Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best R.E. Game Yet.
Resident Evil Code Veronica X is one of Capcoms finest games yet, bringing lots of tension and horror, and also an immense level of game play for any player. It's also been graphically improved, considerably for the PS2, giving gamers a greater feel for the 3D landscapes and environments. Unlike the pervious R.E. games Code Veronica X has a much greater life span, which...
Published on 4 Nov 2001 by M.Pickford@btinternet.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware nostalgia - for Resident Evil completists only
I bought this game as part of a Resident Evil nostalgia-fest, after playing the new Umbrella Chronicles game on the Wii and the Resident Evil Remake on the Gamecube (both of which are excellent). I used to own this on the Dreamcast many years ago, and I remember really enjoying it. Oh, but how gaming has moved on since then. The graphics are passable, but it's only...
Published on 16 Mar 2008 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best R.E. Game Yet., 4 Nov 2001
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
Resident Evil Code Veronica X is one of Capcoms finest games yet, bringing lots of tension and horror, and also an immense level of game play for any player. It's also been graphically improved, considerably for the PS2, giving gamers a greater feel for the 3D landscapes and environments. Unlike the pervious R.E. games Code Veronica X has a much greater life span, which previously was a major let down, so you won't be completing this in a day (unless you don't sleep).
The game is set in two different locations and you play as Claire & Chris Redfield (from the previous R.E. 1 & 2 games). It begins with Claire being captured and as the plot progresses she happens to get stuck in the middle of it all, along with her brother, Chris. Claire also meets a brand-new character called Steve, who has some serious family problems. This game is great for any none fan, of the series and a must be for the fans, as old favourites are back, including Chris' nemesis Weskers (from R.E.).
With a great storyline and non-stop action you won't ever regret buying this game and it soon will become a favourite game, in any ones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, 3 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
With the exception of the terrible, terrible "Survivor", the RE games have been the finest games of the last few years, establishing the survival horror genre as a force to be reckoned with. REC:V therefore had a lot of expectations to live up to when it was originally released on Dreamcast, but it managed not only to meet all expectations, but to shatter them and build new ones instead for the forthcoming RE0 and RE4.
The graphics are not exceptional, but this is basically a direct conversion of the Dreamcast version, and besides, I'd rather play a great game with average graphics than vice-versa. The sound, though, is superb (discounting a significant portion of the voice acting), and adds more to the atmosphere of the game than any corridor of lurching zombies ever could.
My only gripe is that the 'horror' part of survival horror has always been a bit of an innaccurate label: the game may make you feel shocked or startled, but rarely terrified (Most notable exception for me involves a Licker and a 'magic mirror' in RE2, which scares the bejesus out of me even when I know it's coming). REC:VX is no more scary than its predecessors, so you'll jump while playing certain sections, but you'll never be too scared to open the next door in the way that Silent Hill managed to scar a generation of gamers.
Basically, BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT because it's going to be the best game on PS2 at least until the release of Silent Hill 2, and with the sheer lifespan of this beauty, you'll probably still be playing or replaying it when MGS2 hits the shelves and blows every other game in the world ever EVER out of the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Resident Evil with knobs on, 17 Sep 2001
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
The Resident Evil games were the original and best, and now the PS2 finally gets Code Veronica, the fourth in the series (excluding Survivor). I never played the Dreamcast Version and was somewhat disappointed to learn that PS2 owners are getting a rehash of a year old Sega game.
However, I NEEDED a PS2 adventure, and couldn't wait for Silent Hill 2 or MGS2. So I bit the bullet and got this. I have not been let-down.
The graphics and effects are excellent with dynamic camera movements as opposed to the static screens of old. However, the camera is not totally free-flowing in the Tomb Raider mode, but closer to Silent Hill where it stalks the player and makes for eerie effects. The zombies are back, and so is the storyline. This is a story-driven adventure make no mistake, and there are lots of areas to explore.
However, it is Resident Evil, and not much has changed since the first game. It looks better, it has better cut scenes and sound, and it's bigger, but it's the same game. This is no bad thing. It fits like an old glove, and those players who are used to the control system and inventory screens will pick-up and play.
It's an essential purchase. Just don't expect tons of originality. Do expect gore and terror.
It'll fit the bill until Silent Hill 2 comes along. Oh, and the Devil May Cry demo is the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen..., 10 Dec 2001
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
The other person who gave this game one star obviously doesn't know how to play the games properly. You only end up repeating entire sections due to lack of ammo if you just don't know what you're doing and generally cannot play the game properly, maybe being a bit trigger-happy. A bit bitchy of me, maybe, but having played the game, (and loved it completely), I know that it's ture. The reason it doesn't get the full five stars is that it can, obviously, still be improved. In Nemesis, you didn't have to press 'x' to walk up/down stairs, for example, whereas here you do. Also, one of the most fun aspects of the resident evil games is no longer here - the ability to blow zomnies' heads off/ in half/etc. Boo! More gore!! Blood, guts!! Etc. Obvioulsy, the gameplay and story are most important, but given the choice between seeing a zombie's head explode when shot with the magnum, or not - I know which one gets my vote...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Resident Evil in three whole dimensions!, 28 Sep 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
It seems that my Resident Evil reviews have struck a chord with people, so to keep this happy vibe going, and because this series is probably the only one to which I demonstrate any shred of loyalty, I've set myself the goal of reviewing every Resident Evil game ever made (with the exception of the Survivor series, which I rank somewhere between Katie Price and a bad case of piles). Anyway, here we go with Code Veronica X.

Code Veronica kicks off with an action packed intro depicting Claire Redfield trying to infiltrate Umbrella Headquarters in Europe. Needless to say, all goes awry and she's soon captured and packed off to a prison on some remote island. But before anyone can say "Pick up that soap", the island comes under attack, the lights go out, and Claire escapes. From then on, its your job to venture out into the darkness, find out what the hell is happening, and get out. Along the way, you have to fight off zombies and other nasties, forage for weapons, ammunition and key items to progress to new sections. So far, so Resident Evil.

But wait, things have changed. Sort of.

Code Veronica is the first Resident Evil game to feature fully 3D environments. Well, the camera is still largely based in static locations, but will now pan around the room to follow your movements, and occasionally move to keep up with you if you're wandering along a fixed linear path, like a corridor. All good, you might think, but there's a downside to this brave new world.

First, the characters. They all have this weirdly stiff, unnatural quality to them. When you run, for example, it's like you're gliding across the floor rather than putting one foot in front of the other. You also move at about the same speed as an obese man on the home stretch of the London Marathon. Secondly, the polygonal surroundings, while pretty much as well realised as the PS2 hardware would allow, look bland and soulless. The 2D backgrounds might not have been ideal, but at least you know they were drawn by a real artist. Thus, these two flaws combine to limit the sense of immersion I normally feel with a Resi game.

Still, it's not all bad. The plot is intriguing enough to keep you motivated, and it's actually quite fun trying to figure out what the hell everyone is up to. The only thing that bothers me about this game is that it tries to provide an overly elaborate backstory to the T-virus. In the original game, it was just a weaponised virus created by Umbrella that got out of control. Fair enough, but now we've got to deal with a whole load of needless exposition the Ashford family and their obsession with bees and incest. No, I'm not kidding.

You spend the first half of the game with Claire, but it's not long before big brother Chris muscles his way in to sort things out. Although it's kind of jarring to switch characters mid-game for no particular reason, I had to admit it was nice to take control of Resident Evil's main hero again (though there's sadly no sign of Barry "Master of Unlocking" Burton this time around). But Chris isn't the only character from the original game to make a return. After a two-game absence, everyone's favourite sunglasses-loving villain Albert Wesker is back. His return is kind of explained in the course of the story, but basically you can chalk it up to the writers deciding it was a bad idea to kill him off in the original game. He's much more menacing and dangerous than before, which is just as well, because the game's other bad guy, Alfred Ashford, makes Alan Carr look like the epitome of masculine power.

On the gameplay front, weapons and enemies are standard Resi fare. There's your usual zombies, dogs and hunters, plus a few obligatory bosses including a new Tyrant. Likewise, your weapons include the normal selection of pistols, shotguns, assault rifles and grenade launchers. Fights are challenging enough to hold your interest, but should rarely trouble experienced players. I have to say though that the puzzles are actually quite good in this instalment. Some of them are tough enough to make you think hard, but never so obscure that you'll get frustrated.

Summing Code Veronica up is a bit of a tricky one, because it's a game that always left me with mixed feelings. On the one hand, I recognise it as a bold effort to take the series in a new direction, but on the other hand, I feel that its flaws keep it from reaching the lofty heights of Resident Evil 1 and 2. Any fans of the series should definitely play it, if for no other reason than to experience the next step in the Resident Evil saga.

As for the rest of you, why aren't you fans of the series already?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware nostalgia - for Resident Evil completists only, 16 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game as part of a Resident Evil nostalgia-fest, after playing the new Umbrella Chronicles game on the Wii and the Resident Evil Remake on the Gamecube (both of which are excellent). I used to own this on the Dreamcast many years ago, and I remember really enjoying it. Oh, but how gaming has moved on since then. The graphics are passable, but it's only after a few years of playing more well-developed games that you realise how truely awful the control system and fixed camera angles are. And this really does pummel the fun out of the game because there are many instances where speed and accuracy are paramount. The story however is excellent and delves more into the relationship between siblings Claire and Chris Redfield, and also the devious motivations of Albert Wesker. While cheesy, the script and voice actors are great and all in all, Code:Veronica does justice to the Resident Evil canon. However, as sad as I am to say this, I think this game is terribly outdated and with the re-imagination of the series with Resident Evil 4 back in 2005, there really isn't a place for Code:Veronica anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best resident evil game yet, 12 Dec 2001
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
if you liked the other resident evil games then you will love this one. it's basically the same as the other resident evil games except that it has MUCH better graphics and a great plot too. also they have decent voice acting this time as well and loads of weapons. plus you finally get to play as chris again.
the only really bad thing about this game is that the gore in it is not as excessive as it was in the other games(for instance you cannot take the limbs off of zombies with high powered weapons)
so get this game if you own a ps2 because it is the best game on it at the moment.
another thing to mention as well, the knife is actually a good weapon to use in this version of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for RE fans!, 13 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
If You count Yourself as one - do not read this review - just buy the game and start playing! It's got all the elemenst from the earlier games plus it's much better looking, the story is complicated on the n-th degree, and You'll get to see Your favorite characters and vilains again! If You're not a fan of Resi series, and have a PS2, this is the game to try, but compared to some other 3D adventure games it may not be Your favorite. Resident Evil has it's own logic, it's own puzzles and it's own style - and You'll love it or hate it. It also has it's own enemies who are without exception gruesome, so this game is not for he faint of heart (or stomach). So if this is Your first time with RE - try before You buy. If You like exploring hidden rooms and killing zombies and uglier creatures with a big arsenal of weapons - don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavyweight update for premium survival horror series., 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
Quite rightly labelled the pinnacle of the genre by the official PS2 magazine Code Veronica X takes cinematic gaming a step further with currently unsurpassed quality of voice acting, storyline and brilliantly realised action sequences. Perhaps my favourite touch in this epic game is the way in which the makers have tipped their hats to many a classic action, horror and sci-fi film. The Matrix, Day of the Dead, Psycho, Robocop, Aliens and The Thing to name but a few all have tribute paid to them in fully interactive glory.
Tribute aside for the first time in survival horror game you can really feel the quality spread well over the game's size. Where previous adventures gave you a few well scripted scares at the beginning you soon found yourself facing the same situations over and over except with bigger guns and harder baddies in the same rooms. Not so here, expect location and action to change, evolve and surprise you right up to the end.
Against it, Code Veronica X still has the same abysmal control system, making evasion of enemies when ammo is low pretty difficult. Also, interaction with the environment, although more extensive than ever before is still inferior to the much underrated Extermination. Take Exterminations control and regional action system, apply it to Veronica X and you would have perfection. As things stand you are pretty damn close anyway.
Your move Silent Hill 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best installment so far., 30 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) (Video Game)
I can't believe people are trashing this game! I have played all resi games and I can say that this is a classic! I played the Dreamcast version last year, and loved it.First off, the ARE faults. Gameplay has taken a step back from RE3- but don't forget that Nemesis was little more than an add on disc that was too short and added very little to the story of Resident Evil.This moves the story to a new level.Also, the game is VERY long, with a lot of backtracking and repeating areas. However, the story keeps the game moving along steadily, and the sense of mystery is great. Veronica is also the scariest game in the series, with some physchological horror thrown into the mix- check out the private residence area!
Don't forget that the best part of the resi series is its ultra-cool plot. Veronica takes a kind of spin-off approach to the series. Instead of dealing with the various characters trying to bring down the Umbrella corporation, it deals with the fortunes of the Ashford family- who play a big part in the Umbrella corporation's interesting history. Veronica also sees the return of two of the series' main protagonists- Chris Redfield from Resi 1, and his sister Claire from Resi 2. It also sees the return of the best character in Resi history- you probably already know who, but if not I won't spoil the surprise. Don't listen to the moaning PS2 owners who hate the idea of owning a game that Sega got last year, just buy it if youm love Resident Evil. I can't wait to see the extra scenes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2)
Resident Evil Code: Veronica X (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
12.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews