Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter as an RPG: it works!
Of all the Potter games I have played through (GBC, GBA, PSX), this is the best. It follows the plot of the book very well, it's fun to play, and it has great re-play value too.
It is slightly disappointing that you can't play Quidditch, but there are plenty of other fun 'minigames', and if including Quidditch would have compromised the rest of the game, then leaving...
Published on 15 Nov 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only buy this if you like combat games
I have also played Harry Potter on the Playstation and much preferred this to the gameboy colour variation. Yes, it follows the plot of the book but there is far to much time spent in one to one combat. Also very difficult to see the screen in the night time scenes.
Published on 2 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter as an RPG: it works!, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
Of all the Potter games I have played through (GBC, GBA, PSX), this is the best. It follows the plot of the book very well, it's fun to play, and it has great re-play value too.
It is slightly disappointing that you can't play Quidditch, but there are plenty of other fun 'minigames', and if including Quidditch would have compromised the rest of the game, then leaving it out was a good decision. (Real Quidditch fans should stick to the PSX version.)
The standard RPG format works very nicely: 'random' battles leading to turn-based combat, combat-experience improving your character, money earned being used to buy items, and the occasional 'boss' fight to really challenge you, all fitting in cleverly with the plot of the book.
The most interesting feature of the game is the 'Famous Witches and Wizards' cards. There are 101 (yes, 101!) to collect, and each one comes with a nice image and a bit of text on the witch/wizard it depicts. Early on in the game, you select a 'deck' to collect: most of the cards can only be collected if you are collecting the deck that they belong to (the rest are common to all decks). This means that in order to 'Collect them all' (ahem) you will either have to play through the whole game four times (once for each deck), or do some trading with a friend (make sure you collect different decks!). The best part is that the cards are not there just to look at: throughout the game you can receive 'Card Combos' which allow you to use the cards to cast extra-special spells in combat. With about 50 different combos to find and use, this game has a lot of longevity!
Overall this is a surprisingly deep, involving game, with solid gameplay and well-thought-out detail. It's amazing it fits on the cartridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
Fantastic game.It does take a bit of working out but it is great fun even if you haven't seen the film.I am a 32 year old mum and used to race my 7 year old son to play it.Very addictive and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Boy Colour game ever, 17 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
This game is the best game I have got. The games you play in are fun and exciting and the bosses and enemys are quite a challenge. Even though you cannot play Quidditch in this game it is still the best game for me. Absolutely amazing game and I woild certainly reccommend it to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleasing and entertaining, 17 Jan 2007
By 
James Rellegue (london,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
i bought it and played it when i was 9,(im currently 11)enjoyed it very much,i think this harry potter game is better than the GBA version....ok about the game....

Graphics:9(good graphics for this system)

sound:9(some musics are very memorable and gives the atmosphere of this game)

gamplay:10(liked the turn-based battling controls were easy,and collecting 101 cards is very hard!)

Replayablity:5(this game can get good at replaying,but i only replayed it once)

over all:10

very good game.....recommended game for such an old handheld!(if i were u i would buy this as this game is very good and excellent!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
Fabulous bit of nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tricky!, 1 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
I absolutely love Harry Potter so when I got a gameboy I had to get this. The game is actually harder than I thought it would be but that makes it more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
I remember this game when i was a kid! loved it so much and no other retro games compared to it. It has a lot of hidden details and features for such an old game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo Stuff, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
As always, this is another great product and it has completely met my expectations. As such, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite games ever!, 15 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
I got this game when it first came out in 2001 when i was 9 years old, i am now 20 and it is still a game that i am replaying over and over again.
It sticks with the story line in a very detailed way and has plenty of tasks to keep you busy.
The new Harry Potter games they are bringing out on DS are nothing compared to the original game boy colour versions, including Chamber of Secrets.
I strongly recommend both games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of The best games i`v played., 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) (Video Game)
Harry Potter for Gameboy color is great.Harry does lots of real life things like:sleeping and talking but the best thing is being able to talk.Quite a few things are hard but once you get into the swing of things its a great game and definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC)
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (GBC) by Electronic Arts (Game Boy Color)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews