Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best game ever!!!
If you have a PC and you like football you should own this game. Heck, you probably already do. My last CM game was the 99/00 season update. After missing out an update inbetween some of the new features are a breath of fresh air. To be honest, the gameplay, and the addictiveness of this game keeps you coming back. The new features like more media involvment, aproaching...
Published on 16 Oct 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't get it to work
I originally played this at the time it came out, and enjoyed it. I decided to pick up another copy, as I was hoping to be able to play it on my work laptop - I have a very young daughter, and thought I could play CM whilst in between feeds.

However...I have a Hewlett Packard EliteBook laptop, running Windows XP, and it won't play this. Having looked in...
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by Mr. I. A. Francis


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best game ever!!!, 16 Oct 2001
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
If you have a PC and you like football you should own this game. Heck, you probably already do. My last CM game was the 99/00 season update. After missing out an update inbetween some of the new features are a breath of fresh air. To be honest, the gameplay, and the addictiveness of this game keeps you coming back. The new features like more media involvment, aproaching the board, sending players off for surgery ect. are all just a bonus that make the game more real and expand the possibilites.
What makes the game so good is that their is no end. The challange is in developing tactics, then after a while realising that the oppositon have cracked your tactic and a new masterplan must be devised. So the game continues...tactic change after tactic change. Taking over a small club with no money and having to do a dave basset and wheel and deal in the transfer market to make anything of your team. Taking over a big club and buying zidane. You can do anything with this game. While the basics remain the same (trying to win as many games as possible and do your best at your current club), the constant need to update your tactic, or bring in new players, means that even when you get into 2035 of the game...its still as addictive and as enjoyable as ever.
Few games manage to still be as addictive after you've owned them foir a few months let alone years. Even if there was no seasonal updates, I would still be playing CM3 every chance i get.
I have no friends now...and i havent eaten for a week...but i've got leicester 3rd in the league...and life doesnt get any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
This game is supremely addictive. If you've got previous version it may not be worth shelling out for - there are data updates and some good new features, but the proposition remains the same. That said, this is a superb title. A few nights ago I sat down at 11 pm to steer my side through a few matches: I went to bed at 3.30 am, having seen them win the Champions' League! The realism is impressive - players becoming petulant when not selected, your choice stars getting injured at exactly the wrong moment. I bought Roberto Ayala for 19.25m, and he got sent off four times in his first season. Edgar Davids got sent off after six minutes on debut! This is an all too real scenario, and the game throws up many such as these. Very playable, and highly recommended to anyone who hasn't come across CM thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only intelligent footy game around, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
This is the only footy management game which features an intelligent database, where the game is constantly writing/updating info to the hard disk/updating the environment.
26 leagues running simultaneously/over 100,000 players/scouting features/hidden stats/coach + scout reports/reserve matches/u-21 + international management/complain to fa regarding ref decisions & to postpone a match/Respond to the media regarding ambition, player form rumours etc/new transfer system with much more control over players =loans/trials/part exchanges/sign on fee/bonus/appearance money/compensation/payment conditions/stadium + facilities expansion/Data editor/issue ultimatums to the board regarding many issues and see how they respond.
TACTICS WHICH AFFECT PERFORMANCE, team & individual instruction/with and without ball instructions, this is very detailed/effective.
This is perhaps the most comprehensive feature as lets be honest, all other footie games give u players/stadiums but aren't intelligent enough to make a differnce on the field.
To sum up, no other footy game gives u this much control over players, contracts, media, the fa, chairman, scouts, coaches, fans etc. It has the most intelligent game engine of any footy game, as EVERYONE IN THE GAME HAS FEELINGS AND WILL REACT AS IN REAL LIFE, to current/future actions/events.
Untill other developers realise that u need to be able to affect the environment u live in, console footy games simply let u play matches and expand stadiums, with no real thought to the gaming environment.
Even the version of champ manager released 6 yrs ago, is better than the current crop of other management games.
This is simply class !!
(There is also a messageboard on the net, which features comments on all aspects of the game/improvements etc and hourly feedback from the developers, which offers great after sales services etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give Up Daylight When You Buy This Game, 4 Mar 2003
By 
T Marshall (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
I'm not joking, this game will take over your life. You lose sleep, forget to eat, struggle to concentrate on anything else but the game.
The worst thing that can happen is that you find that a friend/colleague is similarly addicted, as you then spend your time when not playing; talking about playing.
I started the game innocently enough as the manager of Southampton. I quickly immersed myself in tactics and transfers in a (successful) effort to avoid relegation. I fluked my way to a league cup victory in the same season then found myself in UEFA competition. Before I knew it 6 months had passed and I had grown a complete beard down to my knees (OK I'm lying about the last bit but you get my drift!).
Anyway, the game itself is based solely on strategy. There is no actual physical playing of football by you, you just get to watch the commentary to matches and react accordingly. Sounds boring? Believe me when you manage to hang on to a 1 goal lead after being reduced to 10 men against Man Utd, you do not realise that such elation could be possible.
My main hint for this game is to scout, and scout well. Strategy comes with practice. There is no quick fix to this game, just like real life you can manage to buy the best player there is, but that won't guarantee success.
The secret to this games addictive nature is its simplicity to play, yet complexity to master. It is dangerous to your social skills though so think carefully before buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game ruined my life, but I don't care, 2 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
I bought this game in February 2002 and played in near constantly for months. I failed my exams at university largely because of this game, I didn't get a job over the summer and so I'm now utterly penniless because of this game. Then my laptop's power unit burned out and I don't dare get it fixed. But still I crave the game, nothing compares to buying an unknown Romanian for 1m and seeing him win world footballer of the year three years running, while guiding your side to four consecutive European Cups. Or taking charge of Southampton, avoiding relegation on goal difference before wheeling and dealing so well over the summer that you finish second in the league in 2003 before pulling off five major upsets to win the Champions League in 2004...
Oh, who cares about food and money, where's the number of the computer repair shop?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Award Winning Game, 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
I have just been playing the demo of this game, and I dont think there are enough stars to rate this game. The whole game has been improved, the new transfer system comes into place within the first few months, with full details of what it actually is. There are also new features like comparing 2 players between each other, sending players for surgery on reacurring injuries, sending players on leave (watch out they can go AWOL I found out the hard way), There is more media involvement throughout the game, 26 leagues will be playable and a feature I am positive everyone will use at one point or another is the ability to appeal against bans. If your looking for a chance to take your team from the 3rd divison to champions league glory then this is the game for you. If your looking to see if you have what it takes to manage a premiership club then this game is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, Improved, Football's Coming Home, 16 Oct 2001
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
Another Year, another installment of the latest game simply known as "Champ". The latest offering from Eidos is much the same as last years, however, new tweaks to the game contract system (inline with official FIFA changes) and an updated database make this an essential purchase for all PC owners. Plus, if you think you've got a tactical mind to rival Sir Alex's and more knowledge than Arsene Wenger in star transfers then you can opt to make the game harder (Yes, Harder). If a player you intend to buy is not well known then you will not be able to call up his every vital statistic, they will be fogged. Until you scout the player, your board are unlikely to authorise the signing of an unknown player. Brilliant.
Simply, Championship Manager is the greatest football management sim in the world and this years game is nothing short of spectacular. Expect to be playing until the early hours every day for at least 3 months. The "game" is so realistic that its a way of life, it controls your life and it is your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Game,,,,neigh.......LIFE EXPERIENCE, 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
Its simple, this is the greatest management game of all time.
if you like football and have ever wanted to realise how difficult it is to control a fully fledged football team this is your chance.
From trawling the slums of brazil for the star of the future or outbidding a major european contender for that elusive WORLD CLASS striker to a dog fight from relegation or your STAR centre half tearing his ligaments and missing 9 months of the new season,you just wont find a better game.period.
this game doesnt end.you will be playing this game in 25 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game you will either LOVE or HATE, 23 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
Before reading this review i suggest you ask yourself what kind of game your looking for. Those who praise LMA Manager like i once have where searching for a quick easy transfer frenzy. Total CLub Manager offers no more than a large transfer kitty and guarranteed success. Championship Manager 01/02 is the peak of the series and i fear that it has gone into dicline since then. But for this read on.
Championship Manager demands a player who lives, eats and breathes football. You will adore it and find yourself addicted or you will reject it completely. There isn't an in between. You need to understand, inside out everything that happens in and out of your club. An over-large wage bill or the wrong training techniques may send you into managerial decline.
Your transfer activity will determine alot of how well you do. Your 25 million pound striker may score your goals, but your 750k 18 yeart old talent from south america may be the star player of the future. Transfer fees are quite realsitic and clubs around you will not be scared to spend, unlike Total Club where nobody other than you spends?!
This game can reward your effort with a thrilling managerial experience matched by absoloutly nothing.Even the modern day equivilants. Beware though if you go half way to the amount of effort you put in, then the amazing in-depth gaming experience will not be there for you.
I am currently in my 17th season. That means Beckham and Shevchenko have long retired and Fernanado Morientes has just recieved the sack with Toledo. Even with the games made up players i still cannot stop and leave this game. This GAME NEVER LOSES ITS TOUCH. BUY IT NOW or go for the medicre TCM or LMA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Championship Manager 01/02, 15 Aug 2003
This review is from: Championship Manager: Season 01/02 (Video Game)
THE GOOD:
The creators of the game, Edios and Sigames, have always had a reputation for their football management simulators. This was just another game in the CM3 series, another update...
And as usual it was. Just another upto date game. Updated clubs, teams and the rest, everything you'd expect with a new CM title. But the good deisgners of the game promised us alot more then what I have stated above. And that is what we got.
Along with the new teams, upto date data and a new box, we got alot of new features. The new trasnfer rules were introduced to the game, giving it yet more upto to feeling. There were more leagues to compete in, now Australia and that area, and more national teams to manage and take to glory.
You can now make notes on the players, to remind yourself of future transfers with that player. You can compare two players, see who is better in what position and see who has the superior stats. You can now also send players away for surgery for continuous injuries they suffer from.
You can now use an editor, so you can change the teams, players and staff statstistics. The team's stats can be changed too, move players to other clubs before the game starts, or staff. You can make the stadium bigger or smaller, and alter the amount of money the club has.
Network games are quite good too, I dont personally play them due to my PC, but still. A good feature nethertheless.
THE BAD:
To be honest, there isnt really anything bad about this game. o_O
SUMMARY:
This is by far the best Championship Manager available. I would reccomend it to anyone looking for such a game. It is the best out there. Beating LMA by miles.
I have been a fan and player of CM games for a while, so I know the concept quite well and I am experianced in using certain features. Even if you are playing it for the first time, you can pick it up easy.
A great game!
5/5! ^_^
Written - Aug 30, 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Championship Manager: Season 01/02
Championship Manager: Season 01/02 by Eidos (Windows 95 / 98)
6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews