of the style of The Trouble with Harry,another classic Hitchcock and as underrated as these ones and this one.Frenzy [DVD]The Trouble With Harry [DVD]The Birds [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the very worst Blu-ray transfers ever!!, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The video quality in this transfer is dreadful but don't just take my word for it- read the official review on bluray.com.

As ever the same transfer done by Universal in the U.S in the Hitchcock box set earlier this year is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Search for the heir, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 1976 film which was Hitchcocks last is concerned with the tracing of an heir by a wealthy woman who hires a private investigator and a psychic both of whom are con artists who seek to cheat her. The real heir in the meantime has become a jeweller and is also a kidnapper to increase his fortune by demanding ransom's of diamonds with the assistance of a beautiful girlfriend. The two couples eventually meet and the investigator who is really a taxi driver tracks down the heir who has kidnapped his girlfriend for the finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Plot [DVD]
Family Plot [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
£5.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews