Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
A classic now in blu-ray! Excelent picture, exelent sound and what it's more, subtitles and audio in several languages, including Spanish. Check it out!!!
Published 15 months ago by Carlos

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Augmented Reality Edition. Still Full Frame!
Nice new packaging for Universals 100 years celebrations but this DVD is still pan and scan full frame 1.33:1! Dvd has special features but that wont temp me until it comes out in its correct widescreen ratio.
Published on 23 April 2012 by Mesalazinenick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Augmented Reality Edition. Still Full Frame!, 23 April 2012
Nice new packaging for Universals 100 years celebrations but this DVD is still pan and scan full frame 1.33:1! Dvd has special features but that wont temp me until it comes out in its correct widescreen ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic now in blu-ray! Excelent picture, exelent sound and what it's more, subtitles and audio in several languages, including Spanish. Check it out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally the correct picture ratio, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hot on the heels of Psycho the Birds, is a very interesting film, and although for me it is not as good as say Rear Window, or Psycho, it is a very good yarn. Using the technical wizardry from Walt Disney (Mary Poppins) the sodium process to overlay the birds, works very well, and as you watch you have to remember this is well before CGI, and everything you see is with models or real birds. This was Tippi Hedren's first film and much ha been publicized about the friction between her and the director. However this is not evident in the film. I am sure those people purchasing this classic know the story very well and like me were interested as to what has been achieved with the film transfer to Blu-ray. Well i have to say the picture quality is great, there appears to be a lot of work cleaning up the film, of cause the only thing you do notice the birds being less than real, the soundtrack is MONO, unlike Psycho where a 5.1 mix had been made from the mono mix. Of cause the most important thing here is finally a full widescreen after so many issues of pan and scan on DVD. I would recommend this film if only to get the only available original film ratio. I have to agree with most this was almost the last classic Hitchcock film, the final one for me was Marnie, which I hope gets a Blu-ray widescreen process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide Birds, 25 Nov 2012
By 
John Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This American Region 1 DVD is presented in Widescreen format and has been the best version up to now.
I hope the Blu-Ray version will be as good if not better.
With modern day computer graphics I am sure the film could be remade to be even more effective,but weather it would have Hitchcock's magic is a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hitchcock, 25 Mar 2009
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
Given that Alfred Hitchcock is probably one of the most discussed and analysed directors of modern cinema, its difficult to find a new slant on his work. Suffice to say The Birds in my opinion is up there with Psycho and North By North West as the very best examples of his work. The casting of Tippi Hedren is inspired and on the Region 2 DVD we see her actual screen tests. The film looks marvellous with crisp colours and crystal clear sound. I am sometimes wary of buying older titles as I have seen some poor transfers onto DVD.
The Birds has the usual mix of small continuity errors often associated with Hitchcock but these are minor grumbles. Its an excellent film with great performances, so four stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horryfying and vibrant thriller, 5 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
When Melanie Daniels (Hedren) visits a mysterious man in Bodega Bay, she and the townsfolk are struck by the vicious nature of the local birds.

3 years had passed since Alfred Hitchcock had sat in the director's chair for a horror film and in that time there was outstanding reviews for Psycho, the horror of a lifetime. That 1960 release was widely publicised and so there was a lot to live up to in 1963 when The Birds was released, and as usual for the British director, he knocked us over once more.

Psycho was a shocking wake up to the realisation of human madness and Hitchcock again gains access to a concept of realization in this horror by depicting what many would assume as normal well mannered and beautiful creatures, and adds a horrifying viciousness to the birds to give a sharp and tantalizing story that will grip and shock you right till the claustrophobic and nerve jangling finale.

The film begins, as usual for the legendary director, with a wonderful montage title sequence. We see a flock of birds acting unusually as the credits roll. It is a complete beautiful blur of wings and fighting with the screeches unmistakable and the juxtaposition of sound and motion gears viewers up for the horrific adventure to come.

After another wonderfully cheeky cameo by Hitchcock we are introduced to central character Melanie who, after a flirtatious debate with a strange good looking man, uses her influences to track him down. As the stunning Tippi Hedren makes her way to Bodega Bay with a surprise install for Taylor's Mitch Brenner, Hitchcock delivers a wonderful car driving montage again. If not as springy as those in Vertigo but the feeling of anticipation is nailed down. If you haven't seen the Birds yet and have read reviews, you will feel the same wonderful excitement I felt to, and it is definitely worth it.

Hitchcock after all is known as the master of suspense and one of the main reasons why this film works so gloriously is the fact the tension and surprise is built up in such a constructed free and significantly realistic way. What starts out as a minor attack on a boat turns into a town spread panic that generates tension and horror of the upmost brilliance, the suspense and anticipation is brilliantly priceless.

Of all of Hitchcock's films, The Birds is surely one of the best filmed. To create the shots of the animals sitting on the climbing frames at the school, to have them all swooping down the chimney, it is simply breathtaking filmmaking and as a viewer, you feel rewarded and treated to this suspense and appreciation of horror and the unnatural.

Once the birds attack there is never any let up in suspense as the characters try to find solutions and look for any way to survive and as in true Hitchcock fashion, he delivers a smart horror that generates realism with a swooping and smart depiction of the nature of the winged creatures that will shock and scare right till the end. Excellence.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Pan-and-scan version of widescreen film, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
For reasons best known to themselves, Universal UK have issued most of Alfred Hitchcock's 1960s/1970s films (The Birds, Marnie, Torn Curtain, Topaz, Frenzy) in pan-and-scan 1.33:1 ratio, although these films were originally shown in widescreen (1.85:1).

This is available via Region 1 imported discs - if your DVD player is multi-region - but surely the UK deserves a better service than this!

Come on, Universal UK - give us the same remastered widescreen versions that are available for the US market!!!

PLEASE NOTE: This review was written referring to the R2 release The Birds [DVD] [1963], but Amazon have also 'attached' it to the superior widescreen R1 release The Birds [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "hitchcock horror", 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a hitchcock classic from 1963. enough said. EXTRAS : are same as DVD. deleted scenes (4 min) original ending (3 min) all about the birds ( 1 hr 19 min) storyboards (24 min) tippi hedrens screentest (10 min) hitchcock - truffaut interview (14 min) birds is coming (1 min) national press club hears hitchcock-newsreel (2 min) production photographs, theatrical trailer (5 min). languages & subtitles
BLU-RAY EXTRAS : hitchcock monster movie (14 min) art card.PLUS 100 years of universal-restoring the classics (9 min).
100 years of universal-the lot (9 min). only one dissapointment, as this is a 50th anniversary i would have expected an audio commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birds, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say its an Alfred Hitchcock film, the man can't go wrong in my eyes. A very atmospheric film, great acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic finally in blu ray!, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has always been my favorite Hitchcock movie and to see it in high definition is a total treat! If you like The Birds as much as I do, don't hesitate to pick it up, you won't be deceived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Birds [DVD]
The Birds [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
£4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews