Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blondie fans buy now! newbies look elsewhere
As others have said here, 'the hunter' is most probably Blondie's worst album, but just think: they had 'parallel lines' to live up to! Many people really harshly criticised 'the hunter' when it first came out in '82. It is really quite obvious looking at the cover and listening to the songs here, of the state of decay the band were in musically- most of the time they...
Published on 14 Aug 2003

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can I Find The Right Words To Say?
Although this is probably Blondie's worst album I'm glad I own a copy.

The best song is the opening "Orchid Club" which is an awesome track featuring superb vocals from Debbie Harry over tribal drumming. Featuring some of Blondie's most obscure vocals ("Oh the boys' herb, vanilla, vanilla!") it hints at what they were trying to achieve with this album...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by R. Bingham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blondie fans buy now! newbies look elsewhere, 14 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
As others have said here, 'the hunter' is most probably Blondie's worst album, but just think: they had 'parallel lines' to live up to! Many people really harshly criticised 'the hunter' when it first came out in '82. It is really quite obvious looking at the cover and listening to the songs here, of the state of decay the band were in musically- most of the time they weren't even talking to eachother. This album sees them experimenting with synthesisers and funk music rather than raw punk-rock like 'hanging on the telephone.' However they've managed to pull out quite a few decent songs for this sixth and final LP. There is a jungle/tropical theme running through the cover (Debbie in leopardskin and presumably supposed to resemble a lion or something, I don't know; the boys wearing soldier/camouflage facepaint) and song titles such as 'orchid club', 'island of lost souls', 'dragonfly', 'the beast' etc. highlights are UK no 11 'island of lost soul's lovely summery song; deliciously sweet, discarded 007 movie theme 'for your eyes only'; the amazing 'war child' with some heavy lyrics about khmer rouge; the gorgeous 'danceway', written by brilliant jimmy destri, this is good to dance to; 'can I find the right words to say' gives in to the Blondie of old; 'English boys' is really sweet with great lyrics, but it tends to highlight the limits of ms Harry's range quite a lot. Finally, 'the hunter gets captured by the game' is a cover of a classic, done here as a soft and sultry ballad. Overall 'the hunter' is really not that bad and a must have for all Blondie fans, but not a first pick for newbies-try 'eat to the beat' or 'parallel lines'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as any previous Blondie album. Don't listen to the critics., 28 April 2010
By 
Scott Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
The Hunter is often blasted as a terrible album from a band past their prime. That's complete nonsense. That's just the typical backlash a band can expect to receive after the phenomenal success Blondie had achieved by this point. I've also read reviews in which statements are made about Debbie's voice just not being up to it. Have you listened to the album? Debbie sounds as amazing as she did on any previous album. While The Hunter is spotty, all of Blondie's albums were spotty, with the only truly solid album being the classic Eat to the Beat.

Yes, The Hunter does have some bad material, and the peak of the poor material is 'Little Caesar' and 'The Beast'. Truly painful with no redeeming quality. But The highlights are amazing. 'Orchid Club' is a stunningly dark and tribal sounding track, and a real surprise album opener. It's pretty daring to start an album with song of this caliber, especially after all of the commercial singles of the previous years. 'Orchid Club' is dark and powerful, building to a strong finish that is not detracted from at all during its fairly lengthy run. 'Island of Lost Souls' is the song that finally encouraged me to look deeper into Blondie's back catalog. While it seems like an obvious 'The Tide is High' soundalike in an attempt to cash in on previous successes, it failed to light up the charts. Nonetheless, it's a catchy song that fits nicely along with the other classic Blondie singles. 'War Child' was the next single, and also failed to make an impact, despite its high production and then-current sound of heavy synths and bombastic production. Though it's tolerable in its short version, it's much more powerful in the extended version that's included here as a bonus track. 'Danceway' is what I view as the lost should-have-been single. It's a classic bouncy and boppy song that could have been made into an amazing Dance Mix. The rejected Bond theme, 'For Your Eyes Only', is not a bad song at all. It's more light and airy in a dreamy melodic sort of way, and maybe that's why it was rejected. And I can't forget the scifi classic, 'Dragonfly'. This may be a little dated in the Atari generation with its outer space race theme, (Dragonfly is the name of a ship), but it has strong a catchy music while Debbie sings in between her spoken monologues. The one production fault that surprises me is Debbie's obvious stumbling in one of the spoken sections was not corrected with a retake. "As many of you fans... know already..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can I Find The Right Words To Say?, 10 Feb 2003
By 
R. Bingham (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
Although this is probably Blondie's worst album I'm glad I own a copy.

The best song is the opening "Orchid Club" which is an awesome track featuring superb vocals from Debbie Harry over tribal drumming. Featuring some of Blondie's most obscure vocals ("Oh the boys' herb, vanilla, vanilla!") it hints at what they were trying to achieve with this album. Unfortunately it is also apparent that they soon gave up.

The two singles "Island of Lost Souls" and "War Child" sound better in 2003 than they did in 1982 but the rest of the album is a disappointment.

The nadir is "Dragonfly" which seems to be a commentary (as in David Coleman) of a spacecraft race. I defy anyone to listen to it twice.

"For Your Eyes Only" was commissioned as the theme to a James Bond film as someone else mentions here. Much better than the song that got the job (Sheena Easton's), it, like most of the album, sounds like it was recorded from the room next door to the studio. (Anoraks might be interested to find out that when Debbie Harry was asked about Sheena Easton's song she said she thought it was by Kate Bush).

"The Beast" is an attempt to re-create "Rapture" but like many of the songs here is just a scale progression of notes and not a tune - the worst offender being "Can I Find The Right Words To Say". I'm sad to say that the person responsible for this is Chris Stein who obviously can write songs because he's responsible for one of the golden moments in pop music as he also wrote "Sunday Girl".

"Little Caesar" is really, really terrible, "English Boys" is sweet but (unnecessarily) exposes the limitations of Harry's range, "Danceway" sounds unfinished and the beautiful "The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game" is a hint at what lies ahead for Debbie Harry as a singer with The Jazz Passengers.

I think The Hunter should be treated as an unfinished album by a troubled band. There are hints at what it could have been but it sounds like they gave up after two or three songs. Having said this, it's worth owning if just for "War Child".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLONDIE - THE HUNTER, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT EARLY ALBUM WITH THE AMAZING BONUS TRACK OF WAR CHILD EXTENDED MIX WHICH ROCKS INTO THE STRATOSPHERE. ANY BLONDIE ADMIRER SHOULD HAVE THIS ONE TO. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 7 May 2013
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
I could never understand why this album was rated so poorly at the time. It hangs together far better than Autoamerican and there isn't a weak track on it. OK, it has been well documented that the band were falling apart by the time it was recorded, but all the comments about it sounding like a group just going through the motions don't show in my opinion. I bought it on vinyl back in 1982 and still listen to it today. Check out the 12" version of War Child on the remastered CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blondie, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
Not Blondies best album, but maybe the most worked on. Nice lyrics and enjoy in the car as you do a bit of "time-travel"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blondie Hunter cd, 9 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
This album was critically dismissed at the time of release as being a mish mash of styles and a sign of Blondie falling apart.However I always liked 'Island of Lost Souls' and when I saw it on Amazon reissued and cut price I thought I'd buy it and give it a chance.I am glad I did as it is a good'Blondie' album.War Child rocks and Firefly raps and fizzes.Perhaps this album palled compared to previous greats in critics eyes but I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant last minute 'return to top form '., 7 Mar 2012
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
This album sees an older and wiser Blondie regaining much of their early wit, inventiveness , spirit and strength while disposing of some of the deliberate 'pop' aspect of their later recordings .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is good - ignore the knockers, 22 July 2011
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
This much maligned final 1982 album by Blondie has unnecessarily become a critic's punching bag. It is unwarranted. 'The Hunter' might be weird in places and slightly unfocussed at times, but it is certainly anything but bad. The high points on this album are extremely high, but the low points are, it is true, idiosyncratically disappointing misfires.

Again produced by Mike Chapman, who had skyrocketed them to fame with `Parallel Lines', `Eat to the Beat' and `Autoamerican', `The Hunter' has a harder, colder sheen than its predecessors. The full embrace of eclecticism is also reached here. And that may be its real shortcoming - the set of styles are just too far apart from one another to sit together in a cohesive fashion.

The other major flaw is that the weakest tracks on the record are those that Chris Stein and Deborah Harry wrote together - the incredibly indulgent, long and rather monotonous spoken word space race track, `Dragonfly', is the worst offender. But `The Beast' and particularly, `Little Ceasar' - both featuring tuneless spoken word verses (similar to much of Harry's terrible solo album `Koo Koo' from the year before) are shorter and possibly even more dull. The sappy, wafting 60s-esque `English Boys' is an improvement, as is their emulation of `The Tide Is High' in `Island of Lost Souls' (which I actually prefer). Their rejected attempt at a James Bond theme song - `For Your Eyes Only' - is, on the other hand, rather fine (though, to be Bond, it probably needed more bombastic production).

Thank God for guitarist Nigel Harrison (somewhat surprisingly) and the ever reliable keyboardist, Jimmy Destri. Their writing is superb. Harrison and Harry composed both the scene-setting, tribal, ethereal `Orchid Club' and the slammin' dark dance rock of `War Child' (the extended mix on most CDs is awesome!) Both are easily among the best songs, not only on this album, but by the band as a whole. Destri is behind the equally excellent `Danceaway', replete with classic Blondie urban pop culture references, and the moody, mid tempo `(Can I) Find the Right Words (To Say)'. The closing track, a slinky, slightly threatening cover of Smokey Robinson's `The Hunter Gets Captured by the Game' is sublime.

`The Hunter' seems to be both an extension of the experimentalism of 1980's `AutoAmerican' and a return to the mod new wave pop of earlier albums. It is an eccentric, uneasy mixture of music that also suffers from the hard edges of the early 80s approach to production, which dents the Blondie sound a bit. But, particularly for fans of the band, well over half of it is `must own' stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie goes Hunting for more Platinum, 27 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Hunter (Audio CD)
Blondie's 1982 album "The Hunter" is an awesome record, similiar in many ways too their 1980 classic album "AutoAmerican" which produced 2 #1 singles in "The Tide is High" and "Rapture". Here on The Hunter, there counterparts are "Island of Lost Souls" #11 UK and "The Beast". The albums shining moments are "Orchid Club", "English Boys" and "Danceway". Orchid Club is urban jungle music, 20 years before it even had a name, this song is truly awesome. Blondie was always before their time, always creative and original, and this album continued their legend. Interesting tid bit, the track "For your eyes only" was suppose to be the title song for the 1982 James Bond movie of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunter
The Hunter by Blondie (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews