Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
I almost didn't get this game, because I had Capcom's other survival horror, Onimusha, and I didn't like it much (too easy, too simplistic). Luckily for me, I did, as this is about as close to nirvana as action adventures get.
Your character, Dante moves fluidly through the fully 3D environment (cf Onimusha's 2D backgrounds); the camera pans along pre-determined...
Published on 19 April 2002 by solid1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional graphics but is short and sweet
DEVIL MAY CRY is a well made game with good graphics and a hoard of interesting baddies to cut up with your sword but it is too straight forward and it certainly is not as demanding as res evil was, this game would last no more than a day to the dedicated gamer but is fun to play.
Published on 3 Jan 2002 by aj6jones


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 19 April 2002
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
I almost didn't get this game, because I had Capcom's other survival horror, Onimusha, and I didn't like it much (too easy, too simplistic). Luckily for me, I did, as this is about as close to nirvana as action adventures get.
Your character, Dante moves fluidly through the fully 3D environment (cf Onimusha's 2D backgrounds); the camera pans along pre-determined paths, allowing for those tight camera angles common to all survival horror games. Graphics are excellent, and the designers have got the game atmosphere right on. The enemy are all well designed and suitably sinister (possessed wooden dolls, witches with head-removing scissors).
The key-finding and puzzle solving aspects are pared down to the very bare minimum; combat is the focus of the game. To be honest, this is more action game than survival horror though, and the pace of the action is insane. Gameplay is so frenetic you won't have any time to be horrified. One of the best features is the in-game rating of how stylishly you dispatch your foes:- If you just hack slowly, the game will tell you just how dull you are, whereas you'll be "Stylish!" should you toss your enemy in the air, hold him there for a few seconds with blazing pistols, before putting him out of his misery by turning into a flying demon and electrocuting the poor sod. And any game where you can be a demon gets my vote.
Some reviewers have criticised Capcom's 50Hz PAL conversion which has lazy black borders at the top and bottom of the screen, but it didn't dent my enjoyment of the game.
Any downpoints to making devils cry? No biggies. A training area would have been useful, instead of having to go through the manual. Some kind of 2-player mode would have been nice too- since this is such a good game you will want your friends to see it too. I did find the game a bit too challenging initially, as it's quite easy to get surrounded by 7 or 8 mannequins, and demoralisingly the game offered me an easy mode...- but when you get good it just makes it all the more satisfying.
I would without any doubt recommend this game to anyone who likes to get their adrenaline flowing. Forget Capcom's mistakes in the past, Devil May Cry is a redemption, and is an essential addition to just about everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-action-paced fighting games..., 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
This game takes a step forward from the resident evil series, with just about as good graphics you can expect from a Playstation 2. Instead of scrounging for ammo all the way through the game like Resi Evil, you get a nice big sword and double guns with unlimited ammo. You fight very tall puppets controlled by evil spirits, it's very enjoyable slashing away at them, switching between blades and bullets as you destroy them...
I've only just got it, the beginning is good to watch, he smashes up an oncoming motorbike with his guns, and then the missions start, many of them ranging between 5 and about 20-30 minutes depending on how fast you like to play, it will take longer if you have a Resident Evil attitude towards it, you have to run at the monsters before they have time to attack, when you jump in the air and shoot it goes into slow motion-matrix style...which is nice
It's definitely one for the collection, it's enjoyable to reply on the different difficulty settings, and very challenging to fight a room full of lanky puppets.... go buy it man...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game has never been so addictive, 2 Jan 2004
This is a truly stunning game. The plot is an old one. One man in his quest for vengance against the one responsible for the death of his mother, and brother. Having said that, it is a very gripping telling of an old plot.
The gameplay is very easy to get used to, and when you're surrounded by a lot of bad guys, it's a very good thing. The graphics are also a great work of art. The dark, gothic backdrops benefit gretly by the superb artwork. Unlike the resident evil series, where the backgrounds can sometimes look a little fake. Devil May Cry has backgounds that look perfect, and everything truly looks at home.
The main charcter (Dante) is the man with revenge in his heart. He is the son of a legendary dark knight named Sparda. He is a great warrior who carries his sword with pride. He also uses two special handguns named Ebony & Ivory. Using the sword and the guns together, you can dispatch enemys with great combo styles. Capcom, have also found a hero that everyone will like. Dante is confident, and witty, without having that annoying quality that most heros seem to have.
This game is a must have. Once you start playing it, you will not be able to stop. It's that good!! You certainly won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stood the test of time, 28 July 2006
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
DMC is a fantastic game thats still awesome almost 5 years after its release. its an action packed gothic adventure game which puts you in the shoes of badass demon slayer Dante. the game mixes between puzzles and a bit of platform-ish areas and the all out combat. and this is where the game really takes off

Dante has incrediable moves and reflexs, able to jump, dodge, roll and pull off all kinds of matrix-eque moves while combining sword combos and gun blast effortlessly. combat is pretty easy to get into but also has the depth that if u stick at it and practice you can pull of some jawdropping combos. for exampole ending a long sword combo by slashing the ememy into the air and then juggling them with the pistols or throwing your sword like a boomerang and resorting to fisticuffs. you can also by new moves and use magic

combat is always fast and frantic, kind of like old school 2D games like Castlevania and you'll regularly be pitting yourself against 15 or 20 enemies at the same time. it also never getts boring

the boss fights are great too

Graphically, while not as good as more recent games like God of War, the graphics are fairly decent. Character animation is smooth, weapon effects are good and the game has this gothicy 80's heavy metal feel that fans of Slayer or Dragonforce will love. al in all its got alot of charm

I love the sound. the music switches between creppy ethereal passages and switches to thrash when combat occurs. theres some crunchy sound effects for Dante's weapons that give combat a real statisfying edge

the only real porblem with the game i had is the story line which is fairly standerd 'anti-hero saves the world from evil bad guy' but it doesn't take anything away from the gameplay

all in all a great choice and you can pick it up cheap so go get started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First DMC game is the best game I have played on the PS2!!!, 6 Mar 2006
By 
B. Mustafa "yamcha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
What can I say about this true masterpiece!! Since the day I brought it back in 2001 when it was released I have not stopped playing it and it remains as my all time favourite. The scenery, the battles (and there is plenty of them) and of course the superb fighting system, the power of the alaistor sword and awesome strength of the Ifrit armbands and not forgetting the Sparda sword.

I love this game to bits, and its one of those games that I have looked after so well that even after nearly five years the game still works as great as ever, Dante is the coolest demon slayer while Trish will sizzle any man's vision. Being a true devil may cry fanatic, nothing stopped me from buying the second DMC when it came out, although many reviewers criticised the second game, I still think the second game is great in its own right. And of course last year, we had the third DMC game truly fantastic.

Having played and completed all three games I can say that the first one is my favourite.

Devil May Cry

The Goods: Excellent gameplay, smooth fighting controls, once mastered you truly feel like a devil hunter yourself, gripping story attractable characters and amazing scenery.

MVP: Dante's confrontation with final boss Mundus both in the air and on earth is simply one word: BREATHTAKING!!!

Lifespan: I'll be honest with you here, if you give your heart to this game you will want to master it as much as possible, it took me a whole year to start getting S ranking missions and guess what, I still haven't got all 24 missions on S ranking, only HALF of them!!!

The Bads: You must be kidding!! Theres nothing wrong with this classic of a game at all though some reviewers stated that the camera angles are annoying BUT that's just a minor fault as far as I am concerned.

Overall: The second DMC was very different but easy to complete, the third DMC was awesome (and there's a new special edition of it coming soon in September), however the first DMC will and always will be my favourite of the series.

Buy it (if you haven't already) and get ready for a hell of a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it in the dark - the most atmospheric game I can find!, 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, what can I say? If you want atmosphere from a game, sheer spine tingling music blended perfectly into the gorgeous graphics..then look no further.
Play this game in the dark, late at night, eyes weary after battle, and quite simply I can't find a game that betters it.
Soundtrack, graphics, gameplay, the whole lot. Hidden levels, and for once clues that don't have you realising you've wasted your money because you'll never finish the damned game.
The money is worth the scene where Mundus appears from his statue alone.
Little more can be said. Ignore any hardcore gamers comments that it's too easy, ignore the fact that you may well have figured out the plot before the end, ignore too fact that the Phantom seemed curiously harder to dispose of than Mundus himself.
I've completed it on all levels, and I'll give it a month and play it again on "Dante Must Die" level - purely to see Sparda destroy everything you strike it with.
Over the top with my comments? No, simply praise well due.
A MUST HAVE - IF ONLY TO SAVE THE MUNDUS SCENES TO SHOW WHAT YOUR PS2 IS CAPABLE OF...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action that doesn't fail to disappoint, 21 Feb 2002
By 
Karura (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
Ever wished you could pick up a sword and a pair of guns and beat the hell out of creatures from the Underworld? Well, Devil May Cry will let you do just that from the comfort of your living room (or wherever your PS2 is situated). You'll take on the role of Dante, half-human, half-demon, and your job is to journey to the sinister Mallet Island in order to stop the demon Mundus from taking over the world. In order to do so, you'll need to work your way through a lavishly detailed castle employing the aforementioned sword and guns in an attempt to put down the bad guys in any way you can.
As far as action goes, the game is very slick and controls are intuitive; there are times in battle when it seems as if you only have to think about a move to see Dante enact it on screen.
As a half-demon, Dante also has the ability to go into a Devil Trigger mode, where he transforms into one of two demon forms, each with its own awesome set of moves (unfortunately you have to learn these moves by trading in Red Orbs you find in the castle; this can be a costly and time consuming process). This mode is of especial use against boss enemies; the actual number of bosses are few, but you'll face each one two or three times, and the battles can get quite tough.
As mentioned before, the castle in which the game is set is well detailed, as are the monsters which dwell within. One problem, however, is that camera angles tend to jump around as you move about the castle; this can make it awkward to work out where you're going. Certainly a degree of manual camera control would have been welcome.
Music is worth a brief mention; the tune changes from slow and eerie as you explore the castle to a more stepped up action theme when enemies draw near. This is a nice touch, and helps you to gauge whether or not an area is safe or not. Sound effects are good too, especially the eerie laugh of the ghostlike Sin Scissors.
There are a couple of faults in the game, one being the way it is split up into missions, which tends to disrupt the flow of the game. The fact that you can only save between missions is also annoying, especially if you get repeatedly killed in a boss battle at the end of a mission, and subsequently have to replay the whole section from the beginning (There is an option to save within a mission, but it only records the number of items you have, if you reload the game you have to start again from the beginning of the mission).
Another slight disappointment is game dialogue. Translation errors coupled with poor scripting do the story no favours, and Dante often sounds as if he's quoting from the Oxford Book of Clichés.
If you're looking for an intellectual puzzke solving type game, look elsewhere. The majority of the puzzles involve finding a Rusty Key or similar door-opening item, there are some other "puzzles" but they require minimal thinking. No, what Devil May Cry gives you is fast paced action, the chance to really get in there and enjoy a bit of melee combat without worrying about running out of ammo or breaking a weapon. And if that's what your looking for, there is no better game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When's the film out?, 17 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
First, this game looks great. Some of the locations are very impressive and the characters aren't bad either. Dante is very cool with his red coat billowing out behind him, and some of the bad guys you meet are also very impressive. I love the way the Shadows slink across the ground.
Your ears are also well served, from ambient sounds to the music.
Gameplay wise, generally very cool. Blasting enemies with your hand guns is always satisfying and there's a few upgrades to prolong the fun. Sometimes it can get a bit dull, but that happens in any game when you get stuck and have to redo bits over and over.
The big downer is that Resident Evil: Code Veronica X doesn't use the same controls as DMC, because they're very easy to pick up.
Here's hoping the sequel is as good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capcom do it again!, 5 Jan 2002
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
There are several words that come to mind when I play Devil May Cry. The big one would be "QUALITY". And, yes, it is in capital letters.
The gameplay is pretty damn good. When I watch a good action movie with Kung Fu/Sword action, it makes me want to scream just like they do. This is the only game ever to do this to me.
The Graphics are pretty damn good. The scenery is extremely impressive, especially on the long shots, where the camera moves ouyt.
The story is (so far) pretty damn good, although I haven't finished it yet.
This game is definitely worth your hard earned cash. Buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD GAME, BUT U WILL HAVE SORE THUMBS BY THE END, 14 Dec 2001
By 
Ryan J. Leask "ryanleask" (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil May Cry (PS2) (Video Game)
This game has excellant graphics, sound and controls.
You controlm Dante through a castle that has a portal to yet another "demon world". You go around hacking and shooting every thing in your path, with a few pick up A and take to B puzzels.
On the down side, my thumbs were red raw from the ammount of button bashing that is needed, especially when u use the guns.
Also some of the bosses can be extremley hard, plus you have to fight the same bosses over a few diffrent levels. This is good if you like a challenge, but I was going insane the 12th time the big ghostey thing with huge scissors cut me to pices.
I recommend the game though as it gives a challenge and just looks so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil May Cry (PS2)
Devil May Cry (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews