Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unspeakably powerful
I can honestly say this is the only film i have seen that had the power to change my thinking and outlook on life. Ever since i first saw it the characters, imagery and emotion of the piece have remained with me. Every aspect of this film is a triumph. Each of the four leading actors are stupendous and in my view both Connelly and especially Burstyn were robbed of oscars...
Published on 15 July 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is such a thing as too much misery
I saw The Wrestler and absolutely loved it: the humour, the pity, the struggle. So I followed Aronofsky back to his younger days. This is a young man's film in that it's extreme. It's a stylish depiction of addiction, but I don't think it's actually that clever to go in for such brutal storytelling. Life is always complex. Trainspotting managed to show how one character...
Published on 10 July 2009 by William Cohen


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unspeakably powerful, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I can honestly say this is the only film i have seen that had the power to change my thinking and outlook on life. Ever since i first saw it the characters, imagery and emotion of the piece have remained with me. Every aspect of this film is a triumph. Each of the four leading actors are stupendous and in my view both Connelly and especially Burstyn were robbed of oscars that were rightfully theirs.
There are many great films, but what separates the great from the truly great are those that are completely unique, as is this one. I purchased this dvd on a limb and unsure what to expect, but from the outset the picture showed me a new cinematic language in its montage imagery, pacing, editing and what is surely one of the most brutally moving scores ever composed.
Aside from these, the film is unique in its honesty. Yes it is supremely dark in its subject matter and climax and thank god for it. For too long Hollywood has felt the need to produce pleasant, hopeful comfort film and neglected from portraying what is in many cases the unpleasant reality of life for so many people. In the real world lives get messed up and they dont always get better, sometimes they stay messed up, and finally we have a director, writer and studio prepared to admit this. The result is a film that many will reject and despise, because it challenges the shell that protects us and our enclosed existence from the reality of what is all around us, but a film that ought to be experienced, and treasured by those who appreciate what makes a great film.
To see 'requiem for a dream' is draining, exhausting and exhilarating, but it is not depressing. Several times i have watched this picture and found myself strangely uplifted, a downbeat emotion that very few films have ever aroused in me. You will not so much 'watch' this film as experience it and its power. It is a brief but heightened assault on the senses, and with brilliant acting, scripting, characterisation, imagery, poetic narrative and musical force, modern films come no better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requiem for a Dream, 25 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I found this DVD as a recommendation whilst searching for others and liked the sound of the reviews so I thought I would give it a go. I like a film to leave me with something and Requiem for a Dream certainly did this. Its fantastic, shocking, compelling, exicting and drepressing all at the same time. Its very well acted, espeically Ellen Burstyn's performance as a mother neglected by her drug addicted son with an addiction to television and eventually her own drug, dodgy diet pills. The visuals are amazing, they draw you in like a bad dream and the ending left me with a lump in my throat which I kept pondering for days. I would recommend this film to anyone however, would warn that if you are easily distrubed proceed with caution. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bleak is the word, 19 Jan 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
requiem for a dream is a bleak and harrowing film,i think those that have seen it all agree,while trainspotting dealt with drugs and destruction ut also has a comical side,requiem doesnt go down that road at all and in return is a far better film than trainspotting,in truth its one of the greats of all time.

The film features four main characters,sara played by ellen burstyn,her son in the movie,harry played by jared leto,his girlfriend marion,played by jennifer connelly and their friend tyrone played by marlon wayans.All four characters lives descend into madness due to an addiction,the character of sara is addicted to tv and is under the spell in a way of an advertisement that is repeated constantly about losing weight so when sara believes that she is to appear on a game show her mind is consumed with fitting into an old red dress,so she diets and when that doesnt work,visits a dodgy doctor who prescribes her with pills which may or may not be illegal and in time she becomes addicted and has delusions that lead her down a road she cant return from.

Meanwhile harry,marion and tyrone are all battling with heroin and life for them seems good at first,the film shows the joys of it at first and then spins it on its head until a very ugly finale where everyone is destroyed one way of another.

The films use of editing and camera work is key here,there are long tracking shots with the camera attached to the actors which give the film a messy feel and this works as the characters fall into madness and insanity,fanstasy is used as escapism but the reality returns and darkens,this is not a joyful movie,devoid of a happy ending and american smiles,this of course means that not everyone will appreciate but the performances,the soundtrack,the style of film making and the idea is second to few,stunning,needs to be seen,it will affect you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but never again!!, 14 Jan 2008
By 
Quintin W. A. Hyndman (Norn Iron) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I was lent this movie by a friend who had watched it and recently bought it. As soon as I put it on I was absolutely at the mercy of this unflinching onslaught of a movie. It is brilliantly written, directed and acted. It wishes to hit home the dangers of drugs, both hard and even more socially acceptable ones. It did its job with visceral zeal and after the credits rolled, I felt completely wrung out emotionally. I think it is a fantastic film and one I never wish to see again. I don't need to, I got the message! Incidentally, my friend and I were talking about a list, published by some film institute, of great movies that you would only want to see once, and I said immediately that I bet Requiem was on it. He laughed and said it was around number 3 and actually come to mention it, he hadn't watched it once after buying it. Here endeth the lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightmares Come True, 29 Jan 2005
By 
juggertrout (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
My god. Where to start with this? Darren Aronofsky's follow up to indie hit Pi could be one of the most brilliant and emotional films ever. Aronofsky has managed to adapt Hubert Selby Jr's magnanimous novel to the big screen - and he's done a superb job of it.
The cast is amazing. Ellen Burstyn's TV addicted, speed taking mother was robbed of an Oscar by Julia Roberts' frumpy, irritating Erin Brokovich. She gives one of the most emotional performances you will ever see, her passionate monologue about what it's like to be old, and her paranoid acting makes you truly believe that acting is an art. Jared Leto, as her drug addicted son, also gives very worthy performance as does Jennifer Connely as his girlfriend. Marlon Wayans, too, delivers an amazing and serious performance that belies his slapstick comedy notoriety.
But this is a director's film; Aronofsky pulls out every directing trick in the book to make this a truly original experience. The shot of an overjoyed Sara Goldfarb as she runs out of her apartment and walks across the street with her old female friends as the camera swoons in front of them, creating a strangely eerie shot is one example. But it is the editing that shines, Aronofsky never leaves the viewer board with his unique style of hiphop montage editing and special effects.
The music in this film also shines, the classical score is wonderfully composed and highly dramatic in a film which demands it so heavily.
Although disturbing, this is a film that everyone should see, it is full of great acting, editing and truly memorable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete masterpiece, 28 Jun 2003
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is one hell of a bleak film, but as long as you can watch it (some people I know couldn’t sit through it), it is an absolute masterpiece. It’s an adaption of a book by Hubert Selby Jr. about the various addictions of four people (an elderly widow, her son, his girlfriend and his best friend) , be they to drugs, television, or even the hope of a better tomorrow, in Brooklyn, New York. So far, so Trainspotting you might think. However, the two films are actually very different, not least in terms of visual style. In this aspect, Requiem For A Dream is streets ahead of it’s British counterpart. The director Darren Aronofsky, a native of Brooklyn himself, has done a first class job here, using a variety of different techniques, including split screens, time lapse photography and speeded up montages. In the commentary on the DVD, he said he wanted to avoid making an MTV-style film, but that’s what it looks like. This is by no means a criticism, though, the film looks absolutely fantastic, but I see no sense in denying its style.
As well as the superb cinematography, the film also contains some superb performances from its four stars Jared Leto, Ellen Burstyn, Jennifer Connolly and Marlon Wayans. Indeed, Burstyn was nominated for the Best Actress Oscar, though she didn’t win. It is also nice to see Leto in a role where he has more to do than look handsome.
This film is not one to watch when you are feeling a bit down, as it is not in the least bit cheery. I promise it will make you feel worse, as it is heartbreakingly sad to see the lives of the protagonists completely unravelling before their eyes, whilst they keep believing things are soon going to get better. Things don’t get better, they reach rock bottom for all of the characters. No redemption, no happy ending, just one of the best films of the last ten years. Absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very minor spoilers., 20 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. J. Fraser (Kelso, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A Requiem is a mass for the departed. This movie's title, Requiem For A Dream, should give you an idea of the themes it contains. It tells the story of four people who's lives are destroyed by addiction. Harry Goldfarb (Jared Leto) and his friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans) plan to make it big by selling drugs. Harry's loving girlfriend Marion (Jennifer Connelly) has visions of designing clothes. Harry's lonely mother Sara (Ellen Burstyn) is given a reason to be happy after recieving an invite to take part in a TV show. She embarks on a mission to lose weight to fit into her favourite red dress for the occasion. Her doctor prescribes pills to aid the weight loss. These are people who had hopes and dreams of a better life. Dreams that they sacrifice bit by bit for the short term fix of a drug or other vice. There's a powerfull sense of loss at the end. The loss of the lives these people should have had. During one scene in the film Marlon Wayans' character reflects on a moment he had with his mother as a child. Sitting on her lap, little Tyrone confidently promises her that he'll make it big.

I found this film to be intense and moving. The performances from the four leads are strong. We see the lives of the four characters through short, sometimes jarring, scenes. The performances are effective because at the start of the film they are people with a plan for life ahead. As it all slowly ebbs away, the increasingly dark tone of the film is reflected excellently in thier performances.

The film is scored by Clint Mansell. The main theme, Lux Aeterna, is a brilliant piece of music that fits the film perfectly. It's now quite famous and has featured in several films, trailers and such since Requiem For A Dream's release. The score really takes this film to another level. I think that the theme in this film is something many people will relate to. Requiem For A Dream is one of those films that everybody should watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is such a thing as too much misery, 10 July 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I saw The Wrestler and absolutely loved it: the humour, the pity, the struggle. So I followed Aronofsky back to his younger days. This is a young man's film in that it's extreme. It's a stylish depiction of addiction, but I don't think it's actually that clever to go in for such brutal storytelling. Life is always complex. Trainspotting managed to show how one character broke free, in this film there is no redemption.

There are similarities with The Wrestler, but The Ram is more likeable, he has more self-knowledge and his acceptance of his fate is noble and uplifting.

You could show this film to teenagers as anti-drug propaganda. Aronofsky wallows too deeply in the dark side, making it a disgusting and dispiriting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The horrors of addiction...., 18 Feb 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Requiem for a Dream shows the terrible effects of drug addiction on a boy and his mother, living in a run down neighbourhood on Coney Island.

The boy, his friend and girlfriend are junkies, resorting to petty crime in order to get their fixes. The mother becomes addicted to slimming pills after mistakenly believing she had been invited to be a contestant on her favourite game show. Living on her own with nothing else to occupy her mind, she becomes obsessed with fitting into a particular red dress in time for the show. Sadly, she is the only person who cannot see that she is the victim of a hoax. The boy has his own ambition; to buy a large supply of heroin and get rich dealing. We have seen stories like his on films like Trainspotting and the Basketball Diaries but Requiem for a Dream is interesting because it shows the downward spiral of mother and son simultaneously. He is eventually arrested along with his friend, leaving his girlfriend to resort to prostitution to feed her growing habit. His mother gradually loses all touch with reality and becomes a gibbering wreck. There is no happy ending for any of the characters. We see the boy's infected needle tracks in his arm worsen whilst his girlfriend subjects herself to the ultimate degradation. Meanwhile his mother is carted off to a psychatric facility to spend the rest of her days drooling and imagining her gameshow appearance.

It's a very depressing film but beautifully shot and acted. The hallucinatory visuals are hard to take in sometimes but it makes for a very effective tale on the horrors of drug addiction.

Like this? Try: Spun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 26 July 2007
By 
E. Palmer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is an intelligent film. The score has emerged as one of the most recognisable pieces of music of our age, and is subtley changed in a minimalistic style throughout the film. IT IS NOT REPEATED. Anyone thinking this and finding themselves irritated by it should really pay a little more attention.
The film isn't so much about the 'drugs are bad' issue. Requiem for a Dream concentrates more on characters linked together by their use of drugs - both illegal and legal substances.

The film has some brilliant and poignantly designed sets, that are really used to their best potential by some magnificent acting. Leto delivers an almost flawless performance, and is to be commended for avoiding the 'puppy-dog-eyes-help-me-i'm-doing-my-best' stance.

In fact, my copy was borrowed months ago, and has never been returned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001]
Requiem for a Dream [DVD] [2001] by Darren Aronofsky (DVD - 2001)
£4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews