Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
I always end up watching The Weakest Link when I'm having dinner, so I've grown quite fond of it. Naturally, the PS2 game was next on the list. After trying it a few times I found it to be very loyal, quite realistic and unfortunately I found quite a few patches in my own general knowledge, but less about that!
The game features 100,000 questions (the most yet, I...
Published on 25 April 2003 by Mr. D. Haylett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The questions repeat
I think this game is very well put together and you really do feel part of the show but it is too repetitive with no way to skip the same old chat and phrases. The contestants constantly comment when answering the questions, which is annoying and doesn't happen in the real show. And the comments from Anne don't match how you actually did in the round... they are just...
Published on 1 Jan 2012 by J. A. Prevel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 25 April 2003
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
I always end up watching The Weakest Link when I'm having dinner, so I've grown quite fond of it. Naturally, the PS2 game was next on the list. After trying it a few times I found it to be very loyal, quite realistic and unfortunately I found quite a few patches in my own general knowledge, but less about that!
The game features 100,000 questions (the most yet, I believe, for a quiz game), a variety of 24 different characters to choose from, and a totally 3D set (interlaced with FMV).
The game plays quite smoothly from the start, similar to watching on the television. The male voice that appears during the voting stages of the program on the telly is back to guide you through the main menu, as well as reveal who technically were the strongest and weakest links for each round. There's plenty of Anne Robinson, both in FMV and 3D - along with a good variety of put-downs and icy stares!
As soon as the clock starts on each round, play is just like the television - the camera angles, the speed of play, the banking, the style of questions... The voting is also loyal to the TV show.
The 24 players are very varied (although it sounds like only 3 different actors were paid to perform their voices!), but unfortunately they are too stereotyped. There is a typical computer geek who likes to say "The answer is straightforward" just once too often, and the cockney Landan taxi driver with an accent to match.
Obviously it would be impossible for Anne to actually read out each of the 100,000 questions, but the game makers have covered over this extremely well, with Anne saying something like "In Geography, which of these is the correct answer?" Close your eyes and it could, just could be the TV.
This is the best quiz game out for the PS2, is very close to it's televisual 'father', and great fun with a party of players!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but still Great!!, 4 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
I hired the PSone version of this game which although good was not a patch on this version. Its has great pace is great fun in single mode you really feel like your in the studio, multi player is even better but you have to hand controllers around the room as a multi-tap does not work on this game this is serious flaw and stops it from getting 5 stars. Still well worth buying if your a fan of the show or like board games. Even you mum could play this and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just like the real thing, too many repeats, 5 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
This game will be the cause of more Police call outs on Christmas Day then anything else. Unlike other quiz games, this reflects the TV programmes reliance on people's devious side. Voting off Uncle Jim after he's had too much port could turn him into an axe wielding fiend, whilst marriages will be wrecked when you get to vote off the first contestant. In all,essential ingrediants for a merry yuletide.
In terms of the games production, possibly it was a little hurried to make it in time for the seasonal market. Despite there being 100,000 different questions, we played it for only a couple of hours and at least five or six questions were repeated. I was dissappointed when I saw the first repeated, I then felt slightly cheated when it happened again.
However, this shouldn't put you off. Unless you want to play the game every day and instead just use it for drunken gatherings, this game is great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great party game!, 15 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
The first time I played it was with 4 other people and it was absolutely fantastic. Players getting into tantrums when they get voted off and the whole re-creation of the game is just about spot on!
The single player game, either just one show or a championship, is still good but no-where near the absoloutely hilarious multiplayer mode!
I highly recommend this game, especially if you can invite a few mates around and get plastered whilst playing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alexs Review, 13 Aug 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
I do think this is a good game but it would be better if you could change the players names and got more than one letter to choose from in the clues in gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The questions repeat, 1 Jan 2012
By 
J. A. Prevel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
I think this game is very well put together and you really do feel part of the show but it is too repetitive with no way to skip the same old chat and phrases. The contestants constantly comment when answering the questions, which is annoying and doesn't happen in the real show. And the comments from Anne don't match how you actually did in the round... they are just stock put downs even if you were the strongest link. But most of all the reason I gave this quite a low score is because after playing it only twice the questions started repeating... not just once or twice but often. Very disappointing. Why go to all this trouble to make a realistic game but not have enough questions for more than 3 plays?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, on your own or with family :), 5 May 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
Such fun as its really competative, even if you play on your own it feel like your playing with others still. It is really fun and I play it all the time. There three diffrent levels. I would recommend this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weakest link - Great for good laugh, 8 July 2009
By 
Mike Quantrill "bazzaperth" (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weakest Link (PS2) (Video Game)
Brilliant game when you have friends & family in. when it comes to voting off a contestant arguments & humour. Overall a great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weakest Link (PS2)
The Weakest Link (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews