Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic tribute to one of the biggest TV heros ever.
I was always a huge fan of the Sooty Show and in particular Sweep. "Sweep Superdog" is fantastic. Watching these episodes, you realise that Sweep always got a raw deal from his peers (in particular Sue.) This DVD chronicles the strugles he must endure and overcome (such as excessive springiness) in his daily life. And the episode about his family simply...
Published on 24 Aug 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD didn't work
I tried the DVD on several devises and it didn't work. The other DVD received from them worked though so this might of been a one off.
Published 17 months ago by Mr K Meighan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic tribute to one of the biggest TV heros ever., 24 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
I was always a huge fan of the Sooty Show and in particular Sweep. "Sweep Superdog" is fantastic. Watching these episodes, you realise that Sweep always got a raw deal from his peers (in particular Sue.) This DVD chronicles the strugles he must endure and overcome (such as excessive springiness) in his daily life. And the episode about his family simply brought a tear to my eye. All in all this DVD is a well deserved monument to one of the most memeorable childhood heroes of all time. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superdog to the rescue!, 25 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I love Sweep, and anyone reading this review must have some affection for the little grey dog, or they wouldn't be here.
The DVD is relatively cheap, and contains 6 episodes focusing on Sweep. All of the episodes are taken from The Sooty Show, and having viewed the end credits of each of the episodes, the dates range from 1988 - 1992. You'll find that in a couple of the episodes, the Sweep puppet (puppet I hear you say?) looks a bit rubbisher than in the newer episodes.
Anyway, most of the episodes on here are great. The only bad ones in my opinion are Superdog And The Comedian and Sweep's Family. Unfortunately, there are no proper extras on the DVD, but at this price, you can't argue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooty: Sweep Superdog, 22 Aug 2003
Great Video reminds me of a lot of memories.
The best parts out of all the Sooty Programmes on this VHS/DVD were Superdog,Bouncers when Matthew tricked Sweep that Runner Beans make you bounce and Spring Greens make you spring which were very funny. Also Hot Stuff whenever Sweep saw a fire Poor Matthew got drenched.
I liked the remixed theme tunes for the opening and closing titles which were used in the final "Sooty Show" series in 1992 before it became "Sooty and Co" in 1993.
Out of Sooty's gang Sweep is the funniest out of all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SWEEP FTW, 26 Sep 2011
By 
K. Hitchcox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a good snapshot of some of sweeps best moments but where are the derek the duck episodes. But for [] you cant go wrong with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gold, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
Sweep would easily make my top 5 greatest Britons in history so any sweep on DVD is a mandatory purchase for me, I mean my 2 year old daughter.

The only negative thing I can say about this collection is that Soo always seems to be grassing Sweep up or telling him off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super sweep, 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
My two year old loves this and also I
Some of the other episodes discuuss
Basic safety like never touch matches
My little girl loves the songs and has learned
All the words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD!, 22 April 2010
By 
BR "BR" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent DVD featuring five episodes from The Sooty Show - Superdog and the Comedian, Bouncers, Hot Stuff, Sweep's Family, Honking Noses, and Swinging the Lead. Three of the episodes have never before been seen on video or DVD. A must have for any Sooty fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweep Superdog, 31 July 2009
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter LOVES this dvd which comprises episodes centred arounf sweep, very funny and good family entertainment all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is Harry Corbett's Sooty?, 11 April 2007
By 
R. Lang (Doncaster,, S. Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
Anything where Sweep is seen and heard is worth 5 stars.

I do wish the BBC would release the vintage 60s Sooty series with Harry Corbett.

His son Mathew is very good,but I much prefer to see the more chaotic frantic politcaly in-correct early stuff from his dad.

I remember Soo had a very croaky voice in those days!

Would be good to see all 50s and 60s children/variety shows released on DVD,or give us a channel on tv that caters for such golden classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] (DVD)
keeps him quite for hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD]
The Sooty Show - Sweep Superdog [DVD] by Matthew Corbett (DVD - 2001)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews