Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
A classic now in blu-ray! Excelent picture, exelent sound and what it's more, subtitles and audio in several languages, including Spanish. Check it out!!!
Published 13 months ago by Carlos

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Augmented Reality Edition. Still Full Frame!
Nice new packaging for Universals 100 years celebrations but this DVD is still pan and scan full frame 1.33:1! Dvd has special features but that wont temp me until it comes out in its correct widescreen ratio.
Published on 23 April 2012 by Mesalazinenick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Augmented Reality Edition. Still Full Frame!, 23 April 2012
Nice new packaging for Universals 100 years celebrations but this DVD is still pan and scan full frame 1.33:1! Dvd has special features but that wont temp me until it comes out in its correct widescreen ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic now in blu-ray! Excelent picture, exelent sound and what it's more, subtitles and audio in several languages, including Spanish. Check it out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally the correct picture ratio, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hot on the heels of Psycho the Birds, is a very interesting film, and although for me it is not as good as say Rear Window, or Psycho, it is a very good yarn. Using the technical wizardry from Walt Disney (Mary Poppins) the sodium process to overlay the birds, works very well, and as you watch you have to remember this is well before CGI, and everything you see is with models or real birds. This was Tippi Hedren's first film and much ha been publicized about the friction between her and the director. However this is not evident in the film. I am sure those people purchasing this classic know the story very well and like me were interested as to what has been achieved with the film transfer to Blu-ray. Well i have to say the picture quality is great, there appears to be a lot of work cleaning up the film, of cause the only thing you do notice the birds being less than real, the soundtrack is MONO, unlike Psycho where a 5.1 mix had been made from the mono mix. Of cause the most important thing here is finally a full widescreen after so many issues of pan and scan on DVD. I would recommend this film if only to get the only available original film ratio. I have to agree with most this was almost the last classic Hitchcock film, the final one for me was Marnie, which I hope gets a Blu-ray widescreen process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide Birds, 25 Nov 2012
By 
John Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This American Region 1 DVD is presented in Widescreen format and has been the best version up to now.
I hope the Blu-Ray version will be as good if not better.
With modern day computer graphics I am sure the film could be remade to be even more effective,but weather it would have Hitchcock's magic is a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Pan-and-scan version of widescreen film, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
For reasons best known to themselves, Universal UK have issued most of Alfred Hitchcock's 1960s/1970s films (The Birds, Marnie, Torn Curtain, Topaz, Frenzy) in pan-and-scan 1.33:1 ratio, although these films were originally shown in widescreen (1.85:1).

This is available via Region 1 imported discs - if your DVD player is multi-region - but surely the UK deserves a better service than this!

Come on, Universal UK - give us the same remastered widescreen versions that are available for the US market!!!

PLEASE NOTE: This review was written referring to the R2 release The Birds [DVD] [1963], but Amazon have also 'attached' it to the superior widescreen R1 release The Birds [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hitchcock, 25 Mar 2009
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
Given that Alfred Hitchcock is probably one of the most discussed and analysed directors of modern cinema, its difficult to find a new slant on his work. Suffice to say The Birds in my opinion is up there with Psycho and North By North West as the very best examples of his work. The casting of Tippi Hedren is inspired and on the Region 2 DVD we see her actual screen tests. The film looks marvellous with crisp colours and crystal clear sound. I am sometimes wary of buying older titles as I have seen some poor transfers onto DVD.
The Birds has the usual mix of small continuity errors often associated with Hitchcock but these are minor grumbles. Its an excellent film with great performances, so four stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "hitchcock horror", 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a hitchcock classic from 1963. enough said. EXTRAS : are same as DVD. deleted scenes (4 min) original ending (3 min) all about the birds ( 1 hr 19 min) storyboards (24 min) tippi hedrens screentest (10 min) hitchcock - truffaut interview (14 min) birds is coming (1 min) national press club hears hitchcock-newsreel (2 min) production photographs, theatrical trailer (5 min). languages & subtitles
BLU-RAY EXTRAS : hitchcock monster movie (14 min) art card.PLUS 100 years of universal-restoring the classics (9 min).
100 years of universal-the lot (9 min). only one dissapointment, as this is a 50th anniversary i would have expected an audio commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birds, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say its an Alfred Hitchcock film, the man can't go wrong in my eyes. A very atmospheric film, great acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic finally in blu ray!, 15 Jun 2013
By 
M. Chabot (quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has always been my favorite Hitchcock movie and to see it in high definition is a total treat! If you like The Birds as much as I do, don't hesitate to pick it up, you won't be deceived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 50 years still great!, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Birds [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this again after many years and it's still gripping and terrifying. I was waiting for the birds to strike from the moment Tippi Hendren walked into the bird shop and mistakenly freed a canary... it swooped and its wings flitted about noisily, heralding more of what is to come on the isolated island. A great movie and Hitch at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Birds [DVD]
The Birds [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
4.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews