Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good exposure for Tolkien, Fantasy's best author, February 10, 2001
I cannot believe the sheer number of negative reviews for this movie. Granted, THE HOBBIT was a more successful film. The reason is because these movies are for children, and written as such. THE HOBBIT does well in this situation because it is for children. THE RETURN OF THE KING not so much. The animation style is the same as THE HOBBIT. Gollum is good. The best part of...
Published on 2 Nov 2007 by Mike London

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
Rubbish - don't buy it, you'll hate it. We saw the first half of LOR made in a cartoon style which we liked, and were disappointed that it stopped abruptly at Helms deep, so, we hoped the Return of the King would be a suitable ending. It was so bad we had to laugh or we would have cried.
Published 9 months ago by lynne geary


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Rubbish - don't buy it, you'll hate it. We saw the first half of LOR made in a cartoon style which we liked, and were disappointed that it stopped abruptly at Helms deep, so, we hoped the Return of the King would be a suitable ending. It was so bad we had to laugh or we would have cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awful, 2 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The creators said this was NOT an attemptto cash in on the incomplete Lord of the Rings animation, and you have to give them credit for that.

However, that's the only credit they deserve, for this is as truly awful as their version of "The Hobbit"; barely a nod to occasional elements of the story, animation that was being bettered forty years earlier, absolutely nothing to recommend it whatsoever; I wish I'd not sen it and just imagined how the far superior Lord of the rings movie would have tackled it.

If you like Tolkein, avoid this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good exposure for Tolkien, Fantasy's best author, February 10, 2001, 2 Nov 2007
This review is from: Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I cannot believe the sheer number of negative reviews for this movie. Granted, THE HOBBIT was a more successful film. The reason is because these movies are for children, and written as such. THE HOBBIT does well in this situation because it is for children. THE RETURN OF THE KING not so much. The animation style is the same as THE HOBBIT. Gollum is good. The best part of this particular film is the sequence between Eowyn and the Witch-King of Angmar. That is well done. The Mouth of Sauron is also in there*. Orodruin is done well too.

One thing I don't like about both films is current packaging. I bought them before they turned over, and each is well represented with original art from the film. These new covers, however, go totally away from the animation style used to convey Tolkien's world to the audience. Bad cover art. Almost as bad as the phallus on the original cover of THE LITTLE MERMAID.

John Huston makes the ultimate Gandalf. His voice sounds exactly like a Gandalf would sound. One thing I don't like is in the end of the movie they have Gandalf imply hobbits evolved into men, which is against Tolkien's conceptions and his Christian view of the world and its inhabitants.

THE RETURN OF THE KING suffers simply because of how much they had to cut away. One of the funniest things I have ever heard in the movies is here: they state of the first two books, over 800 pages, that Frodo and Sam had many brave adventures until they got the to gate of Cirith Ungol. Legolas and Gimli are nowhere to be seen. Aragorn is poorly portrayed, and based on interaction between him and Gandalf it seems they dislike each other, which is of course not true. You don't get the feel of Aragorn like you do in the books. There is much cut away from THE RETURN OF THE KING. The Scourging of the Shire has no place in this one. Indeed, they say it is based off Part III of THE LORD OF THE RINGS. But because of its limits, THE RETURN OF THE KING cannot adequately show the grandeur and epic scale of THE LORD OF THE RINGS.

The best thing about this is it gets exposure to people that might otherwise not watch or know about Tolkien. This film in particular, because of its limited time and scope, does well in portraying the book. But lets face it, any 365 book that is adapted to a 98 minute movie is, of course, going to not be totally represented. Overall, they've done a good job on this film, considering the audience and that they've been able to shine just a little light on Tolkien's achievement. Of course, these two films (this and THE HOBBIT) are much better than that horrible Bakshi adaptation. (The animation was some of the most realistic, but the film itself was terrible). But between these three films, we still have not gotten a good picture of THE LORD OF THE RINGS as a whole. The last half of THE TWO TOWERS hasn't been touched at all. Lets hope this new three film version by Peter Jackson will be up to snuff. This will be live action, and I'm really looking forward too it.

As I watched this as a child, the chief thing I remembered was the song "The end of the ring, the return of the king." I never could find it when I read through the novel. Too bad...I liked that. For its effort and exposure to children - **** stars.

*An interesting note: Aragorn says in THE TWO TOWERS that Sauron does not let his name be spelt or spoken, and then the ambassador says he is the Mouth of Sauron. How can that be? We have come to a contradiction*

Mike London

Originally issued on Amazon.com on February 11, 2001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the return of the king (1980), 9 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
unfortunatley this film misses out a lot of the story therefore is not as good as it could be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 114 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow Up To The Hobbit, 30 Aug 2004
By 
John O'Neill (Livingston, West Lothian Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Rankin/Bass production of the Return Of The King is in the same animation style as its predecessor, The Hobbit. Tolkien fans will recognise the look of many of the locations from the authors own illustrations. The characters have been left to the imagination of the animators and are definitely a hiss or a myth on a personal basis. I found them to be generally OK and my kids found them very acceptable! The adaptation, by Peter S. Beagle (author of The Last Unicorn, another fantasy novel nicely animated by Rankin/Bass) concentrates on the Frodo/Samwise thread of the third part of the trilogy and remains considerably more faithful to the book than Peter Jackson theatrical release, although this may well be redressed by the pending DVD version.
Of course if the viewer has never read the books many of the finer points may prove irrelevant but as an avid fan I found the inclusion of the Watchers at the gate of Cirith Ungol, the forced march with the orcs from Durthang and several other scenes welcome.
Minas Tirith is not neglected though and the battles on the Pelennor Field (now with reinstated Rammas Echor) are covered complete with Mumakil, Riders of Rohan and the arrival of the Black Fleet.
The only drawback for some may be the songs which have dated rather badly and are not based on those the books, unlike those in the earlier Hobbit movie.
It took me many years to track this movie down in pre internet days as it is only commercially available outside the UK however it can now be ordered as part of an animated trilogy comprising The Hobbit (Rankin/Bass), The Lord Of The Rings (Bakshi) and The Return Of The King (Rankin/Bass) from Amazon.Com.
All three movies are well worth a look and between them cover the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

Return of King [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 33.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews