Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, an animation classic.
What it's about: Joseph: King of Dreams is an inspiring animated story, beautifully illustrated with colorful characters and an exceptional musical score. Robert Ramirez and Rob La Duca have directed this classic, biblically based story with Ben Affleck as the voice of Joseph, and Jodi Benson, Mark Hamil, Judith Light and James Eskhouse voicing key characters. The story...
Published on 4 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good Dvd
Thought the item would be in a slightly cover. All in all very happy with it and it looked quite good.
Published 10 months ago by R. Sammons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 24 April 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that after seeing Dreamworks Animations previous film 'The Prince Of Egypt' (Which is excellent by the way) I had high hopes for 'Joseph King of Dreams'. Unfortunately the film suffers from a dire score and and a lacklustre script and story adaptation.

Having Ben Affleck as the voice of Joseph makes him sound wooden and insincere as a lead character and the supporting cast don't add much weight to the film either.

As a kid's film it is mediocre with far better offerings from Disney and other Dreamworks films.

The one thing I did enjoy about the movie is that the dream sequences are beautifully animated and the backgrounds in these scenes are straight from a Vincent Van Gogh painting which was really quite impressive.

Overall though I was disappointed with 'Joseph' and felt the film given more time and care could have been as good as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 24 April 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I must admit that after seeing Dreamworks Animations previous film 'The Prince Of Egypt' (Which is excellent by the way) I had high hopes for 'Joseph King of Dreams'. Unfortunately the film suffers from a dire score and and a lacklustre script and story adaptation.

Having Ben Affleck as the voice of Joseph makes him sound wooden and insincere as a lead character and the supporting cast don't add much weight to the film either.

As a kid's film it is mediocre with far better offerings from Disney and other Dreamworks films.

The one thing I did enjoy about the movie is that the dream sequences are beautifully animated and the backgrounds in these scenes are straight from a Vincent Van Gogh painting which was really quite impressive.

Overall though I was disappointed with 'Joseph' and felt the film given more time and care could have been as good as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars second rate failure, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Everyone knows the story of Joseph, this isn't a very good version though, I prefer the LW one I saw as a child. it tries to be too clever and modern with modern art representations to convey deep meaning (which fails). It's Joseph for Americans actually, "stars" Ben Afflek, is that any kind of credentials? hailed triumphantly whilst being borderline offensive and stereotypical. Songs not quite memorable and often irritatingly overly ostentatious and showy and yes the animation does look like the third in a series of films as opposed to the first or one on a limited straight to dvd release.

Not a parr on Prince of Egypt by the same people.

Would do for a basic religious angle and that's seemingly what people appreciate but confuse it with a good film, not really one to hunt out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film. I love the way it was put ..., 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Great film. I love the way it was put together - taught what real forgiveness is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
I have had this movie before. I am very happy with the quality of the product and and speed of delivery. The songs are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and emotional, 28 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I think this dvd is fantastic. A wonderful bible story that teach us the meaning of forgiviness. My kids have loved it!! and so did I.Very emotional...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgiveness, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This movie was pretty emotional. I was moved of how Joseph was able to forgive his brothers; the very brothers who sold him. Joesph was the miracle baby and youngest of all. His Father, Jacob, took good care for him and gave him most affection. God had great plans for him hence the other brothers inevitable jealousy. But it teaches us that no matter how much pain someone causes in our hearts, we must love and forgive. God is love after all and he has a plan for each and every one of us, let us love one another for our Father to be proud of his children. Amen.
As the animation it was well animated,but I would say Prince of Egypt was better animation wise. But all in all, a great movie that everyone should watch. God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph and his coat of amny colurs (DVD) (2000), 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
BRILLIANT! Get it. A musical for kids at their level. Fantastic quality produciton. Well worth it for home or group use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biblical Animated DVD, 23 Mar 2010
By 
P. Brewer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Bought a pack of 3 (Joseph, Miracle Maker & Prince of Egypt ....... excellent value for money ...... Good delvery service .... very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamworks did it again!, 17 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Great religious movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000]
Joseph, King Of Dreams [DVD] [2000] by Robert C. Ramirez (DVD - 2006)
5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews