Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars211
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2001
After the magnificently catchy singles it's kind of dissapointing that all the tracks that featured on the first two singles are also featured here. The other six songs are almost as catchy but not quite up to the standard of 'Hard To Explain' and 'The Modern Age' in particular.
It's all very listenable though and perhaps the reason it's caught on so well is it's simplicity. There is nothing new or different here to countless other garage type bands of the late sixties early seventies. Music fans have been crying out for this sort of band though! Something to counteract the overproduced and overcomplicated nature of much new rock music.
The strokes debut, recorded in a mere matter of days is refrshing and really quite good. It's no masterpiece, but maybe it doesn't need to be
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2001
well, it's been a long time coming but now that the album has finally arrived was it worth the hype?. This is the first album that since i got it i haven't been able to stop playing it . Every track is as good as the last and every track builds upon what the last achieved. They manage to have the essential elements to become a huge success, they have the songs, the attitude, the looks and more important than that they have the imagination of record buyers young and old. The songs from the two eps are songs that most of us will already be aware of and here the songs from the modern age have been re -recorded, although this seems to have made them a little more polished, it only makes them fit even more snugly into the rest of the album. They are the ultimate rock and roll band for the beginning of the 21st century. When you listen to the album the first thing that strikes more than anything is just how accomplished the songs are. For a group of 19 to 21 year olds they really are playing beyond their collective years. They seem to have swallowed up every possible influence, chewed it up and spat it back out as the most refreshing slab of rock and roll since "definitely maybe". Even though there are only six new tracks on the album they all seem to feel fresh. Soma and someday are two songs of such immense immediacey that they really could have been released as singles in their own right. Of course as with most albums this good there are always people who are going to tell you not to believe what others will say. If there is one thing that niggles when listening, it is that the lyrics are just a little vacant and perhaps just a tiny bit shallow, but hey thats a small price to pay for someting this good to listen to. If you like the idea of an album that sounds as though it was recorded by the Ramones crossed with the Smiths with Richard hell on vocals this is the album that you need to buy. If that doesn't sound like your cup of tea you really need to have your head examined.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
When a band is hyped into the stratosphere by all and sundry before even entering the public conciousness like The Strokes, then it is downright inevitable their album would be described by many as a disappointment. To me, this couldn't be further from the truth. I have an extensive record collection, and have wasted horrific amounts of money on albums that just weren't worth it. Is This It is truly a breath of fresh air. Every track on the album evokes a different mood, all with one thing in common: they are a joy to listen to. The stripped-down arrangements and jagged, jittery riffs may seem simplistic at first, but every listen further emphasises the depth and quality on offer here. From Julian Casablanca's deep New York City drawl to Fabrizio Moretti's scarily precise drumming, every component of this music is astounding seperately, and fantastic together. These aren't songs you get bored of or tire of, more soundtracks to a way of life encapsulated in music. "Hard To Explain" the first single from the album is a prime example of this. It's riffs and lyrics will stay in your head for days after you hear it, and yet when you listen to it again it's more subtle wonders will draw you in, and make you realise these are more than just fleeting pop songs. To call The Stroke the next big thing is an insult to their music. I only hope they go on to progress as a band, and not let the hype surrounding them affect what they are trying to do. Raw, energetic, quietly beautiful and cool as hell, please by this album. I like it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2002
Forget what has been written about the band in the press, if it's putting you off buying this. So what if it's not completely original - what music is? This is an exciting, vibrant, pulsating gem of a record. Other people have said they've not felt this excited since Oasis' debut in '94. I'd go back to '89 and say not since The Stone Roses have I felt so excited about a record or a band.
If you like your rock fast, simple, and fun, filled with enthusiasm and life, then this is the album to buy. It's not rocket science, sure, but it is better than a lot of what's out there at the moment.
If you like your rock contemplative and meaningful (like I usually do) then give it a chance. Don't be a rock snob, get Is This It and revitalise your life!!!
We'll see if they do turn out to be the saviours of rock, but for now they are enough to make me glad to have ears.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2002
When all the fuss started, I immediately thought I would hate them. that theyd be Another band to be over-hyped and then ripped down by the same people who saw them as the saviours of rock and roll. But they are and they kick ass. This album is not original in content, its not fantastically intelligent (although the lyrics are very good) and I dont think the musicians are showing off their full range of talent but even the most hardened critic would find it hard not to jump around their room in idiotic fashion playing air guitar or singing into a hair brush. This is get up and go stuff, the kind of thing you listen to before a big night out. Its one and only low point is that it can get repetitive and sometimes you feel like your listening to the same song over and over. The rather catchy Last Nite personifies the album but the best song is the frankly beautiful Barely Legal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
The first time I saw the video for "Last Night" I wondered how I could've missed this band during my 70's punk phase growing up, even the video has a retro look. Not to mention being completely live, a rarity... It wasn't until I heard the video again that I decided to search for the band online. Unbelievable! They're a NEW release! Wonderful minimalistic guitar, driving drums, melodic bass guitar (what happened to melodic bass parts anyway?)... and the odd Jim Morrison vocal (that's what I hear anyway). Whatever happened to these sounds from NY in the 70's? Here it is again... Just what I was missing. Keep the music coming guys.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2001
Listen... ignore the hype, this is just a good album by a good band. That's it.
11 great songs. Short, sweet, to the point: start, say what you need to, short solo, end. Perfect, really.
Casablancas sometimes sounds a bit like Iggy, occasionally phrases his words like Lou Reed on the last 2 Velvets albums. Most of the time he sounds like himself... the kind of drawl no British singer could get away with.
Sometimes the guitar player plays 'slash guitar' like Lou usta do live. Occasionally the band sound like Television, if they had been forced to make songs averaging 3 minutes long, not 5.
But when it comes down to it, what we have here is a good rock band playing solid songs in an addictive way. The record's just been released but I got a promo copy 2 months ago and everyone that's heard it - Goths, pop kids, HipHop fans and Alt Rock fans - are going out to buy it (or at least have taken a copy). Even after 2 months, I can't bring myself to skip a track when I play it.
It might only be 36 minutes long but it's worth every penny. And the cover art's great too. Buy it...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2002
How anyone can compare these guys to "Oasis" or "Coldplay" (as some critics have) is beyond me. "The Strokes" owe more to "Joy Division" or "The Velvet Underground", than they do to either of the afforementioned (not to say massively over-rated) bands. The lead singer, Julian Casablancas, at times even sounds like Lou Reed.
"Is this it", is one of those rare musical treats that remains consistently brilliant from start to finish, with its catchy rythyms and chorus lines and tremendous use of the bass guitar, best captured in the albums two stand out tracks (In my opinion anyway) "Barely legal" and "Hard to explain".
The only fault I can pick up on is the relatively short playing time, just 36 minutes. Still, it's 36 minutes of class rock and roll.
"The strokes" have been touted as "the next best thing" and hailed as "The saviours of rock and roll". That remains to be seen, but British acts should take note; This is how it should be done.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2001
"Is This It" is without a doubt album of the year. It has everything; sweet retro rock n roll, sexy beats and band members who r really laid back. The album has 11 short and VERY sweet songs that can definately move you. Forget your Limp Bizkit's and your Blink 182's, The Strokes are coming to take over the world!! Buy this album now!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
I never heard of the hype surrounding the strokes because like a fellow reviewer I don't read music magazines, I saw them perform "new york city cops" and was impresssed. It wasn't a new sound but it was a familar sound that made you warm inside because finally someone was making good old fashioned rock music. The album itself did not disappoint me in the slightest. There are those who argue that it is "samey", which is a fair enough point, but each song offers something different be it a drum loop, or a great guitar riff, or bass line. It gives me a smile when I listen to it because it has a nostalgic feel about it, which is probably why I could be viewed as biased. However I would say that if you like rock'n'roll then buy this album, it will make a lovely addition to your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)