Customer Reviews

86
4.5 out of 5 stars
Devil May Cry (PS2)
Format: Video GameChange
Price:£12.50+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 19 April 2002
I almost didn't get this game, because I had Capcom's other survival horror, Onimusha, and I didn't like it much (too easy, too simplistic). Luckily for me, I did, as this is about as close to nirvana as action adventures get.
Your character, Dante moves fluidly through the fully 3D environment (cf Onimusha's 2D backgrounds); the camera pans along pre-determined paths, allowing for those tight camera angles common to all survival horror games. Graphics are excellent, and the designers have got the game atmosphere right on. The enemy are all well designed and suitably sinister (possessed wooden dolls, witches with head-removing scissors).
The key-finding and puzzle solving aspects are pared down to the very bare minimum; combat is the focus of the game. To be honest, this is more action game than survival horror though, and the pace of the action is insane. Gameplay is so frenetic you won't have any time to be horrified. One of the best features is the in-game rating of how stylishly you dispatch your foes:- If you just hack slowly, the game will tell you just how dull you are, whereas you'll be "Stylish!" should you toss your enemy in the air, hold him there for a few seconds with blazing pistols, before putting him out of his misery by turning into a flying demon and electrocuting the poor sod. And any game where you can be a demon gets my vote.
Some reviewers have criticised Capcom's 50Hz PAL conversion which has lazy black borders at the top and bottom of the screen, but it didn't dent my enjoyment of the game.
Any downpoints to making devils cry? No biggies. A training area would have been useful, instead of having to go through the manual. Some kind of 2-player mode would have been nice too- since this is such a good game you will want your friends to see it too. I did find the game a bit too challenging initially, as it's quite easy to get surrounded by 7 or 8 mannequins, and demoralisingly the game offered me an easy mode...- but when you get good it just makes it all the more satisfying.
I would without any doubt recommend this game to anyone who likes to get their adrenaline flowing. Forget Capcom's mistakes in the past, Devil May Cry is a redemption, and is an essential addition to just about everyone's collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2004
This is a truly stunning game. The plot is an old one. One man in his quest for vengance against the one responsible for the death of his mother, and brother. Having said that, it is a very gripping telling of an old plot.
The gameplay is very easy to get used to, and when you're surrounded by a lot of bad guys, it's a very good thing. The graphics are also a great work of art. The dark, gothic backdrops benefit gretly by the superb artwork. Unlike the resident evil series, where the backgrounds can sometimes look a little fake. Devil May Cry has backgounds that look perfect, and everything truly looks at home.
The main charcter (Dante) is the man with revenge in his heart. He is the son of a legendary dark knight named Sparda. He is a great warrior who carries his sword with pride. He also uses two special handguns named Ebony & Ivory. Using the sword and the guns together, you can dispatch enemys with great combo styles. Capcom, have also found a hero that everyone will like. Dante is confident, and witty, without having that annoying quality that most heros seem to have.
This game is a must have. Once you start playing it, you will not be able to stop. It's that good!! You certainly won't regret it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 28 July 2006
DMC is a fantastic game thats still awesome almost 5 years after its release. its an action packed gothic adventure game which puts you in the shoes of badass demon slayer Dante. the game mixes between puzzles and a bit of platform-ish areas and the all out combat. and this is where the game really takes off

Dante has incrediable moves and reflexs, able to jump, dodge, roll and pull off all kinds of matrix-eque moves while combining sword combos and gun blast effortlessly. combat is pretty easy to get into but also has the depth that if u stick at it and practice you can pull of some jawdropping combos. for exampole ending a long sword combo by slashing the ememy into the air and then juggling them with the pistols or throwing your sword like a boomerang and resorting to fisticuffs. you can also by new moves and use magic

combat is always fast and frantic, kind of like old school 2D games like Castlevania and you'll regularly be pitting yourself against 15 or 20 enemies at the same time. it also never getts boring

the boss fights are great too

Graphically, while not as good as more recent games like God of War, the graphics are fairly decent. Character animation is smooth, weapon effects are good and the game has this gothicy 80's heavy metal feel that fans of Slayer or Dragonforce will love. al in all its got alot of charm

I love the sound. the music switches between creppy ethereal passages and switches to thrash when combat occurs. theres some crunchy sound effects for Dante's weapons that give combat a real statisfying edge

the only real porblem with the game i had is the story line which is fairly standerd 'anti-hero saves the world from evil bad guy' but it doesn't take anything away from the gameplay

all in all a great choice and you can pick it up cheap so go get started
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2006
What can I say about this true masterpiece!! Since the day I brought it back in 2001 when it was released I have not stopped playing it and it remains as my all time favourite. The scenery, the battles (and there is plenty of them) and of course the superb fighting system, the power of the alaistor sword and awesome strength of the Ifrit armbands and not forgetting the Sparda sword.

I love this game to bits, and its one of those games that I have looked after so well that even after nearly five years the game still works as great as ever, Dante is the coolest demon slayer while Trish will sizzle any man's vision. Being a true devil may cry fanatic, nothing stopped me from buying the second DMC when it came out, although many reviewers criticised the second game, I still think the second game is great in its own right. And of course last year, we had the third DMC game truly fantastic.

Having played and completed all three games I can say that the first one is my favourite.

Devil May Cry

The Goods: Excellent gameplay, smooth fighting controls, once mastered you truly feel like a devil hunter yourself, gripping story attractable characters and amazing scenery.

MVP: Dante's confrontation with final boss Mundus both in the air and on earth is simply one word: BREATHTAKING!!!

Lifespan: I'll be honest with you here, if you give your heart to this game you will want to master it as much as possible, it took me a whole year to start getting S ranking missions and guess what, I still haven't got all 24 missions on S ranking, only HALF of them!!!

The Bads: You must be kidding!! Theres nothing wrong with this classic of a game at all though some reviewers stated that the camera angles are annoying BUT that's just a minor fault as far as I am concerned.

Overall: The second DMC was very different but easy to complete, the third DMC was awesome (and there's a new special edition of it coming soon in September), however the first DMC will and always will be my favourite of the series.

Buy it (if you haven't already) and get ready for a hell of a game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2002
Ever wished you could pick up a sword and a pair of guns and beat the hell out of creatures from the Underworld? Well, Devil May Cry will let you do just that from the comfort of your living room (or wherever your PS2 is situated). You'll take on the role of Dante, half-human, half-demon, and your job is to journey to the sinister Mallet Island in order to stop the demon Mundus from taking over the world. In order to do so, you'll need to work your way through a lavishly detailed castle employing the aforementioned sword and guns in an attempt to put down the bad guys in any way you can.
As far as action goes, the game is very slick and controls are intuitive; there are times in battle when it seems as if you only have to think about a move to see Dante enact it on screen.
As a half-demon, Dante also has the ability to go into a Devil Trigger mode, where he transforms into one of two demon forms, each with its own awesome set of moves (unfortunately you have to learn these moves by trading in Red Orbs you find in the castle; this can be a costly and time consuming process). This mode is of especial use against boss enemies; the actual number of bosses are few, but you'll face each one two or three times, and the battles can get quite tough.
As mentioned before, the castle in which the game is set is well detailed, as are the monsters which dwell within. One problem, however, is that camera angles tend to jump around as you move about the castle; this can make it awkward to work out where you're going. Certainly a degree of manual camera control would have been welcome.
Music is worth a brief mention; the tune changes from slow and eerie as you explore the castle to a more stepped up action theme when enemies draw near. This is a nice touch, and helps you to gauge whether or not an area is safe or not. Sound effects are good too, especially the eerie laugh of the ghostlike Sin Scissors.
There are a couple of faults in the game, one being the way it is split up into missions, which tends to disrupt the flow of the game. The fact that you can only save between missions is also annoying, especially if you get repeatedly killed in a boss battle at the end of a mission, and subsequently have to replay the whole section from the beginning (There is an option to save within a mission, but it only records the number of items you have, if you reload the game you have to start again from the beginning of the mission).
Another slight disappointment is game dialogue. Translation errors coupled with poor scripting do the story no favours, and Dante often sounds as if he's quoting from the Oxford Book of Clichés.
If you're looking for an intellectual puzzke solving type game, look elsewhere. The majority of the puzzles involve finding a Rusty Key or similar door-opening item, there are some other "puzzles" but they require minimal thinking. No, what Devil May Cry gives you is fast paced action, the chance to really get in there and enjoy a bit of melee combat without worrying about running out of ammo or breaking a weapon. And if that's what your looking for, there is no better game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 April 2002
Well, what can I say? If you want atmosphere from a game, sheer spine tingling music blended perfectly into the gorgeous graphics..then look no further.
Play this game in the dark, late at night, eyes weary after battle, and quite simply I can't find a game that betters it.
Soundtrack, graphics, gameplay, the whole lot. Hidden levels, and for once clues that don't have you realising you've wasted your money because you'll never finish the damned game.
The money is worth the scene where Mundus appears from his statue alone.
Little more can be said. Ignore any hardcore gamers comments that it's too easy, ignore the fact that you may well have figured out the plot before the end, ignore too fact that the Phantom seemed curiously harder to dispose of than Mundus himself.
I've completed it on all levels, and I'll give it a month and play it again on "Dante Must Die" level - purely to see Sparda destroy everything you strike it with.
Over the top with my comments? No, simply praise well due.
A MUST HAVE - IF ONLY TO SAVE THE MUNDUS SCENES TO SHOW WHAT YOUR PS2 IS CAPABLE OF...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2002
Being 36 years old,it sound's a bit sad that I still enjoy playing video games but I just had to write a few words about DMC in between work, bringing up kids and a wife who moans about how long I spend on the PS2!!
The graphics are mind boggling and Capcom have certainly come up trumps with a game that not only plays well but looks stunning and certainly sets the scene for all of Dante's (the main character)forthcoming missions. Some may complain about the way the game is divided up into 23 missions but to be honest with you, I found the save point at the end of each mission a welcome breather from the frenetic energy required to get Dante through each one. Not only that, you also get scored on how well you faired during each mission. Most of the puzzles are very basic to solve and anyone looking for another "Ico" should steer well clear of this game. This is about action,action......and more action and rewards the player for the most stylish combos when dispatching enemies and Bosses.
The game is a gradual build up to the final confontation with Mundus, the boss of the underworld, but if I had one gripe, I found dispatching Mundus easier than one or two of the other bosses.....checkout the final confrontation with "Nightmare". I must have been killed about 50 times before finally beating him!! Remember....many of the monsters and bosses you will meet react differently to the type of firearms and devilarms that you use, so sometimes,it is a case of trial and error to decide on the best tactics to use against them.
Beat "Normal Mode", try "Hard mode"(which is really Hard!!).Beat that and you can try "Dante must die" mode and then "Super Dante" mode. After the hard mode, you can even change characters from Dante to Sparda, the dark night and he has his own selection of weapons and a different battle music!!
Well done Capcom.......I can't wait for DMC 2 which I gather is out later this year.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2002
This game puts you in the position of Dante; half human half devil son of the legendary dark knight Sparda who fought off Mundus (villain) two millennia ago. Mundus is now rising again and Dante is the only one who can stand in his way. This may seem like a pretty typical storyline, but the game makes up for it by being great fun. There are tons of different enemies which give the game plenty of variety, and you have to work out what the best tactics are for fighting each monster. Unlike some reviews might tell you, this game is NOT simply a matter of how fast you can press buttons. There IS skill involved and you get rewarded for how cool you look while fighting. Dante can turn into his devil form when he has enough power, and he is then capable of cool magic attacks like leaping into the air, growing wings and hovering while you electrocute you hapless foes with lighting strikes.
Let me explain what I mean by rewarding coolness. If there is a corridor with a pair of enemies standing in it, if you stand back and lob a grenade at each of them, at best you'll get a 'Cool' rating at the top nof the screen. But if you flick them up into the air with your firey gauntlets, juggle them on your twin pistols and then surround yourself in fire and obliterate them both at once, you might get a 'stylish' rating and get fifteen red orbs as opposed to two for defeating them. The more red orbs you collect, the more training you can buy and so the cooler your combo collection.
Let me dispel another myth- This game is NOT repetitive, due to he variety of weaponry and enemies, and it DOES have alot of replay value since if you complete the most difficult mode, you unlock a Super-Dante mode where you have unlimited magic powers!!! The music makes the fighting even cooler.
Here's the verdict:

Graphics- 9/10 Very cool Gothic style setting, though the camera angles can be confusing.
Sound- 10/10 Makes fighting so much more fun.
Gameplay- 10/10 NOT repetitive and DOES require skill. Great fun.
Lifespan- 9/10 If you want to unlock the unlimited magic powers mode, this is a long game. If you can't be bothered, or you've just bought GTA3 and want to play that instead, it's a pretty short game.
Bugginess- 10/10 No problems here.
Overall- 10/10 Buy it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 January 2002
The first visual treat that will confront you will be the over familiar haunted castle setting, ancient, scary and massive in scale. Enter through a hole in the wall and you find yourself in a large hall similar to Resident Evil, but as you stand in the darkness you begin to feel that there is something a lot more sinister as haunting music softly echoes through the walls. As you begin to move you realise this game is not just about running around aimed with a shot gun but the height in which you jump and the way in which you deal deadly sword blows suggests a format of action more influenced by 'Onimusha'.
Their are similiarities between the sword wielding Samurai in 'Onimusha' and the half demon and half human Dante in 'Devil May Cry'. Both have to collect orbs as a way to survive and both do combat in similar sword slashing fashion. The big difference is the games highlight as well as its curse is the way Dante cannot block but instead jumps off walls and rolls away from enemy attack. This action adds unbelievable tension to the battle sequences but can also block your view when moving into a screen that has a large archway or fountain that hinders any chance of quick strategy expecially when surrounded by a horde of the undead. However, some gamers will indulge in this style of action that takes much practice and lightning reactions to master.
The developers at Capcom have also done away with the over used and now less than terrifying zombie and replaced them with wraith type demons, and other entirely unheard of creatures of the night. Particularly terrifying are the range of Scythe demons who are not just hard to kill but also laugh sinisterly after you defeat them, and it's bone chilling.
The graphics are superb, the castle and surrounding gardens offer great views of many doorways that lead into inevitable danger. The underwater sequences are also very effective, the graphics become slightly blurred to give the feeling you are truly underwater, and it would be to no surprise if that visual delight is not copied in future games. The other great aspect of the game is the way the environment can move as if it's alive as well as become more darker and sinister as you get closer to finding Mundus.
The game is a little too short, ending before you have really got into the game, but the challenging bosses will take up some of your time to defeat. The games overall feel is very much arcade, at times you expect an 'insert coin' sign to present itself. The game also sadly does not have any deep puzzles, it does have missions in which you have to find objects, but overall this is not a game that will over load your head with problems, the game instead opts for a more slash and hack approach rather than the find that password style seen in its Resident Evil predecessors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 17 September 2002
First, this game looks great. Some of the locations are very impressive and the characters aren't bad either. Dante is very cool with his red coat billowing out behind him, and some of the bad guys you meet are also very impressive. I love the way the Shadows slink across the ground.
Your ears are also well served, from ambient sounds to the music.
Gameplay wise, generally very cool. Blasting enemies with your hand guns is always satisfying and there's a few upgrades to prolong the fun. Sometimes it can get a bit dull, but that happens in any game when you get stuck and have to redo bits over and over.
The big downer is that Resident Evil: Code Veronica X doesn't use the same controls as DMC, because they're very easy to pick up.
Here's hoping the sequel is as good...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Final Fantasy X (PS2)
Final Fantasy X (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£9.99


Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater by Konami (PlayStation2)
£12.28
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.