Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !
All though its much different that the other baldurs gate games, it is a great game with improvements from the old. All of the people who said that this game was too much of a hack and slash mindless game have clearly never played it. The sound is perfectly fit to the environments and helps set the mood. It offers around 15-20 hours of gameplay. I almost finished it when...
Published on 16 Dec. 2001 by azar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gateway to the repetitive game
When I first played this game I was thrilled with the graphics, great sound, the voices and the water effects! The game was simple enough, hack and slash your enemies, pick up items, weapons, armor etc. and get kitted out for the battle with the undead, dragons, lizards and other strange creatures that inhabit this wierd and wonderful world. It's great! The first time...
Published on 28 Feb. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !, 16 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
All though its much different that the other baldurs gate games, it is a great game with improvements from the old. All of the people who said that this game was too much of a hack and slash mindless game have clearly never played it. The sound is perfectly fit to the environments and helps set the mood. It offers around 15-20 hours of gameplay. I almost finished it when I accidently deleted my save. For that I cant tell you about how it ends. The graphics are unbelievable. The spells, and character movement are some of the best I have ever seen. You can rotate the camera 360 degrees to give you a choice of camera angle, and to apreciate the detail. In my opinion, one of the absolute best features is the water. The ripples follow you and spread out to the walls, where it bounces back just like real water. If you throw something in the water, the rings go off around it. The gameplay is also impressive. You bacicaly run around and talk to people, solve puzzles and kill bad guys. If I were to have to name 1 bad feature, it would have to be its too short. Its longer than most games, but I just about beat it in a week. Other than that, this is easily one of the best ps2 games out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly addictive, 19 Dec. 2002
By 
M. Simmonds (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
Baldur's Gate arrives on the PS2 with great effect. I much enjoyed playing it on the PC and a good job has been made of transfering it to the PS2. The game basically consists of hacking and slashing your way through a vast number of levels. There are also puzzles to solve, so a bit of thought is required. You can play as a human, elf or dwarf, each having different areas of skill. The key is to collect as much gold and experience points as possible, in order to improve your character's weapons, armour and skill levels. There is also the challenge of assigning experience points to your advantage during different points of the game. For example, with the elf it is better to concentrate points on a particular spell to make it more effective, rather than have a wider range of weaker spells.
The graphics are fantastic and it's great to try and complete the game with all the characters. As mentioned in a previous review, the number of available characters is slightly disappointing compared to the PC version. However, each of the characters here has a wide range of skills.
It is also possible to import a character from a previously completed game into a new game in order to keep improving the character's level. The disadvantage of this is that the game becomes very easy even on the hard level since the monsters are no match for you.
This is one of the most addictive games I've played on the PS2. It's great fun and I can't wait for the next version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest PS2 game ever, 31 Mar. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband is always playing rpg and adventure games on the pc, so I thought it was about time I bought one for my PS2. I could not have made a better choice. Baldurs Gate Dark Alliance is superb, great graphics, great characters in fact the whole game is brill. You get to do main quests and side quests, picking up experiance points, money, weapons and loads of other stuff. Some of these things may be good for your character, if not you can sell them to buy better stuff. The quests are great fun, and there is a good selection of places to go and monsters to kill. One point I would add is a bow is a pretty essential item to have no matter what character you play as some monsters are easier to kill from a distance. There are save places scattered all around and I would recomend you use them. If you can not carry any more items use a recall potion, sell you stuff, then recall back. Im looking forward to part two, which i've heard will be out in q4 of this year. Happy gaming. And buy this game, you will not be disaponted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The True Gauntlet, 19 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
It would have been very easy for developers to be less than bothered to make a successful conversion of this PC epic, but fortunately the keen dedication shows and what we have is a near classic game.
You get the choice of three different characters, an Archer, Dwarf and Sorcerous, each with their own speciality and individual skills and spells etc. As you preogress you can pick up items dropped by fallen foe or by searching the area, alternatively you can loot cash and buy all the necessary items you need from a talkative merchant, likewise you can sell old items for more powerful items.
During you travels you will come across people who need your assistance in fetching items or people and so begins numerous missions into places swarming with everything from Giant Spiders to Frost Giants. It's all done in a tongue in cheek style typical of Forgotten Realms novels and gaming that will appeal to fans.
The game has superb detail running throughout, winds blow trees in the breeze and running upon cobbled stone you may see a scurrying rat. All this is heightened by the audio, in the sewars you hear a splash and momentarilly freeze waiting for a creature to emerge and within the mountains you hear the infamous sound of howling wolves, it all adds to the atmosphere.
The gameplay is simple, consisting of attack, parry, jump, and spell casting. This also allows the user to be either tactical or opt for a more slash and hack style.
As the gamer you will always be wondering what will be around the next corner and it is this element that makes the game so addictive. The combat can be just as intense as you run from a horde of giant spiders trying to get into space to throw a spell at the chasing vermin.
There is also a lot to criticise about 'Balder's Gate', for example, it would have been good to decide to use more than three characters and compared to the PC version it does not have as many spells or tactics, relying more on an arcade style of game than a real hardcore RPG expected by fans who are more familiar with its PC predecessors. However, if you're looking for a more action based combat game that is like the game Gauntlet never was than this is a game you would be mad to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RPGs are dead long live Baldur's Gate:Dark Alliance, 14 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is going to be huge.Forget the slow paced video games of the past this is not a rpg this is a living world of pure adventure.You can select three characters at the start of the game.Gradually you can buy spells and potions for them and equip them with the neccessary weapons for the sprawling world ahead.You can even strip their clothes off and adjust what they wear!
The action is very hack and slash with a army of foes on your back at all times.With countless enemies people may find this game a little repetitive with the action never easing up.But with great visual effects such as water ripples and lighting effects the game is pleasing to watch.
A great game for people who love adventures and quests but for those who hate action, in your face, better stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive action RPG, 5 Jan. 2002
By 
Neil Bradley "NeilB" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
I'm fairly new to RPGs but for me, Baldurs Gate was a stunningly addictive game.
The first thing that strikes you are the graphics - they are amazing. Its extreamly hard to fault them, from the mesmerising magic effects and the heat haze rising above the torches, to the incredible water effects that ripple out and splash around when you walk through it. You can literally spend 10 minutes just playing around in the water levels. The character cut scenes are seamlessly blended in to the game too and are very well done (note the animation on the bar maids two best assets!!). The magic effects are mesmerising
The gameplay is everything you want from an RPG, but with a much more action feel to it. The usual weapon/gold collecting and skill enhancements are all there, but the focus is on hack and slash. Also, this is avery linear, game, something hardened RPG'ers may not like.
Overall this beats the likes of Summoner for looks and playability, it really is a joy to play, but there is one draw back..... its criminally short (for an RPG). Summoner may not look as nice but it does last around 45 hours, whereas this took me 15 hours to complete, and I wasn't racing through.
You can of course do the extra challenges (Gauntlet mode etc) and re-play the adventure as a different character (which suprisingly does change the gameplay significantly) but you can't help but feel a bit short-changed.
In conclusion, stunning it is. An Epic, it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not like the PC Version, 25 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance
When asked what the best RPG is, most console gamers would likely reply "Final Fantasy", or possibly "Zelda", or maybe even something like "Grandia". But ask most PC gamers and they would most likely utter two words which have become synonymous with PC RPG's - "Baldur's Gate". Based on the extremely popular Dungeons and Dragons game, the original PC games used the same set of comprehensive rules that the board game did, but with the benefit of not having to wade through rule books and roll twenty or so dice at a time. Baldur's Gate not only had the entire mythology and rule-set of D&D, but it also had amazing graphics and a story line that adapted depending on how you designed you character, and how you played the game.
Now fast forward a few years, and we have the first ever Baldur's Gate on a console: Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance. But as with so many PC conversions, almost all of the cerebral gameplay has been 'misplaced' along the way. It is a well know fact that there are two very different audiences for PC games, and console games, and it is also a fact that console gamers are, in general, attracted to more action packed instantly gratifying games. With this in mind, most developers making a PC conversion tend to modify, to a greater or lesser extent, the levels of action and brain work in a game.
Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance, is one such game. Gone are the extensive character creation options of the PC version, and in there place is the option to choose between three generic characters (an Elven Sorceress, a Human Archer, a Dwarf Fighter and a secret character who requires unlocking). As in the PC version these characters gain experience as you progress through the game, and you can customize the attributes (like Strength and Proficiency with different weapons). However, the most important difference between the two games is the story line. Every RPG lives or dies by its story line and frankly this is Dark Alliance's weak point. The fact is that the storyline is rather detached from the gameplay, the story is driven by the odd encounter with a certain Dwarf chieftain, or a maiden in distress. These characters then give you a task (which almost invariably involves finding and killing something). And this is pretty much how the story unfolds.
So, with a game now so reliant onit's gamplay, how does Dark Alliance fare? Thankfully, not too badly; gone are the quazi turn based encounters of the PC games, and in their place is a real time combat system. You now have a lot more control over you characters movement; controlling them directly instead of through a point and click interface. And the combats between you and the hoards of Orcs, Goblins and whole host of other such enemies, is defiantly an intense and challenging experience. The magic system is also very different, instead of selecting and memorizing thirty or so spells, your character has just a few spells that aid him or her in combat.
The most noticeable difference in this conversion is undoubtedly the graphics. This is where the game excels. Never before has the Forgotten Realms (the location within the Dungeons and Dragons game world in which Baldur's Gate is set) looked so beautiful. The now completely 3D world has a polish to it that few RPG's can match. In addition, the rousing sound track, and effects are well above average for an RPG, and every character with whom you interact now has very convincing voice acting.
In terms of longevity, this game can't hope to match the epic scale of its PC counterpart (which game on 4 CD's, and had to install a massive amount of data to a hard disk). However, this is not a short game, it contains at least thirty hours of gaming, and there are extra modes to be unlocked upon completion.
The final point, and possibly one of the best parts of this game is the two player option. Very few games allow two people to work together as a team, instead of against each other. Yet Dark Alliance allows two players to team up and take on the masses of nasties that await them. This is great fun, and means that you can plan fights more tactically, or just wade in with double the number of flailing sword arms.
In summery, if you are what the games developers see as a typical console gamer, i.e. someone who likes the instant gratification of a quick blast of arcade gamplay, but with a story along the way, then this game will be perfect. However, if you are looking for similar gameplay and strategy elements that were present in the PC versions of Baldur's Gate, this game may come as a bit of a disappointment.

Graphics 9
Sound 8
Gameplay 7
Lifespan 8
Overall 8
A fine fantasy adventure RPG set in the rich world of Baldur's Gate. Great for action fans, but may disappoint players of the PC games looking for strategy and depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Gateway to the repetitive game, 28 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first played this game I was thrilled with the graphics, great sound, the voices and the water effects! The game was simple enough, hack and slash your enemies, pick up items, weapons, armor etc. and get kitted out for the battle with the undead, dragons, lizards and other strange creatures that inhabit this wierd and wonderful world. It's great! The first time. When you complete the game, you get the chance to play in Extreme mode! Wow! It really isn't that much harder, and the story is EXACTLY the same! How boring! Unless you missed something on the first time through, you are going to get annoyed when the NPC's say what they said last time. The only reward is unlocking a new character after completing the Gaunlet mode, but the character (A Drowl Ranger) can only be equipped with the orginal weapons that come with him, fine for the first couple of hours, but then they become too weak and you need a second player to make up the strength issue. Other than that, it is a great game, only lacking in the replay department.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I own., 30 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
3 years next month, that is how long i have had my PS2. Many good games have past. Spy Hunter, AC2, Futurama. But Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance is the beat game yet. I have had it 6 weeks when m friend brought his copy over and we played co-operative 2 player for hours. The next day i ordered my copy and played on it every day for 1 and a 1/2 months (and counting) until i had completed easy mode, normal mode and extreme mode. To get extreme mode you must first complete the game in easy, the complete the Gaunlet level with the secret character Drizzt. After compling Extreme i found that the disc had been scratched and i speciffically couldn't play with Drizzt. I was annoyed as i had expected to be rewarded with him so i spent more money on another copy just to get him. That is how devoted i am to this game. Devoted enogh to buy 2 copies just to get the secrect character (who is extremly cool!). This game is great but has no publicity. Now i'm just looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baldur's Gate - Dark Alliance, 10 Jan. 2002
By 
Andrew Johnson (Shifnal, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) (Video Game)
As ageing D&D players it was like a visit from an old friend. We play almost entirley in two player mode and find the game very engaging, with just enough action and puzzle solving to keep things interesting.
For old D&D players, there are a familiar set of character statistics and skill progression options to help you beat up bigger bad guys. There is also enough interaction with the other denizens of the realm to make for a reasonable simulation of a role playing game. These include friendly store keepers to keep you supplied with potions for healing and restoring magic powers and wide and bewildering array of weapons for dealing with the equally wide array of non-communicative hostiles.
All thats missing are chips and dips (as usual bring your own !)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2)
Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance (PS2) by Avalon Interactive (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £5.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews