Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum Blondie
The outstanding feature of Eat To The Beat is the immaculate drumming of Clem Burke which makes this album rock like no other Blondie record. The three singles Dreaming, Union City Blue and Atomic are familiar to everyone. But any of the songs here could just as easily have been worldwide hits - the beautiful Shayla, the catchy pop of Slow Motion and sweeping rock of...
Published on 28 Sep 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Correct Cover, incorrect Disc enclosed!
I ordered "Eat To The Beat" Eat To The Beat cover but the CD inside is the first Blondie album! Called "Blondie" Good CD but I,ve now got to order "Eat To The Beat" again sometime!
Published 8 months ago by Timbo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
Yep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great blast from the past, 16 April 2014
By 
Andy (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (MP3 Download)
I had this album on cassette but never got round to buying the CD. 'Dreaming' and 'Atomic' are great but so are many of the other tracks that don't appear on the greatest hits albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite Blondie album, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. R. Smith "smithm" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
From the stunning first single, through to Atomic and Union City Blues, three of my favourite Blondie singles. The whole album is amazing and easily on par with Parallel Lines. This was Blondie at the peak of their powers....and the picture of Debbie on the album sleeve is to me iconic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Correct Cover, incorrect Disc enclosed!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
I ordered "Eat To The Beat" Eat To The Beat cover but the CD inside is the first Blondie album! Called "Blondie" Good CD but I,ve now got to order "Eat To The Beat" again sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
Good album. Always in the shade of parallel lines but really good. Lives tracks bit boring for me personally, but always interesting chronicle of the time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Order out of chaos, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
The original albums had no sleeve notes so it was all down to whatever you read in the music press.Here in this updated version with extra tracks is a note by the producer which tells of how the band struggled to get it together.
Eat To The Beat is along with English Boys my favorite Blondie recording and is like many of these crazed early 60s songs which could be described as gamma gamma goochee music where the words go by so fast you simply miss it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie 'Eat to the Beat', 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
The CD arrived on time and un-damaged. Blondie is and always will be my favourite pop band. I started listening to them in 1978 when I was at school! As with many other school boys of my age my walls were covered with Debbie Harry posters. I have been lucky enough to see the band live twice on their revamped line up once in 1999 and then in 2002.Eat to the beat was the next album to be released after Parallel Lines. Its a great album worthy of any Blondie fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
I loved this album when I originally bought it in vynyl many years ago and I still love it today, there are not many albums that I can say that about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie's defining masterpiece - it doesn't get any better than this!, 19 July 2011
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat to the Beat (Audio CD)
When you hear 1978's `Parallel Lines', it is hard to believe Blondie could top it. But a year later, they did. From the energetic drum rolls and simple opening new wave lead guitar strains of `Dreaming' to the closing bars of `Living in the Real World' twelve songs later, the drive and energy of Blondie's crowning achievement, `Eat to the Beat', never lets up.

Producer Mike Chapman seems to have taken a different approach on this follow up to his massively successful first album with the band. `Eat to the Beat' has a sense of abandon all the way through. It's completely irresistible pop new wave onslaught almost manages to make `Parallel Lines' sound calculated and lumbering by comparison (which, of course, it definitely isn't!). It is a culmination of everything they accomplished on that record - all the influences and ideas that had characterized their style on their first three albums ... amped!

Everyone is in top form on `Eat to the Beat', from musicianship to vocal performance to song-writing (of which everyone but drummer Clem Burke contributes) and, of course, the stellar thumping-60s-girl-group-crossed-with-new-wave production. Burke might not be a writer on this one, but his drumming is the centrepiece around which the entire record is built. On `Eat to the Beat', he comes into his own.

On this fourth outing, guitarist Chris Stein and keyboardist Jimmy Destri crystalize their roles as the two major stylists in the band. When you think of the overall sound of `Eat to the Beat' it is their writing that defines it (often with Deborah Harry, who co-wrote three quarters of the tracks). Stein is behind the 60s pop rock of `Dreaming', the rhythmic funk rock onslaught of `The Hardest Part', the reggae of `Die Young, Stay Pretty' and the wafting slow melodrama of `Shayla'. At the same time, Destri is responsible for the gorgeous strains of `Accidents Never Happen', the delirious 60s girl group pop of `Slow Motion', the new wave disco explosion of the timeless, career-defining `Atomic' and the closing New York punk of `Living in the Real World'. But it is the incredible departures, co-written by Harry with other band members that make the whole package of `Eat to the Beat' so memorable. With guitarist Nigel Harrison, she crafted the anthemic `Union City Blue' and with bassist, Frank Infante, the hysterically tortured hard rocker, `Victor'.

`Eat to the Beat' is so fantastic, it leaves you breathless. It is the band's crowning achievement, bringing everything together in one prefect 45 minute blast. It is a shame it has had to spend its life in the shadow of its predecessor - but that makes it such an incredible discovery for the uninitiated.

A MUST OWN record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie's defining masterpiece - it doesn't get any better than this!, 19 July 2011
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat To The Beat (Audio CD)
When you hear 1978's `Parallel Lines', it is hard to believe Blondie could top it. But a year later, they did. From the energetic drum rolls and simple opening new wave lead guitar strains of `Dreaming' to the closing bars of `Living in the Real World' twelve songs later, the drive and energy of Blondie's crowning achievement, `Eat to the Beat', never lets up.

Producer Mike Chapman seems to have taken a different approach on this follow up to his massively successful first album with the band. `Eat to the Beat' has a sense of abandon all the way through. It's completely irresistible pop new wave onslaught almost manages to make `Parallel Lines' sound calculated and lumbering by comparison (which, of course, it definitely isn't!). It is a culmination of everything they accomplished on that record - all the influences and ideas that had characterized their style on their first three albums ... amped!

Everyone is in top form on `Eat to the Beat', from musicianship to vocal performance to song-writing (of which everyone but drummer Clem Burke contributes) and, of course, the stellar thumping-60s-girl-group-crossed-with-new-wave production. Burke might not be a writer on this one, but his drumming is the centrepiece around which the entire record is built. On `Eat to the Beat', he comes into his own.

On this fourth outing, guitarist Chris Stein and keyboardist Jimmy Destri crystalize their roles as the two major stylists in the band. When you think of the overall sound of `Eat to the Beat' it is their writing that defines it (often with Deborah Harry, who co-wrote three quarters of the tracks). Stein is behind the 60s pop rock of `Dreaming', the rhythmic funk rock onslaught of `The Hardest Part', the reggae of `Die Young, Stay Pretty' and the wafting slow melodrama of `Shayla'. At the same time, Destri is responsible for the gorgeous strains of `Accidents Never Happen', the delirious 60s girl group pop of `Slow Motion', the new wave disco explosion of the timeless, career-defining `Atomic' and the closing New York punk of `Living in the Real World'. But it is the incredible departures, co-written by Harry with other band members that make the whole package of `Eat to the Beat' so memorable. With guitarist Nigel Harrison, she crafted the anthemic `Union City Blue' and with bassist, Frank Infante, the hysterically tortured hard rocker, `Victor'.

`Eat to the Beat' is so fantastic, it leaves you breathless. It is the band's crowning achievement, bringing everything together in one prefect 45 minute blast. It is a shame it has had to spend its life in the shadow of its predecessor - but that makes it such an incredible discovery for the uninitiated.

The 2001 remaster is superb. But as usual, the bonus tracks are unnecessary, particularly the abysmal live cover of David Bowie's `Heroes'. Though, `Seven Rooms of Gloom' would have been right at home on the original set! A MUST OWN record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eat To The Beat
Eat To The Beat by Blondie (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews