Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable!!!!
This is probably the best game I have ever played. If you are already an MGS fan you will be blown away , but even if you can't tell your Solid Snakes from your Revolver Ocelots, you will find the game easy to pick up and play, yet engaging, downright fun and containing hours of gameplay. Be prepared to be up till 2 o'clock in the morning, playing with bated breath, as...
Published on 27 April 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH MORE...
After the success of the first game, I was so eager to get my hands on this one, epsecially after seeing all the "reveiws" of it and, of course, the amazing video clips. However, this game lacks everything the original had - an engrossing story, a range of backdrops, more than 2 guardians to fight. Furthermore, there seems to be a lack of puzzles and most of the...
Published on 20 April 2002 by asfdasd


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable!!!!, 27 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
This is probably the best game I have ever played. If you are already an MGS fan you will be blown away , but even if you can't tell your Solid Snakes from your Revolver Ocelots, you will find the game easy to pick up and play, yet engaging, downright fun and containing hours of gameplay. Be prepared to be up till 2 o'clock in the morning, playing with bated breath, as yet another plot twist or new challenge keeps your eyes glued to the screen and your hands stuck to you dualshock2. I mean, come on, what can be more fun than shooting down a Harrier Jump Jet with a rocket launcher? MGS veterans will be delighted with the brill new controls, weapons and fantastic gameplay, rookies will be blown away with the sublime plot, unbeatable graphics and the fun to be had with tactical espionage action at it's best. So quit reading this review and buy you fools!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hideo Kojima's 2nd Triumph, 4 Jan. 2003
By 
Kai (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
If you liked the first game, buy this right after you've read this review or better yet... why wait??? If you just like games which involve action, stealth, and a Hollywood style plot go for this.
The level of realism in this is phenomenal, if you take some time to look at the DVD Video that comes with MGS2 you'll find out exactly why the this game is so militarily accurate when, for example, if you're trying to hide from the enemy in a locker while they're searching the room you're in they'll be perfectly coordinated, the closer they get, the more your heart begins to fill out the silence and the Dual Shock vibrates.
Then there are the small touches, such as, have you ever noticed in Bond films that when James is in a gunfight, he always holds his gun UP? It's also explained that this is militarily incorrect, therefore if you push yourself against a wall, a manoever which will be perfectly familiar to those who've played the first game, you'll notice that both Snake and Raiden hold their guns down. Then try doing the same thing on the first game; do you see the difference???
The big snag for hardcore Solid Snake fans is that he is not playable throughout the majority of the game. Instead, you'll have to control Raiden. When you take a look at the quality of the game overall, you should be able to look past this with ease.
This game was made to be much like a Hollywood action film, with it's enormous usage of FMV and Codec scenes designed to progress through the story. Therefore, the first time you play this you will have to be prepared to sit through a lot of dialogue between the different characters.
But, all in all, if you appreciate a decent game, buy this and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic but flawed game, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
MGS2 is well an interactive movie. Hideo Kojima hyas created a masterpiece that is incredibaly interactive but in some areas linear. The weapons in this game far surpass the original as does the story which is far far better than 90% of Hollywood blockbusters these days. The game has fantastic ideas which all work perfectly e.g. the guards clearences when they know you are in the area is done with incredible realism as they use sign language to indicate your presence. The main aspect of this game is its plot which is so amazing you'll think every word of it is true.
Though its too short and slightly lacks replay value "the dogtag system works well" if you are going to play it for the first time PLAY IT ON THE NORMAL DIFFICULTY SETTING or you will ruin the game. Though flawed it is a game every dedicated games fan must complete once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passion still present but needs tweaking, 3 Dec. 2005
By 
Mrj Early (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This game shows how close we are to a film like experience although it would of have helped if it had a perfect story and cast like the first game did. Please do yourself a favour and get the PS1 game or get a gamecube and play it with current generation graphics.
The game isnt a complete master piece this time because it doesnt have a completely believable solid(lol)story like the first MGS. The memorable sections are cool but there happens to be two completely rubbish characters that were included to mirror the previous MGS memorable ones. But the games interactivity and epicness direction kind of makes up for them.
And also for most of the game you play as Raiden who sounds insecure and can be a bit ditsy. I dont like him really as hes the opposite of snakes defensive macho character. They are both an underdogs though, and are willing to do whats neccessary to complete their mission. And thats what keeps you going through the game looking forward to the next challenge.
If you watch the DVDs that come with the game you will see that its a cash in and rehash of the previous games greatness. And the pressure of the games release date made Hideo mess around with ideas and created characters from them, rather than having a well told interesting story first to go by. But he still manages to have a moral to the story though. Got give the him credit.
I compare this game to Metallica's new album. With its great original sound and direction, but ultimatley a mixed bag of ideas just thrown together. But you want to listen to it because it has the passion still that sets it apart from lesser bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good., 8 April 2002
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
Firstly, it is an absolutely brilliant game, but there are another 50+ ***** reviews, so nuff said. I just want to mention a few things. Firstly, yes the game is short, but play it for the first time on hard and WITHOUT a strategy guide and it'll take a while. I thinkthe concept of a snake controlled intro and then the majority of the game playing as raiden on one level totally original and it worked very well. I will slag the codec, the main problem being you don't want to skip valuable info ( that woman got on my t*ts). Now the main thing, the plot/cut scenes/etc. Regardless of what some say I found them all totally captivating, working very well with the game itself PARTICULARLY towards the end. e.g. after beating the second last boss(es) I didn't feel like going straight back in and found the long cut scene excellent. As for the plot and twists - fine, for a hollywood film it would be a bit excessive, but compared to other games its on a different level and hopefully an indicator for future games. ( Imagine a game with a plot as good as some of the best films) A highly original game and a benchmark for the future. Buy it. (If you haven't played the first, buy that too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but........., 9 Jan. 2003
By 
ian (eastbourne, east sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
MGS2 is one of the best games I have played for the PS2. The graphics are good, the gameplay is sound and the music is great. Some people have complained because you only get to play as Snake for the first part. Who cares, it's a game for goodness sake. What does it matter if you play as Snake or Raiden, it's the gameplay that counts. I would suggest playing on a high difficulty level as it is a little easy on lower setting's.
Now for the but. By far the worst part of the game are the video clips/cut scenes and codec moments. I really found Raidens girlfriend annoying and didn't add to the plot. You're best to fast forward her codec scenes and buy a Mills and Boon novel, if you like that sort of thing.
Alot of the video scenes are ok and are important to the plot and the game as they contain control instructions and important info for objectives. However some of them are way over the top and go on far too long. The final part of the game is a case in point. I got to it about midnight and the video clips went on forever. Also at this point the plot went out the window. I didn't know who was good or who was bad and some of the characters seemed to be computer generated anyway. I'm sure the man who created it knows what it was about but I certainly don't !!!
I would suggest caution. There is so much that is good but the bad points are really frustrating. They don't spoil the game but they do detract. I would advise renting it first or buying it 2nd hand. I'm sure you'll enjoy it but beware...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My opinion and your choice, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
This game seems to be a matter of opinion as you can see with the mass of reviews. Some say buy it while others say commit suicide instead. Here's my review to help you decide for yourself.
Graphics:5*****
Excellent. The best so far in any game on the PS2. Just as brilliant as MGS1 when it came out. Snake and his surroundings blend in so well together and the atmospheric effects are brilliant. The sequences are true masterpieces themselves. The characters look so brilliant and there facial expressions look great.
Sound:5*****
The music really is perfect. It wasn't til I watched the Bonus DVD then I realised how well it fits in. From a moment when Snake sneaks into a room with tense music to an action packed sequence which the music really helps you get into. The voice acting is brilliant. David Hayter is back as Solid Snake working alongside old and new voices. The only problem is occasionally the voices don't fit the peoples' mouths but that is hardly noticable.
Gameplay:5*****
The amount of gameplay is so much better than in the original. You can now stuff guards in lockers, throw them overboard and carry them around until they drop you some goodies. There are loads more weapons which you can use in 1st person view and you don't even have to get all of them. New additions are an M9 tranquilising gun, a PSG-1 tranquiliser, a grenade launcher and two different machine guns this time. Old weapons include a Stinger launcher, the PSG-1 and a SOCOM. You can shoot an enemy from pretty much any distance.
Realism:5*****
It really is realistic. Kojima and team even went to locations to accurately reproduce the scenes. Shooting an enemy is a lot more satisfying as you can shoot them anywhere and they'll start bleeding like crazy and you can shoot their radios so they can't call for backup and you can have them all to yourself. You can also shoot dead bodies and make a pool of blood around them.
Value:5*****
There is a lot of replay value. You have to play the game at least twice if you want to understand the story properly. If you want a nice bonus then you'll have to go through the game getting all the dogtags off guards(which is very hard in some areas). Very Easy, Easy, Normal, Hard and Extreme each have different amounts of dogtags and if you want Kojima's you'll have to konock out a good friend on Extreme. You can also watch some sequences with different characters like an old lady murdering a load of Snakes. Plus the Bonus DVD which is really interesting to watch after completing the game.
If you want it get it but don't let any review put you off. I doubt you'll regret buying this game. It's your choice. Forget the 4 star reviews with "Great...but" and the 3 star reviews with "So much potential", instead make your own decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
Simply brilliant and beautifully crafted action packed game, much like its predecessor on the playstation. Although short compaired to other games, its amazing visuals and sound quality surely make up for it, and, if your a die hard metal gear fan (like myself) you'l find this game has a much longer play time than seen at first glance, the fun method of collecting dog tags takes up plenty of time, and theres plenty of them to go around (30+ for each difficulty, add that all up and thats 300+ tags to collect). Bottom line is, this is well worth the...[price]...its now going for, and if you like the dog tag idea, then great, you get even more value for your money. Plus there's the excellent and involving story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH MORE..., 20 April 2002
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
After the success of the first game, I was so eager to get my hands on this one, epsecially after seeing all the "reveiws" of it and, of course, the amazing video clips. However, this game lacks everything the original had - an engrossing story, a range of backdrops, more than 2 guardians to fight. Furthermore, there seems to be a lack of puzzles and most of the game is spent wandering around the same areas over and over again. There are loads of neat touches but I can only thing of two occasions where you are forced to fight with anything other than the tranquilizer pistol. The music, graphics, attention to detail as well as the AI are top notch. The only quibbles is that it's short, the story doesn't make sense, the game structure's naff, and of course (SPOILER) you don't even get to play Solid Snake for the main part of the game. It was such a let down and it could have been so much more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Gear Solid 2 :D Must play, 2 Aug. 2007
By 
A. M. Goodwin (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid 2, is a sweet game in my opinion, the gameplay is good and the storyline is EXCELLENT. It's like a movie with it's cool and intense cutscenes(some may citicise this, but I personally love it).

The game is fairly old now, 2001 and it's only around now, with Xbox 360/PS3/Wii on the market, is it really beginning to show its age.

This is my first MGS game and it was addictive as f***, all the MGS games have been addictive. I finished it well over 7 times ^_^

Story:(9/10)
The storyline in MGS2 is EXCELLENT, very intense, descriptive, suprising plot turns and this and that, it shouldn't really be called MGS2 story, the "Metal Gear" story if you like, but MGS2 contributes an important part.
It's a continuation from the original Metal Gear Solid(1998-PS1) Which I had not played when I played this, which made it all the more confusing, so I'll sum it up.

Solid Snake and Otacon(two characters from the game) have gained intelligence that a new type of Metal Gear(Military bi-pedal tanks, which the story is based around) is being transported, and is under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Marine Corps, now originally Snake is to infiltrate the tanker it is being transported on and get stuff about it.(not gonna get too into it). That's the plot you are introduced to, but it changes and gets more complex. etc But I found it really good..

For another section of the game, you play someone else, Raiden, not exactly as good as Snake, he's a "rookie" but he too IMO has an interesting story build.

Gameplay:(8/10)
MGS2 is a stealth action game, which doesnt mean you run around with a gun and shoot all the guards to hell(you could on an Easy difficulty I suppose or if you were good xD).
The walls, cardboard boxes, tables and lockers are your best friends, these can hide you.

It's up to you whether you want to kill the guard, or pass him by without him ever knowing.

Graphics:(8.5/10)
If you had asked me a few years ago, I would have gave it a 9.8 or something, the graphics are VERY good and very detailed, though todays standards it seems dated, but MGS2 looks very nice, facial details and such are all well done, and the graphics are the exact same in cutscenes AND Game.

Camaera:5/10
I HATE MGS2's camera, its not designed for a 3D game, but it takes away some of the stealth aspects and is very jerky, you can see guards that are behind things and such, all because the camera is in the "air".
I got used to it though, xD but still -.-

Overall:9.5/10.
MGS2 is an excellent game and you must try it, hell it's not expensive anymore, you could perhaps grab it for £3-£10 New or Used. Its 15+ BBFC Cert is well deserved I suppose, but then again I was under 15 when I fell in love with it so Idc xD.

MGS2 was my first MGS game, I have also played Metal Gear Solid 3 and Metal Gear Solid:The Twin Snakes(remake of MGS from PS1)

MGS3, I liked even better than this, MGS:TTS wasn't really impressive, it was too easy and not as much storyline pump as the other two games..But it was still enjoyable enough to finish over once.

MGS's "rival" is Splinter Cell, in my opinion, I hate that game, others may like it, but I find it very boring and just bleh.. Just me.
It's much more realistic, but to hell with realism, I like balanced mixtures of stuff like cyberpunk and realism.

Unfortunately there's not as many games like MGS x.x
The Cipher Complex game coming out on Xbox 360 and PS3 looks like what I'm looking for, but I'll wait til that comes.

And speaking of which, MGS4 is also on its way, which is a direct continuation from MGS2 (MGS3 and MGS:Portable Ops are prequels, but benefit the story just as much) MGS4 will be out on PS3 somewhere towards the end of the year, if not, early 2008. I'll have to give this one a miss, unless they make it for '360 which they won't because its a PlayStation exclusive franchise -.- Rawr.

Thanks for reading, and I hope this did help you xD ;] Ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PS2)
£22.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews